Moliceiro boat in Aveiro

Portuguese Venice is none other than the city of Aveiro, located on the west coast of Portugal! It is classified as such because of its canals (Ria de Aveiro or Foz do Vouga), its bridges and its super charming and colorful boats called moliceiros, in which you can take a break and relax to enjoy the beautiful scenery of this place. Having a traditional architecture with houses covered with typical Portuguese tiles.

These boats were used to harvest moliço, a kind of seaweed that was spread out in the sun and served as fertilizer for the land in the region. The ride on these boats is now one of the main attractions of Aveiro (price: 10 euros). The journey takes about 45 minutes. It offers you a great tour and there is always a guide on board to tell the story of the city.

You can book your ticket for this route at a very attractive price and even get discounts on the site Civitatis, apart to have other information on this subject. But if you're like me who leaves everything at the last minute, no worries! Just go to Ecoria - Empresa Turística da Ria de Aveiro.

Ria de Aveiro Tourist Center
Aveiro Tourist Center

What to do in Aveiro?

Aveiro is a place that you can visit in a day or less because it is a very small town. But it's worth visiting there. It is an important urban, port, railway, university and tourist center.

You can take the opportunity to go to Museum of Cidade de Aveiro (ancient monastery of Jesus), which is one of the oldest in Aveiro or at Arte Nova Museum, which opened in Aveiro in the Casa Major Pessoa, true icon of Art Nouveau. There you will also find a tea house, where you can take a break.

Monument in memory of the Aveyrens who suffered for freedom
Monument in memory of the Aveirenses who suffered for freedom

The other sights of the city are the Infante D. Pedro Park, located next to the anche Franciscano Convent of Santo António, a nice and ideal place for a picnic. Also the Aveiro Cathedral, located in the civil parish of Glória, in the old Dominicano Convent, known to be the city's first religious community.

Pedestrian street decorated with nets and fish made of various materials
Pedestrian street decorated with nets and fish made of various materials

Between one promenade and the other, you can reach the shops, bars, restaurants, ice cream parlors and cafes of the city. 

Do not leave Aveiro without trying the Ovos Moles, a typical sweet of this region. For more information, see: All about the Ovos Moles of the Aveiro region .

What season to visit Aveiro?

Visiting Aveiro can be done at any time of the year. This city is located on the coast and its thermal amplitude is reduced. Which means that during the summer the temperature is not that hot, and during the winter, not too cold. This allows you to go to the beaches and sunbathe.

Aveiro is a wonderful city, ready to welcome tourists at any time of the year, don't leave your itinerary behind!

Take the opportunity to also go to a beautiful neighboring town called Costa Nova do Prado! You can not miss it ! For more information, see: The town of Costa Nova do Prado: discover the striped houses and the flavors of this region!

Bateau Moliceiro à Aveiro

La Venise Portugaise ce n’est autre que la ville d’Aveiro, située sur la côte ouest du Portugal ! Elle se classe ainsi en raison de ses canaux (Ria de Aveiro ou Foz do Vouga), ses ponts et ses super charmants et colorés bateaux appelés Moliceiros, dans lesquels vous pouvez faire une pause et vous détendre pour profiter du bel paysage de cet endroit. Ayant une architecture traditionnelle avec des maisons couvertes de tuiles typiquement portugaises.

Ces bateaux étaient utilisés pour récolter le moliço, une sorte d’algue marine qui était étalée au soleil et servait d’engrais pour les terres de la région. La promenade sur ces bateaux est désormais l’une des principales attractions d’Aveiro (prix : 10 euros). Le trajet dure en environ de 45 minutes. Elle vous offre une belle visite et il y a toujours un guide à bord pour raconter l’histoire de la ville.

Vous pouvez réserver votre billet pour ce parcours à un prix très attractif et même obtenir des réductions sur le site Civitatis, a part d’avoir d’autres informations à ce sujet. Mais si vous êtes comme moi, qui laisse tout à la dernière minute, pas du soucis ! Allez simplement à Ecoria – Empresa Turística da Ria de Aveiro.

Centre touristique de Ria de Aveiro
Centre touristique d’Aveiro

Quoi faire à Aveiro ?

Aveiro est un endroit que vous pouvez visiter en une journée ou moins, car c’est une toute petite ville. Mais ça vaut le coup d’y visiter. C’est un important centre urbain, portuaire, ferroviaire, universitaire et touristique.

Vous pourrez en profiter pour vous rendre aux Musée da Cidade de Aveiro (ancien monastère de Jesus), qui est l’un des plus anciens d’Aveiro ou encore au Musée de Arte Nova, qui a ouvert ses portes à Aveiro dans la Casa Major Pessoa, véritable icône de l’Art Nouveau. Vous y trouverez également une maison de thé, où vous pourrez faire une pause.

Monument à la mémoire des Aveyrens qui ont souffert pour la liberté
Monument à la mémoire des Aveirenses qui ont souffert pour la liberté

Les autres curiosités de la ville sont le Parque Infante D. Pedro, situé à côté de l’ancien Couvent Franciscano de Santo António, un endroit agréable et idéal pour pique-niquer. Aussi la Cathédrale d’Aveiro, située dans la paroisse civile de Glória, dans l’ancien Couvent Dominicano, connu pour être la première communauté religieuse de la ville.

Rue piétonne décorée de filets et de poissons faits de divers matériaux
Rue piétonne décorée de filets et de poissons faits de divers matériaux

Entre une promenade et l’autre, vous pouvez vous rendre dans les boutiques, les bars, les restaurants, les glaciers et les cafés de la ville. 

Ne partez pas d’Aveiro sans essayer les Ovos Moles, une douceur typique de cette région. Pour en savoir plus, consultez : Tout savoir sur les Ovos Moles de la région d’Aveiro .

Quelle saison pour visiter Aveiro ?

Visiter Aveiro peut se faire à tout moment de l’année. Cette ville se situe sur la côte et que son amplitude thermique est réduite. Ce qui signifie que pendant l’été, la température n’est pas si chaude, et pendant l’hiver, pas trop froid. Ce qui vous permet de vous rendre sur les plages et de bronzer.

Aveiro est une ville merveilleuse, prête à accueillir les touristes à tout moment de l’année, à ne pas laisser de côté votre itinéraire !

Profitez-en pour vous rendre aussi dans une belle ville voisine appelée Costa Nova do Prado ! Vous ne pouvez pas le manquer ! Pour en savoir plus, consultez : La ville de Costa Nova do Prado : découvrez les maisons rayées et les saveurs de cette région !