visitervilledeSintra-routenejournee-chateaux-tourisme

Sintra is a great option for a day trip for those who are in the Portuguese capital. It is impossible not to be charmed by this small town on the mountainside.

From the late XNUMXth century to the early XNUMXth century, nobles and wealthy people built palaces worthy of fairy tales. Especially in the XNUMXth century, the city became a magnet for artists and writers, including Lord Byron and Eça de Queirós.

How to get there and what to do?

This exotic town of Sintra is located just 30 km from Lisbon. If you are not driving, it is perfectly easy and possible to get from Lisbon to Sintra by train. The “comboio”, as they call it, leaves from Rossio or Oriente station towards Sintra, and the ticket costs between € 1,80 and € 2,13 each way. The journey takes only 46 minutes.

Arriving in the center you will find tourist bus options with access to two routes of the type hop on hop off. You can buy it directly from the driver for € 6,90.

transportesintra-bustourist-circuitodapena.
Sintra Tourist Bus

I opted for the 434 bus line called “Circuito da Pena”, which passed the places I most wanted to visit. With this line you will pass by the dos Mouros Castle, then the Pena Palace and then to the city center (near the Sintra National Palace). Finally, you can walk 10 minutes to the Quinta da Regaleira Palace.

Another option is the route of line 435, called “Vila Express”. It starts with a stop at Palácio da Vila (or National Palace of Sintra), the next stop is Palácio Quinta da Regaleira, followed by Palácio de Seteais (Hotel Tivoli), and finally at Palácio de Monserrate.

Places not to be missed on your itinerary!

O Castelo dos Mouros

Le Moors castle dates back to the beginning of the occupation of Portugal by the Moors in the XNUMXth century. We recommend that you set aside at least an hour and a half for this visit.

castelodosmouros-sintra-portugal-tourism-visit
Castle dos Mouros in Sintra

Its construction is on a rocky massif, isolated on one of the peaks of the Sintra mountains, in Extremadura. From the top of its walls, you can enjoy a privileged view over the entire countryside which extends to the Atlantic Ocean.

Its interior is magnificent, containing rooms and courtyards with decorations that mix Manueline, Moorish and Arabic styles. The result is really very extravagant.

O Palace of Pena

Le pena palace is the most popular palace in Sintra, and probably in all of Portugal. There is a prime location at the top of the Serra de Sintra.

Since 2007 it has been one of the 7 Wonders of Portugal, being the most visited Portuguese monument in the country and a World Heritage Site. Due to its size, rich detail, and crowds of tourists, set aside at least 3 hours to get to know it.
Visit-Palais-da-Pena-Sintra-Itinerary
National Palace of the Rock

In the XNUMXth century, the place where the palace is located gave rise to a chapel dedicated to Nossa Senhora da Pena. In the following century, it was enlarged and transformed into a convent of the Order of Jerônimos.

In 1755, the Lisbon earthquake caused a great destruction of this building. It remained abandoned for 80 years, until King Fernando II acquired the property.

The vivid shades of yellow, red and lavender in the towers of this romantic architectural palace set the world running.

Inside, the amount of detail is striking: Moorish arches, arabesque details, Gothic, Manueline and Renaissance elements. Its exterior consists of romantic gardens with a collection of rare trees, lakes, fountains and sculptures.

The historic center of Sintra

Take time to rest and recharge your batteries! You can take a short stroll through the streets of this charming historic center. Take advantage of entering its small shops, but also its bars and restaurants to taste the culinary specialties of this region.

downtown-sintra-portugal-tourism-visit
Sintra city center

Be sure to stop at the Casa Piriquita to taste the sweets representing the medieval convent for which the city is famous! For more information, see: all about the typical flavors of the Sintra region.

O Palacio Vacation Specials

Quinta da Regaleira is a magical and mysterious place, a must-see on any visit to Sintra. The romantic architecture of the palace and its lush park are the elements that bind this Mansão Filosofal Lusa, a wonder nestled in the dense vegetation of the Sintra mountains.

It was built between 1904 and 1910, during the last period of the monarchy. In 1982, Dr. António Augusto Carvalho Monteiro acquired this monument, to found his chosen place there. To make this place more exotic, he associated his project with the Italian architect Luigi Manini (1848-1936).

Reserve 1 hour and a half to visit it!

palaisquintadaregaleira-visitersintra-portugal-tourism
Quinta da Regaleira Palace in Sintra

His garden is a representation of the cosmos in a paradisiacal atmosphere that does not deny the existence of the Dantesque underground world. You will see the towers, caves, underground tunnels, fountains, statues and of course the Initiation Well.

This well is in fact an inverted tower. It sinks 27 meters deep into the earth on a spiral staircase with nine landings.

O National Palace of Sintra

Finally, if you still have a little time before leaving, do not hesitate to visit the National Palace of Sintra, located in its historic center.

The Palácio Nacional de Sintra, also known as Palácio da Vila, was one of the Portuguese royal palaces. Its construction began in the 1910th century, with an unknown author. The Portuguese royal family used this palace until the end of the monarchy in XNUMX.

visit-palaisnacional-sintra-itinerary-tourism
National Palace of Sintra

The first impression looking at its exterior is that it is a relatively simple building, with some Arabic details. Its most striking feature is the two huge fireplaces which give it an unusual shape.

The interior is magnificent! With rooms and courtyards whose decorations mix Manueline, Moorish and Arabic styles, which gives a rather extravagant result. The Mudejar earthenware tile decorations are particularly interesting and worth seeing.

The highlights of this palace are: the Sala dos Brasões, with a magnificent golden ceiling decorated with coats of arms, and the Sala dos Cisnes, with its Manueline decorative elements and tile coverings.

 

 

By Mayara Rods

visitervilledeSintra-itineraireunejournee-chateaux-tourisme

Sintra est une excellente option pour une excursion d’une journée pour ceux qui sont dans la capitale portugaise. Il est impossible de ne pas être charmé par cette petite ville à flanc de montagne.

De la fin du XVIIIe siècle au début du XXe siècle, les nobles et les personnes fortunées ont construit des palais dignes des contes de fées. Au XIXe siècle surtout, la ville est devenue un pôle d’attraction pour les artistes et les écrivains, dont Lord Byron et Eça de Queirós.

Comment s’y rendre et quoi faire ?

Cette ville exotique de Sintra est située à seulement 30 km de Lisbonne. Si vous ne conduisez pas, il est parfaitement simple et possible d’aller de Lisbonne à Sintra en train. Le « comboio », comme ils appellent, part de la gare de Rossio ou d’Oriente vers Sintra, et le billet coûte entre 1,80 € et 2,13 € par trajet. Le trajet ne dure que 46 minutes.

En arrivant dans le centre, vous trouverez des options de bus touristiques avec accès à deux itinéraires du type hop on hop off. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement auprès du conducteur pour 6,90 €.

transportesintra-bustouristique-circuitodapena.
Bus touristique de Sintra

J’ai opté pour la ligne de bus 434 appelée « Circuito da Pena », qui passait devant les endroits que j’avais le plus envie de visiter. Avec cette ligne, vous passerez par le château dos Mouros, puis le palais de la Pena et ensuite au centre de la ville (près du palais national de Sintra). Finalement, vous pouvez marcher 10 minutes jusqu’au palais de Quinta da Regaleira.

Une autre option est le circuit de la ligne 435, appelé « Vila Express ». Il commence par un arrêt au Palácio da Vila (ou Palais national de Sintra), l’arrêt suivant est le Palácio Quinta da Regaleira, suivi du Palácio de Seteais (Hôtel Tivoli), et pour finir au Palácio de Monserrate.

Lieux à ne pas manquer dans votre itinéraire!

O Castelo dos Mouros

Le château dos Maures remonte au début de l’occupation du Portugal par les Maures au VIIIe siècle. On vous conseille de réserver au moins une heure et demie pour cette visite.

castelodosmouros-sintra-portugal-tourisme-visiter
Château dos Mouros à Sintra

Sa construction est sur un massif rocheux, isolé sur l’un des sommets des montagnes de Sintra, en Estremadure. Du haut de ses murs, vous pouvez profiter d’une vue privilégiée sur toute la campagne qui s’étend jusqu’à l’océan Atlantique.

Son intérieur est magnifique, contenant des pièces et des cours avec des décorations qui mélangent les styles manuélin, mauresque et arabe. Le résultat est vraiment très extravagant.

O Palácio da Pena

Le palais de Pena est le palais le plus populaire de Sintra, et probablement de tout le Portugal. Il y a un emplacement privilégié au sommet de la Serra de Sintra.

Depuis 2007, il est l’une des 7 merveilles du Portugal, étant le monument portugais le plus visité du pays et un site du patrimoine mondial. En raison de sa taille, de la richesse de ses détails et de l’affluence des touristes, réservez au moins 3 heures pour le connaître.
 Visiter-Palais-da-Pena-Sintra-Itineraire
Palácio Nacional da Pena

Au XVe siècle, l’endroit où se trouve le palais donnait lieu à une chapelle dédiée à Nossa Senhora da Pena. Au siècle suivant, il a été agrandi et transformé en un couvent de l’Ordre des Jerônimos.

En 1755, le tremblement de terre de Lisbonne provoque une grande destruction de ce bâtiment. Il reste abandonné pendant 80 ans, jusqu’à ce que le roi Fernando II acquière la propriété.

Les nuances vives de jaune, de rouge et de lavande des tours de ce palais d’architecture romantique font courir le monde.

À l’intérieur, la quantité de détails est frappante : arcs mauresques, détails d’arabesques, éléments gothiques, manuélins et Renaissance. Son extérieur se compose par des jardins romantiques avec une collection d’arbres rares, de lacs, de fontaines et de sculptures.

Le centre historique de Sintra

Prenez du temps pour vous reposer et refaire le plein d’énergie! Vous pouvez faire une petite promenade dans les rues de ce charmant centre historique. Profitez d’entrer dans ses petites boutiques, mais aussi dans ses bars et restaurants pour déguster les spécialités culinaires de cette région.

centreville-sintra-portugal-tourisme-visiter
Centre-ville de Sintra

Ne manquez pas de vous arrêter à la Casa Piriquita pour déguster les sucreries représentants du couvent médiéval qui ont fait la renommée de la ville ! Pour en savoir plus, consultez : tout savoir sur les saveurs typiques de la région de Sintra.

O Palácio Quinta da Regaleira

La Quinta da Regaleira est un lieu magique et mystérieux, à voir absolument lors de toute visite de Sintra. L’architecture romantique du palais et son parc luxuriant sont les éléments qui lient cette Mansão Filosofal Lusa, une merveille nichée dans la végétation dense des montagnes de Sintra.

Il a été construit entre 1904 et 1910, pendant la dernière période de la monarchie. En 1982, le Dr. António Augusto Carvalho Monteiro a acquis ce monument, pour y fonder son lieu d’élection. Pour rendre ce lieu plus exotique, il associe à son projet l’architecte italien Luigi Manini (1848-1936).

Réservez 1 heure et demie pour le visiter!

palaisquintadaregaleira-visitersintra-portugal-tourisme
Palais Quinta da Regaleira à Sintra

Son jardin est une représentation du cosmos dans une ambiance paradisiaque qui ne nie pas l’existence du monde souterrain dantesque. Vous allez y voir les tours, les grottes, les tunnels souterrains, les fontaines, les statues et bien sûr le Poço Iniciático.

Ce puits est en fait une tour inversée.  Il s’enfonce à 27 mètres de profondeur dans la terre sur un escalier en spirale avec neuf paliers.

O Palácio Nacional de Sintra

Enfin, si vous avez encore un peu de temps avant partir, n’hésitez pas à visiter le palais Nacional de Sintra, situé dans son centre historique.

Le Palácio Nacional de Sintra, également connu sous le nom de Palácio da Vila, était l’un des palais royaux portugais. Sa construction a commencé au XVe siècle, avec un auteur inconnu. La famille royale portugaise utilise ce palais jusqu’à la fin de la monarchie en 1910.

visiter-palaisnacional-sintra-itineraire-tourisme
Palais Nacional de Sintra

La première impression en regardant son extérieur est qu’il s’agit d’un bâtiment relativement simple, avec quelques détails arabes. Sa caractéristique la plus frappante est les deux énormes cheminées qui lui donnent une forme inhabituelle.

L’intérieur est magnifique! Avec des salles et des cours dont les décorations mélangent les styles manuélin, mauresque et arabe, ce qui donne un résultat assez extravagant. Les décorations en carreaux de faïence mudéjare sont particulièrement intéressantes et méritent d’être vues.

Les points forts de ce palais sont: la Sala dos Brasões, avec un magnifique plafond doré décoré d’armoiries, et la Sala dos Cisnes, avec ses éléments décoratifs manuélins et ses revêtements de carreaux.

 

 

Par Mayara Rods