The 22nd edition of the Festival Músicas do Mundo (FMM), whose program was presented today, in the village of Porto Covo, in this municipality on the Alentejo coast, will bring together "artists from 27 countries and regions" , revealed the organization.

“After a two-year hiatus due to the [covid-19] pandemic, the festival is coming back online with the principles of geographical, aesthetic and cultural representation that have guided it since its origin,” said the Chamber of Sines, l organizing entity, in a press release.

The event will take place from July 22 to 24 in Porto Covo, where 12 concerts of Arts in Sines and Vasco da Gama Avenue are scheduled.

Returning to the various stages of the county, the promoters want to reinforce the visibility of women artists and "their real contribution to music on a planetary scale", with a strong presence from the American continent.

Ava Rocha, Bia Ferreira, Letrux and Marina Sena (Brazil), Ana Tijoux and Pascuala Ilabaca (Chile), Queen Ifrica (Jamaica), Omara Portuondo and Daymé Arocena (Cuba) and Dominique Fils-Aimé (Quebec) are among the confirmed presences at the festival.

The African continent also "shows again the diversity of its musical expressions", from the Sahara desert, represented by the Tuareg Mdou Moctar, to the archipelagos of the Indian Ocean, with the presence of Maya Kamaty, from Reunion.

Among the names revealed are also Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 and Etuk Ubong (Nigeria), James BKS (Cameroon), Aline Frazão and Pongo (Angola), Acacia Maior and Re:Imaginar Monte Cara (Cape Verde).

According to the organization, Portuguese representation will be through different styles "ranging from fado to reggae", such as Club Makumba, Dulce Pontes, Fado Bicha, Paulo Bragança, Pedro Mafama, Sara Correia and Simply Rockers Sound System.

Music from Spain, between Galicia and Catalonia, is also very present this year, with concerts by Albert Pla, Angélica Salvi, Baiuca, Maruja Limón, Niño de Elche and the duo Lina_Raül Refree, which "joins Portugal and the 'Spain'. in a "new approach to fado".

Crystal Murray and Lucie Antunes, two new French artists, will perform in Sines, Flat Earth Society Orchestra and La Chiva Gantiva, two groups based in Belgium, and Steam Down, representing the multicultural 'movida' of London (England).

“From the Mediterranean and the Caucasus, via the Black Sea, we will see on stage the Greek artist Marina Satti, the Bosnian group Dubioza Kolektiv, the Romanian gypsy group Taraf de Caliu, the Franco-Armenian duo Ladaniva and the circus encounter Zaur Nagoy. + Jrpjej,” the organization said.

According to the promoter, in addition to Lakha Khan, ambassador of music from Rajasthan (India) and the artist who "goes further to Sines", this year's edition will also be marked by "intercontinental meetings", including B2B projects beat DJ Dolores (Portugal/Brazil), Guiss Guiss Bou Bess (Senegal/France) and KUTU (Ethiopia/France).

In addition to the concerts, FMM Sines offers a program of parallel initiatives, with special concerts, exhibitions, conferences, storytelling sessions, meetings with musicians and writers, masterclasses, cinema, guided tours, book and record fairs, children's shows and children's workshops.

HYN // RRL

La 22e édition du Festival Músicas do Mundo (FMM), dont le programme a été présenté aujourd’hui, dans le village de Porto Covo, dans cette municipalité de la côte de l’Alentejo, réunira « des artistes de 27 pays et régions », a révélé l’organisation.

« Après deux ans d’arrêt dû à la pandémie [de covid-19]le festival revient en ligne avec les principes de représentation géographique, esthétique et culturelle qui l’ont guidé depuis son origine », a déclaré la Chambre de Sines, l’entité organisatrice, dans un communiqué.

L’événement aura lieu du 22 au 24 juillet à Porto Covo, où sont programmés 12 concerts d’Arts in Sines et de l’avenue Vasco da Gama.

Revenant sur les différentes scènes du comté, les promoteurs veulent renforcer la visibilité des femmes artistes et « leur réelle contribution à la musique à l’échelle planétaire », avec une forte présence du continent américain.

Ava Rocha, Bia Ferreira, Letrux et Marina Sena (Brésil), Ana Tijoux et Pascuala Ilabaca (Chili), Queen Ifrica (Jamaïque), Omara Portuondo et Daymé Arocena (Cuba) et Dominique Fils-Aimé (Québec) font partie des confirmés présences au festival.

Le continent africain aussi « montre à nouveau la diversité de ses expressions musicales », du désert du Sahara, représenté par le Touareg Mdou Moctar, aux archipels de l’océan Indien, avec la présence de Maya Kamaty, de La Réunion.

Parmi les noms révélés figurent également Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 et Etuk Ubong (Nigéria), James BKS (Cameroun), Aline Frazão et Pongo (Angola), Acacia Maior et Re:Imaginar Monte Cara (Cap-Vert).

Selon l’organisation, la représentation portugaise se fera à travers différents styles « allant du fado au reggae », tels que Club Makumba, Dulce Pontes, Fado Bicha, Paulo Bragança, Pedro Mafama, Sara Correia et Simply Rockers Sound System.

La musique d’Espagne, entre Galice et Catalogne, est également très présente cette année, avec des concerts d’Albert Pla, Angélica Salvi, Baiuca, Maruja Limón, Niño de Elche et le duo Lina_Raül Refree, qui « rejoint le Portugal et l’Espagne ». dans une « nouvelle approche du fado ».

Crystal Murray et Lucie Antunes, deux nouvelles artistes françaises, se produiront dans Sines, Flat Earth Society Orchestra et La Chiva Gantiva, deux groupes basés en Belgique, et Steam Down, représentant de la ‘movida’ multiculturelle de Londres (Angleterre).

« De la Méditerranée et du Caucase, en passant par la mer Noire, on verra sur scène l’artiste grecque Marina Satti, le groupe bosniaque Dubioza Kolektiv, le groupe tzigane roumain Taraf de Caliu, le duo franco-arménien Ladaniva et la rencontre circassienne Zaur Nagoy. + Jrpjej », a déclaré l’organisation.

Selon le promoteur, outre Lakha Khan, ambassadeur de la musique du Rajasthan (Inde) et l’artiste qui « arrive plus loin à Sines », l’édition de cette année sera également marquée par des « rencontres intercontinentales », dont les projets B2B battent DJ Dolores (Portugal/Brésil), Guiss Guiss Bou Bess (Sénégal/France) et KUTU (Éthiopie/France).

Outre les concerts, FMM Sines propose un programme d’initiatives parallèles, avec des concerts spéciaux, des expositions, des conférences, des séances de contes, des rencontres avec des musiciens et des écrivains, des masterclasses, du cinéma, des visites guidées, des salons du livre et du disque, des spectacles pour enfants et des ateliers pour enfants.

HYN // RRL