United States President Joe Biden intends to address the issue of "free and transparent" elections in Brazil during the bilateral meeting with his Brazilian counterpart, Jair Bolsonaro, who expressed unfounded doubts about the electoral process.

"The president should address the issue of open, free, fair, transparent and democratic elections," said the US President's diplomatic adviser Jake Sullivan aboard Air Force One.

Washington has openly expressed concern over attempts by Bolsonaro, who is seeking re-election, to cast doubt on Brazil's electoral system.

The scene of the first meeting between Biden and Bolsonaro will be the IX Summit of the Americas, which began Monday in the American city of Los Angeles.

In recent months, and with increasing frequency, in addition to insisting that the country's electronic voting system is unreliable, Bolsonaro has stepped up attacks on Federal Supreme Court (STF) judges and has declared that he would not respect certain court decisions. .

The Brazilian president notably targeted judges Alexandre de Morais and Edson Fachin, of the Superior Electoral Court (TSE).

On Monday, the Brazilian president launched harsh attacks on the TSE, targeting its president, Edson Fachin, accusing it of conspiring to facilitate Lula da Silva's victory in the October presidential elections.

Bolsonaro accused Fachin of doing everything to discredit the electoral process and "to elect Lula in an unacceptable way".

“There are three ministers who do not want transparency in the elections. I am not attacking democracy,” Bolsonaro denounced, adding that from what we see on the streets, “it is impossible not to have a second round or for me not to win in the first round.”

In an interview with Lusa at the end of May, constitutionalist Diego Werneck Arguelhes, signatory of the letter sent to the UN about the "unprecedented campaign" against Brazilian courts, warned that the Brazilian president is creating bases for "an invasion of the Capitol". ', as happened in the United States.

“Jair Bolsonaro is doing this in slow motion, what we see in Brazil is a January 6, slow motion Capitol invasion,” the associate professor at the Instituto de Ensino e Pesquisa do Brasil and a Ph.D. told Lusa. Law from Yale University, USA.

According to the latest polls, Lula da Silva has widened the gap with Jair Bolsonaro. The candidate of the Workers' Party (PT) has 48% of the voting intentions and Bolsonaro, candidate of the Liberal Party (PL), has 27%.

To win in the first round, you need more than 50% of the votes.

Le président des États-Unis, Joe Biden, entend aborder la question des élections « libres et transparentes » au Brésil lors de la rencontre bilatérale avec son homologue brésilien, Jair Bolsonaro, qui a émis des doutes infondés sur le processus électoral.

« Le président devrait aborder la question des élections ouvertes, libres, justes, transparentes et démocratiques », a déclaré le conseiller diplomatique du président américain Jake Sullivan à bord d’Air Force One.

Washington s’est ouvertement inquiété des tentatives de Bolsonaro, qui brigue un nouveau mandat, de jeter le doute sur le système électoral brésilien.

La scène de la première rencontre entre Biden et Bolsonaro sera le IX Sommet des Amériques, qui a débuté lundi dans la ville américaine de Los Angeles.

Ces derniers mois, et avec une fréquence croissante, en plus d’insister sur le fait que le système de vote électronique du pays n’est pas fiable, Bolsonaro a intensifié les attaques contre les magistrats de la Cour suprême fédérale (STF) et a déclaré qu’il ne respecterait pas certaines décisions de justice. .

Le président brésilien a notamment visé les juges Alexandre de Morais et Edson Fachin, du Tribunal supérieur électoral (TSE).

Lundi, le président brésilien a lancé de dures attaques contre le TSE, visant son président, Edson Fachin, l’accusant de conspirer pour faciliter la victoire de Lula da Silva aux élections présidentielles d’octobre.

Bolsonaro a accusé Fachin de tout faire pour discréditer le processus électoral et « pour élire Lula de manière inacceptable ».

« Il y a trois ministres qui ne veulent pas de transparence dans les élections. Je n’attaque pas la démocratie », a dénoncé Bolsonaro, ajoutant que d’après ce qu’on voit dans les rues, « il est impossible de ne pas avoir de second tour ou pour moi de ne pas gagner au premier tour ».

Dans une interview accordée à Lusa fin mai, le constitutionnaliste Diego Werneck Arguelhes, signataire de la lettre envoyée à l’ONU au sujet de la « campagne sans précédent » contre les tribunaux brésiliens, a averti que le président brésilien est en train de créer des bases pour « une invasion du Capitole ». ‘, comme cela s’est produit aux États-Unis.

« Jair Bolsonaro fait cela au ralenti, ce que nous voyons au Brésil est un 6 janvier, l’invasion du Capitole au ralenti », a déclaré à Lusa le professeur agrégé à l’Instituto de Ensino e Pesquisa do Brasil et un doctorat. Droit de l’Université de Yale, aux États-Unis.

Selon les derniers sondages, Lula da Silva a creusé l’écart avec Jair Bolsonaro. Le candidat du Parti des travailleurs (PT) a 48% des intentions de vote et Bolsonaro, candidat du Parti libéral (PL), a 27%.

Pour gagner au premier tour, il faut plus de 50% des voix.