visit-region-of-monsaraz-village-white-houses

Visiting the castles of the Alentejo is the perfect way to learn about the history that lives in its fortifications. These magnificent historic buildings defended the territory against potential invaders.

Discover Monsaraz Castle and its magnificent landscape!

visit-region-alentejo-chateau-mur-de-monsaraz-village-white-houses
Monsaraz Castle

There you will find a dream castle at the top of the mountain. It has well-preserved schist walls and is surrounded by white houses.
With sublime views of a giant lake whose blue is bordered by green and gold.

Monsaraz is one of the most beautiful villages in the Alentejo and one of the most exciting medieval towns in Portugal.

Why visit there?

In 2017, Monsaraz won its place in the 7 wonders of Portugal - Villages.

The earth tones and the harsh aspect of the shale stone are contrasted by the whiteness and the sharpness of the whitewashed houses. At the top of this steep slope, between walls as old as the years, there is a character of its own preserving legends, memories, traditions and ancient knowledge.

visit-region-alentejo-wall-of-monsaraz-village-white-houses
Monsaraz Castle

You can go through it in minutes, from cover to cover. Dare to visit Monsaraz and let yourself be enchanted by the village that was born on the hill of xaras!

Why not take the opportunity to visit Monsaraz and take a tour of Lake Alqueva? Or take a little trip to Évora, Marvão or Mértola?

How to get there ?

Monsaraz is 180 km from Lisbon and 460 km from Porto. The best way to get to Monsaraz is by car. Visiting Monsaraz with your own car or a rental car, lets you know the many secrets hidden around the fortified village.

Buses leave from different parts of the country to the village of Reguengos de Monsaraz, 15 km away, and from there it is possible to take the daily Rodalentejo company 'line' to Monsaraz or to go there by bus. Taxi.

When to visit?

The best time to visit Monsaraz is when the spring temperatures arrive in Alentejo, from March to May, and bring the blossoms to bloom. The village gains another color and another luminosity with the flower pots and the landscape gains an intense green tinged with wild flowers.

visit-region-alentejo-wall-of-monsaraz-village-white-houses
Monsaraz village

In autumn, it is the ocher tones and pastels of the dried leaves from September to October that also bring the harvest, another of the most interesting times of the year to visit Monsaraz.

Summer is hot, very hot, but don't rule out a visit. Spend the day cooling off on the river beach! You can witness a sunset that you will never forget. And fall asleep contemplating a starry sky that the city will offer you.

To learn more about the Alentejo region, see: The Alentejo region: the best places to visit.

visiter-region-de-monsaraz-village-maisons-blanches

Visiter les châteaux de l’Alentejo est le moyen idéal de connaître l’histoire qui vit dans ses fortifications. Ces magnifiques constructions historiques défendaient le territoire contre les envahisseurs potentiels.

Découvrez le château de Monsaraz et son magnifique paysage !

visiter-region-alentejo-chateau-mur-de-monsaraz-village-maisons-blanches
Château de Monsaraz

Vous y trouverez un château de rêve au sommet de la montagne. Il est aux murs de schiste bien conservé et entouré de maison Blanches.
Avec des vues sublimes sur un lac géant dont le bleu est bordé de vert et d’or.

Monsaraz est l’un des plus beaux villages de l’Alentejo et l’une des villes médiévales les plus passionnantes du Portugal.

Pourquoi y visiter ?

En 2017, Monsaraz a gagné sa place dans les 7 merveilles du Portugal – Villages.

Les tons de la terre et l’aspect rude de la pierre de schiste ont son contraste par la blancheur et la netteté des maisons blanchies. Au sommet de cette pente abrupte, entre des murs aussi vieux que les années se trouvent un caractère propre se préserve les légendes, les souvenirs, les traditions et les connaissances anciennes.

visiter-region-alentejo-mur-de-monsaraz-village-maisons-blanches
Château de Monsaraz

Vous pouvez le parcourir en quelques minutes, d’un bout à l’autre. Osez visiter Monsaraz et laissez-vous envoûter par le village qui est né sur la colline de xaras !

Pourquoi ne pas profiter de l’occasion pour visiter Monsaraz et faire le tour du lac d’Alqueva ? Ou bien faire un petit saut à Évora, Marvão ou Mértola ?

Comment s’y rendre ?

Monsaraz est à 180 km de Lisbonne et à 460 km de Porto. Le meilleur moyen de se rendre à Monsaraz est la voiture. Visiter Monsaraz avec votre propre voiture ou une voiture de location, vous permet de connaître les nombreux secrets cachés autour du village fortifié.

Des bus partent de différents points du pays jusqu’au village de Reguengos de Monsaraz, à 15 km, et de là, il est possible de prendre la « ligne » quotidienne de l’entreprise Rodalentejo jusqu’à Monsaraz ou d’y aller en taxi.

Quand y visiter ?

Le meilleur moment pour visiter Monsaraz est lorsque les températures printanières arrivent dans l’Alentejo, de mars à mai, et apportent l’éclosion des fleurs. Le village gagne une autre couleur et une autre luminosité avec les pots fleuris et le paysage gagne un vert intense teinté de fleurs sauvages.

visiter-region-alentejo-mur-de-monsaraz-village-maisons-blanches
Village de Monsaraz

En automne, ce sont les tons ocre et les pastels des feuilles séchées de septembre à octobre qui apportent également les vendanges, une autre des périodes les plus intéressantes de l’année pour visiter Monsaraz.

L’été là est chaud, très chaud, mais n’excluez pas une visite. Passez la journée à vous rafraîchir sur la plage de la rivière!  Vous pouvez assister à un coucher de soleil que vous n’oublierez jamais. Et endormez-vous en contemplant un ciel étoilé que la ville vous offrira.

Pour en savoir plus sur la région de l’Alentejo, consultez : La région de l’Alentejo: les meilleurs endroits à visiter.