1-1-e1669908198824-png
beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro (8)

Everything you need to know about the Berlengas Archipelago: what to do and where to eat?

Calm beaches with crystal clear waters, unexplored caves of indescribable beauty, and seagulls, lots of seagulls! A set of islands where the combination of Mediterranean and Atlantic climates has given rise to a unique ecosystem in the world. The Berlengas archipelago is a small natural sanctuary - unexplored and almost wild - on the Portuguese coast.

Access to the island is only by boat, which leaves from the nearest town, Peniche. It takes around 30 minutes to reach the Berlengas archipelago, which lies 15 kilometers from the west coast of Cabo Carvoeiro.

Before you go, we suggest you go to the supermarket to stock up for the day. This is a day trip and on this island you will only find one restaurant. So bring fruit, sandwiches, water for a picnic on the beach.

In the town of Peniche, head to Cais de Embarque, where you will find the various boat / catamaran options to Berlengas Island, or also known as Berlenga Grande.

To take this tour, please reserve your spot directly on the website: Berlengas Islands Return Catamaran. Otherwise you run the risk of being without a place or on a waiting list in the event of a cancellation.

The Farol Duque de Bragança

On the way to the island, you will see in a breathtaking landscape, the Duque de Bragança lighthouse. Built in 1841 and 29 meters high, the lighthouse uses the energy accumulated during the day thanks to several solar panels. It is located on the highest point of Berlenga Grande.

Farol-Duque-de-Braganca-barge-archipelagodesberlengas
Farol Duke of Braganca

Ilha da Berlenga Grande

Despite its name, Ilha da Berlenga Grande is a tiny island and can be explored in a matter of hours. Therefore, do not expect to find many attractions there, as you might be disappointed. The island is a paradise for divers and birdwatching enthusiasts.

If you do not fit this profile, you can swim and relax at the beach of Carreriro do Mosteiro - the only one accessible on foot in the archipelago -, walk the paths and let yourself be enchanted by the landscape.

beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro (9)
Berlengas Beach

Berlengas Nature Reserve has been a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve since June 2011. You can visit the archipelago between March and October, with a maximum limit of 550 visitors per day. During the other months of the year, the island of Berlenga is inhabited only by lighthouse keepers and watchmen from the Institute for the Conservation of Nature and Forests (ICNB).

The Bairro de Pescadores

The Bairro de Pescadores is your first stop on the island as it is very close to the anchorage. There you will find some fishermen's houses and the Mar e Sol restaurant (the only one on the island). It is also the headquarters of the Life Berlengas project.

It is there the only nucleus of habitation of the archipelago of Berlengas.

bairrodepescadores-beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro
Bairro de Pescadores in Berlengas

Although it is still an unknown place to many people, its human occupation dates back to ancient times. It was even called the Island of Saturn by Roman geographers. Later it was visited by Muslim sailors, Viking sailors, and French and English privateers.

The Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

Also known as Praia da Berlenga Grande, it is the most famous beach in the archipelago.

beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro
Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

It is close to the anchorage and with excellent conditions to enjoy the immense sea. With a length of about 40 meters, it is made of beautiful golden sand and has no swimming infrastructure.

beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro (4)
Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

You can also try the small beaches, like Praia do Forte, located next to the masonry bridge that connects the fort to Berlenga, or Praia Cova do Sonho, with a small sandy beach that almost disappears at high tide.

The Forte São João Baptista

The most notable construction on the island is Fort São João Baptista das Berlengas, which seems to extend from the rocks to the ocean. It is not known exactly when it was built, but testimonies indicate that there was a fortification there since the XNUMXth century.

fortsaojoaobaptista-peniche-archipeldesberlengas (2)
Forte Sao João Baptista.

After some renovations in the 1930s, it finally became a hotel in the 1950s.

Other activities to do on the island

One of the most popular activities in the Berlengas is exploring the caves that exist all over the archipelago. The most famous and impressive is the Furado Grande, which runs through practically the entire island in a sort of natural tunnel 70 meters long and 20 meters high.

beachberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro (2)
Berlinga

Other highlights are the Cova do Sonho and the Furado Pequeno, which are only accessible by boat and can only be visited at low tide. There are dozens of caves to explore all over the island, many of which are submerged and only accessible by diving.

There are two hiking trails you can follow to explore the island. The first is the Berlenga trail, which goes from the fishermen's quarter to the fort and passes by the lighthouse. You will arrive at an observation point from where you will have one of the best views of Fort São João Baptista.

faroldaberlenga-peniche-archipelagodesberlengas
Farol da Berlenga

The second is an easier to walk 1,5 kilometer circular trail, the Ilha Velha Trail. It will take you directly to the habitat of the seagulls. From the top of the cliffs you can see some of the islets that surround the Berlengas, like Estelas or Farilhões.

 

By Mayara Rods

Recent Posts

plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro (8)

Des plages calmes aux eaux cristallines, des grottes inexplorées d’une beauté indescriptible, et des mouettes, beaucoup de mouettes ! Un ensemble d’îles où la combinaison des climats méditerranéen et atlantique a donné naissance à un écosystème unique au monde. L’archipel des Berlengas est un petit sanctuaire naturel – inexploré et presque sauvage – sur la côte portugaise.

L’accès à l’île se fait uniquement par bateaux, qui partent de la ville la plus proche, Peniche. Il faut environ 30 minutes pour atteindre l’archipel des Berlengas, qui se trouve à 15 kilomètres de la côte ouest de Cabo Carvoeiro.

Avant de vous y rendre, nous vous suggérons d’aller au supermarché pour faire des provisions pour la journée. Il s’agit d’une excursion d’une journée et sur cette île, vous ne trouverez qu’un seul restaurant. Apportez donc des fruits, des sandwichs, de l’eau pour un pique-nique sur la plage.

Dans la ville de Peniche, dirigez-vous vers le Cais de Embarque, où vous trouverez les différentes options de bateaux/catamarans vers l’île de Berlengas, ou aussi connue sous le nom de Berlenga Grande.

Pour effectuer cette visite, veuillez réserver votre place directement sur le site web : catamaran aller-retour îles Berlengas. Sinon vous courez le risque d’être sans place ou sur une liste d’attente en cas d’annulation.

Le Farol Duque de Bragança

Sur le chemin de l’île, vous verrez dans un paysage à couper le souffle, le phare Duque de Bragança. Construit en 1841 et haut de 29 mètres, le phare utilise l’énergie accumulée pendant la journée grâce à plusieurs panneaux solaires. Il se situe sur le point le plus élevé de Berlenga Grande.

Farol-Duque-de-Braganca-peniche-archipeldesberlengas
Farol Duque de Braganca

La Ilha da Berlenga Grande

Malgré son nom, Ilha da Berlenga Grande est une toute petite île et peut être explorée en quelques heures. Par conséquent, n’allez pas vous attendre à y trouver de nombreuses attractions, car vous pourriez être déçu. L’île est un paradis pour les plongeurs et les amateurs de Birdwatching.

Si vous ne correspondez pas à ce profil, vous pouvez vous baigner et vous détendre à la plage de Carreiro do Mosteiro – la seule accessible à pied dans l’archipel -, parcourir les sentiers et vous laisser enchanter par le paysage.

plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro (9)
Plage de Berlengas

La réserve naturelle de Berlengas est une réserve de biosphère mondiale de l’UNESCO depuis juin 2011. Vous pouvez visiter l’archipel entre mars et octobre, avec une limite maximale de 550 visiteurs par jour. Pendant les autres mois de l’année, l’île de Berlenga n’est habitée que par les gardiens de phare et les vigiles de l’Institut pour la conservation de la nature et des forêts (ICNB).

Le Bairro de Pescadores

Le Bairro de Pescadores est votre premier arrêt sur l’île car il est très proche du mouillage. Vous y trouverez quelques maisons de pêcheurs et le restaurant Mar e Sol (le seul de l’île). C’est également le quartier général du projet Life Berlengas.

Il y est le seul noyau d’habitation de l’archipel des Berlengas.

bairrodepescadores-plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro
Bairro de Pescadores à Berlengas

Bien qu’elle soit encore un lieu inconnu pour beaucoup de gens,  son occupation humaine remonte à l’Antiquité. Elle était même appelée île de Saturne par les géographes romains. Plus tard, elle a été visitée par des navigateurs musulmans, des marins vikings et des corsaires français et anglais.

La Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

Également connue sous le nom de Praia da Berlenga Grande, c’est la plage la plus célèbre de l’archipel.

plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro
Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

Elle est proche du mouillage et avec d’excellentes conditions pour profiter de l’immense mer. D’une longueur d’environ 40 mètres, il est fait d’un beau sable doré et n’est doté d’aucune infrastructure de baignade.

plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodomosteiro (4)
Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro

Vous pouvez également essayer les petites plages, comme Praia do Forte, située à côté du pont en maçonnerie qui relie le fort à Berlenga, ou Praia Cova do Sonho, avec une petite plage de sable qui disparaît presque à marée haute.

Le Forte São João Baptista

La construction la plus remarquable de l’île est le fort São João Baptista das Berlengas, qui semble s’étendre des rochers jusqu’à l’océan. On ne sait pas exactement quand elle a été construite, mais des témoignages indiquent qu’il y avait une fortification à cet endroit depuis le XVIe siècle.

fortesaojoaobaptista-peniche-archipeldesberlengas (2)
Forte São João Baptista.

Après quelques travaux dans les années 1930, il devient finalement un hôtel dans les années 1950.

D’autres activités à réaliser sur l’île

L’une des activités les plus populaires dans les Berlengas est l’exploration des grottes qui existent partout dans l’archipel. Le plus célèbre et le plus impressionnant est le Furado Grande, qui traverse pratiquement toute l’île dans une sorte de tunnel naturel de 70 mètres de long et 20 mètres de haut.

plageberlengas-peniche-portugal-praiadocarreirodo Mosteiro (2)
Berlega

Les autres points forts sont la Cova do Sonho et le Furado Pequeno, qui ne sont accessibles qu’en bateau et ne peuvent être visités qu’à marée basse. Il y a des dizaines de grottes à explorer sur toute l’île, dont beaucoup sont submergées et uniquement accessibles en plongée.

Il y a deux sentiers de randonnée que vous pouvez suivre pour explorer l’île. Le premier est le sentier Berlenga, qui va du quartier des pêcheurs au fort et passe par le phare. Vous arriverez à un point d’observation d’où vous aurez l’une des meilleures vues sur le Fort São João Baptista.

faroldaberlenga-peniche-archipeldesberlengas
Farol da Berlenga

Le second est un sentier circulaire de 1,5 kilomètre plus facile à parcourir, le sentier Ilha Velha. Il vous mènera directement à l’habitat des mouettes. Du haut des falaises, vous pouvez voir certains des îlots qui entourent les Berlengas, comme Estelas ou Farilhões.

 

Par Mayara Rods