Ponta da Piedade, Lakes

In recent years, Portugal has become one of the favorite destinations for French tourists, in particular the cities of Lisbon and Porto, rich in cultural, architectural and natural heritage.

This craze is not due to chance because the country is full of advantages: its cheapness, colorful architecture, excellent food and heavenly beaches all contribute to its success.

But if you like to think outside the box and discover a country through another perspective, more intimate and more authentic, we have prepared a list of little-known places for you, which will allow you to discover a new facet of this incredible country!

Nazareth

Nazaré is a city particularly marked by its traditions linked to fishing. Located in the middle of the country, it is a little gem of colors and historic buildings. You will find for example in its surroundings the Alcobaça Monastery, founded in the XNUMXth century and considered a masterpiece of Cistercian Gothic architecture. At the bend of a street, you will surely come across women with 7 petticoats, traditional dress of this city which protects them from the sea wind.

For those with a sweet tooth, know that seafood is extraordinary, and at a very affordable price! Finally, for lovers of extreme sports, note that Nazaré is internationally known for being an exceptional surf spot, with gigantic waves.

The village of Costa Nova

The village of Costa Nova
The village is renowned for its colorful houses.

If you love colors, then this fishing village is for you! Indeed, it is known for its houses which sport all the hues of the rainbow, giving rise to a picturesque aura. In particular, do not hesitate to stroll along the main street to admire the small houses that were once used to store fishing equipment. Most have become vacation homes and you can even rent them out for the duration of your stay! It is a place particularly well preserved from tourists, with its 1500 inhabitants so if you like tranquility, this is the place for you.

Buracas do Casmilo, Coimbra

For all climbing enthusiasts and for those who love test their limits, as Honnold in the documentary Free Solo, Buracas do Casmilo is the perfect place! These rock formations are located about 10 kilometers from Coimbra and have the particularity of presenting holes in the walls, almost in the form of gaping mouths. The panoramas are exceptional and it is a climber's paradise! 

Ponta da Piedade, Lakes

Ponta da Piedade, Lakes
This rock formation is breathtakingly beautiful!

These cliffs are located in the very south of the country, in the city of Lagos which is one of the most beautiful coastal cities in Portugal! Indeed, in addition to the absolutely sumptuous landscapes, you can visit the old town whose charm is indisputable, with its historical monuments and its ramparts. In any case, if you had to visit only one place, it would obviously be the Ponta da Piedade which is a particularly impressive seaside rock formation. It is full of small hidden caves and you can walk from the rocks to the beach, to watch a magnificent orange sunset. Do not miss !

Porto Moniz, Madeira

Here is a place like there are few in the world! Have you ever wanted to swim in natural volcanic pools? So, you will find heavenly ones in Porto Moniz! Located in themadeira island, it is a particularly relaxing place, where you can sip a cocktail and bathe in clear water, constantly renewed by the sea flows. A true seaside town, there are many walks to do, with the added bonus of panoramic views of the green hills and the sea!

Chá Gorreana, Azores Islands

Did you think that it was absolutely necessary to go to Asia to be able to admire the fields of tea as far as the eye could see with your own eyes? Think again, there are some in Portugal, in the largest island of the Azores archipelago, São Miguel! You can walk among the plantations of the Chá Gorreana factory, in a circular path that will take you from green plains to the forest. Of course, you can, at the end of your visit, buy tea or learn about its production methods. It is an exceptional and unique place in Europe, so do not hesitate to go and discover it!

Ponta da Piedade, Lagos

Ces dernières années, le Portugal est devenu l’une des destinations préférées des touristes français, notamment les villes de Lisbonne et de Porto, riches en patrimoine culturel, architectural et naturel.

Cet engouement n’est pas dû au hasard car le pays regorge d’avantages : son côté bon marché, son architecture colorée, sa nourriture excellente et ses plages paradisiaques contribuent à son succès.

Mais si vous aimez sortir des sentiers battus et découvrir un pays à travers un autre regard, plus intimiste et plus authentique, nous vous avons préparé une liste de lieux méconnus, qui vous permettront de découvrir une nouvelle facette de ce pays incroyable !

Nazaré

Nazaré est une ville particulièrement marquée par ses traditions liées à la pêche. Située au milieu du pays, c’est un petit bijou de couleurs et de bâtiments historiques. Vous trouverez par exemple dans ses environs le monastère d’Alcobaça, fondé au XIIe siècle et considéré comme un chef d’œuvre de l’architecture gothique cistercienne. Au détour d’une rue, vous croiserez sûrement des femmes avec 7 jupons, tenue traditionnelle de cette ville qui les protège du vent marin.

Pour les plus gourmands, sachez que les produits de la mer sont extraordinaires, et à un prix très abordable ! Enfin, pour les amateurs de sports extrêmes, notez que Nazaré est connue internationalement pour être un spot de surf exceptionnel, avec des vagues gigantesques.

Le village de Costa Nova

Le village de Costa Nova
Le village est renommé pour ses maisons colorées.

Si vous adorez les couleurs, alors ce village de pêcheurs est fait pour vous ! En effet, il est connu pour ses maisons qui arborent toutes les teintes de l’arc-en-ciel, donnant lieu à une aura pittoresque. En particulier, n’hésitez pas à vous balader le long de la rue principale pour y admirer les maisonnettes qui étaient autrefois utilisées pour y entreposer du matériel de pêche. La plupart sont devenues des maisons de vacances et vous pouvez même les louer le temps de votre séjour ! C’est un lieu particulièrement préservé des touristes, avec ses quelques 1500 habitants donc si vous aimez la tranquillité, c’est le lieu qu’il vous faut.

Buracas do Casmilo, Coimbra

Pour tous les amateurs d’escalade et pour ceux qui aiment tester leurs limites, comme Honnold dans le documentaire Free Solo, Buracas do Casmilo est l’endroit idéal ! Ces formations rocheuses sont situées à environ 10 kilomètres de Coimbra et ont pour particularité de présenter des trous dans les parois, presque en forme de bouches béantes. Les panoramas y sont exceptionnels et c’est un paradis pour les grimpeurs ! 

Ponta da Piedade, Lagos

Ponta da Piedade, Lagos
Cette formation rocheuse est d’une beauté à couper le souffle !

Ces falaises sont situées tout au sud du pays, dans la ville de Lagos qui est l’une des plus belles cités côtières du Portugal ! En effet, en plus des paysages absolument somptueux, vous pourrez visiter la vieille ville dont le charme est indiscutable, avec ses monuments historiques et ses remparts. En tout cas, si vous ne deviez visiter qu’un seul lieu, ce serait évidemment la Ponta da Piedade qui est une formation rocheuse en bord de mer particulièrement impressionnante. Elle regorge de petites grottes cachées et vous pourrez marcher des rochers jusqu’à la plage, pour y regarder un magnifique coucher de soleil orangé. À ne pas manquer !

Porto Moniz, Madère

Voici un lieu comme il y en a peu dans le monde ! Avez-vous déjà souhaité vous baigner dans des piscines naturelles volcaniques ? Alors, vous en trouverez des paradisiaques à Porto Moniz ! Situé dans l’île de Madère, c’est un endroit particulièrement reposant, dans lequel vous pourrez siroter un cocktail et vous baigner dans une eau claire, sans cesse renouvelée par les flux marins. Véritable cité balnéaire, de nombreuses balades sont à faire, avec en prime des vues panoramiques sur les collines verdoyantes et la mer !

Chá Gorreana, îles Açores

Pensiez-vous qu’il était absolument nécessaire d’aller en Asie pour pouvoir admirer de vos propres yeux des champs de thé à perte de vue ? Détrompez-vous, il y en a au Portugal, dans la plus grande île de l’archipel des Açores, São Miguel ! Vous pourrez vous balader parmi les plantations de l’usine Chá Gorreana, dans un chemin circulaire qui vous fera passer de plaines verdoyantes à la forêt. Bien entendu, vous pourrez, à la fin de votre visite, acheter du thé ou vous instruire sur ses méthodes de production. C’est un lieu exceptionnel et unique en Europe, donc n’hésitez pas à aller le découvrir !