Workers of the Lisbon Municipal Mobility and Parking Company (EMEL) will carry out a 24-hour strike on Thursday to demand the resumption of negotiations on wage increases, a union source told the Lusa agency today.

"Given the lack of response to the scheduling of a meeting by the EMEL Board of Directors and the Lisbon City Hall, to meet, present and discuss a serious proposal for salary increases, the workers 'had no choice but to plan a new strike,' explained Lusa Orlando Gonçalves, of the Union of Commercial, Office and Service Workers of Portugal (CESP).

The trade unionist recalled that 15 days ago, the workers met in plenary session in front of the town hall of Lisbon and that they transmitted to the mayor, Carlos Moedas (PSD), their demands and their intention to resume negotiations.

“At the time, President Carlos Moedas said he was unaware of what was happening. We thought it was strange, but we have already sent all the documentation and after 15 days there is still no response,” he pointed out.

According to Orlando Gonçalves, the management of EMEL has managed to reach an agreement with the Union of Service Sector Workers (SITESE) for a salary increase of 25 euros, a value rejected by the CESP, which wants an increase of 90 euros.

“We consider that the proposed increase is insufficient. EMEL is able to give workers better raises. This year, in terms of revenue, they will reach pre-pandemic values ​​(2019). The option was not to value the workers,” he argued.

In a written response sent to Lusa, an EMEL source assured that the company "has made an effort to meet the demands of the unions representing the workers" and referred to the agreement reached with SITESE, which led to an increase of 25 euros for all workers and "to 5% of the shift work allowance for workers who work 24 hours".

“It should be noted that the EMEL started these negotiations with the unions with a proposal for an initial increase of 15 euros across the board, after having closed the negotiations with obtaining the agreement of the SITESE for an increase of 25 euros, in the manner already explained. Unfortunately, the CESP did not sign the agreement,” points out the company.

The note also mentions that EMEL's activity "has been affected over the past two years, with significant losses resulting from the cessation of activity", a situation which "forced the transfer of funds from the municipality" to the company.

In turn, also in a response sent to Lusa, a Lisbon City Hall source said that the executive "believes that the negotiations between the EMEL administration and the workers' representatives must continue, in order to reach an agreement which meets all the requirements. parties, regardless of the union concerned”.

"Despite the difficult economic times, EMEL has responded to the wishes of the company's approximately 700 employees", underlines the note from the Lisbon Chamber.

EMEL workers had gone on a 24-hour strike on May 6, with membership around 90%, according to the unions, and less than 30%, according to the company.

AEC (MP) // MCL

Les travailleurs de l’Entreprise municipale de mobilité et de stationnement de Lisbonne (EMEL) mèneront jeudi une grève de 24 heures pour exiger la reprise des négociations sur les augmentations de salaire, a indiqué aujourd’hui une source syndicale à l’agence Lusa.

« Vu l’absence de réponse de la programmation d’une réunion par le conseil d’administration de l’EMEL et la mairie de Lisbonne, pour se rencontrer, présenter et discuter d’une proposition sérieuse d’augmentations salariales, les travailleurs n’ont eu d’autre choix que de programmer une nouvelle grève » , a expliqué à Lusa Orlando Gonçalves, du Syndicat des travailleurs du commerce, des bureaux et des services du Portugal (CESP).

Le syndicaliste a rappelé qu’il y a 15 jours, les travailleurs se sont réunis en séance plénière devant la mairie de Lisbonne et qu’ils ont transmis au maire, Carlos Moedas (PSD), leurs revendications et leur intention de reprendre les négociations.

« À l’époque, le président Carlos Moedas a déclaré qu’il n’était pas au courant de ce qui se passait. Nous avons pensé que c’était étrange, mais nous avons déjà envoyé toute la documentation et après 15 jours, il n’y a toujours pas de réponse », a-t-il souligné.

Selon Orlando Gonçalves, la direction de l’EMEL est parvenue à trouver un accord avec le Syndicat des travailleurs du secteur des services (SITESE) pour une augmentation de salaire de 25 euros, une valeur rejetée par le CESP, qui souhaite une augmentation de 90 euros.

« Nous considérons que l’augmentation proposée est insuffisante. EMEL est en mesure de donner de meilleures augmentations aux travailleurs. Cette année, en termes de revenus, ils atteindront les valeurs d’avant la pandémie (2019). L’option a été de ne pas valoriser les travailleurs », a-t-il soutenu.

Dans une réponse écrite, envoyée à Lusa, une source de l’EMEL a assuré que l’entreprise « a fait un effort pour répondre aux revendications des syndicats représentant les travailleurs » et a fait allusion à l’accord conclu avec le SITESE, qui a abouti à une augmentation de 25 euros pour tous travailleurs et « à 5 % de l’indemnité de travail posté pour les travailleurs qui travaillent 24 heures ».

« Il est à noter que l’EMEL a entamé ces négociations avec les syndicats avec une proposition d’augmentation initiale de 15 euros sur toute la ligne, après avoir clôturé les négociations avec l’obtention de l’accord du SITESE pour une augmentation de 25 euros, de la manière déjà exposée. Malheureusement, le CESP n’a pas signé l’accord », pointe l’entreprise.

La note mentionne également que l’activité d’EMEL « a été affectée ces deux dernières années, avec des pertes importantes, résultant de l’arrêt d’activité », une situation qui a « obligé le transfert de fonds de la commune » vers l’entreprise.

À son tour, également dans une réponse envoyée à Lusa, une source de la mairie de Lisbonne a déclaré que l’exécutif « estime que les négociations entre l’administration EMEL et les représentants des travailleurs doivent se poursuivre, afin de parvenir à un accord qui satisfasse à toutes les exigences ». parties, quel que soit le syndicat concerné ».

« Malgré le moment économique difficile, EMEL a répondu aux souhaits des quelque 700 salariés de l’entreprise », souligne la note de la Chambre de Lisbonne.

Les travailleurs d’EMEL avaient mené une grève de 24 heures le 6 mai, avec une adhésion d’environ 90 %, selon les syndicats, et moins de 30 %, selon l’entreprise.

AEC (MP) // MCL