Stand up paddle in the Algarve

There is no doubt that the Stand Up Paddle is the trendy sport on the Algarve coast.

For those of you who are still unfamiliar with this new sport, this is a board similar to those used in surfing but adapted to be able to stand upright while you paddle to move around. It has been practiced in some corners of our planet for a long time, but there are more and more places where you can practice this sport. We tell you everything with the site PaddleInflatable.pro.

A little history of SUP

Paddling on a board is the oldest form of surfing. For centuries, only the kings of Polynesian tribes used to surf this way. Personalities like Dave Kalama or Laird Hamilton made this type of surf popular again and showed the enormous potential of Stand Up Paddling (SUP) with or without waves.

Discover the Algarve in Stand Up Paddle

If you want to experience an unforgettable adventure during your vacation in southern Portugal, you should definitely try the Stand Up Paddle in the Algarve!

Unlike traditional guided tours on land, visiting the Algarve by SUP offers a new and different perspective. Floating offshore on crystal clear waters, you will indeed discover the magnificent southern coast of Portugal.

This will give you access to places like the urban beaches ofAlvor , Armacao da Pera or the natural beaches and coves around the municipality of Carvoeiro. You can also do this activity in other places like the beaches in the west of the region called Vincentian Coast. Finally, you can visit many spaces such as lagoons, caves, estuaries and walk along the cliffs and secret beaches of the Algarve. Indeed, the Algarve surprises the traveler with the rugged relief of its coastline. The many beaches and coves that can be found weave their way between impressive cliffs, forming a spectacular landscape full of natural monuments. One of them is in Benagil, a small place open to the sea, surrounded by hidden caves that can only be discovered on board certain types of boats and SUPs. The most popular is called "El Algar de Benagil".

Benagil is very close to some important towns such as Portimao (15 kilometers to the west) or Albufeira (25 kilometers to the east). There are several accesses to get to Benagil. The most common is to take the detour into the town of Lagoa (14 kilometers north) on the N-125 road. Once in Lagoa we will take the EM-1154 road and in a few minutes we will be at our destination.

Once you arrive at your destination, make your way to the beach. Just before the sand you will find a small stand with information to visit the caves. The company in charge is called Taruga Tours and offers two options: The first is to rent a kayak or SUP to see the nearest caves, an inexpensive proposition. The second is to take a boat trip, which allows you to visit about twenty caves, navigate a little further from the coast and discover the incredible relief of this corner of the Algarve.

Train in SUP and find accommodation on site

There are many schools locally where you can take Stand Up Paddleboarding lessons in Portugal and, if you wish, you can also stay at one of these popular surf camps called 'The Kite House' which is located nearby. from the center of the city of Lagos and the beach of Meia Praia. The Kite House is the perfect place to take a break from the routine and meet many other interesting people from all over the world.

In addition to being able to learn about SUP, you will find accommodation near the sea in the region, making you feel at home with other water sports enthusiasts from all over the world. What else do you need ?

In shallow water, friendly and experienced instructors will show you the basics and balance exercises to help you achieve the right stability in Stand Up Paddle as a beginner. During these calm water excursions you will explore not only fascinating cliffs and caves mounted on modern, comfortable and stable boards, but also beautiful bays and lagoons protected from the wind. If you already have an advanced level of stand up paddle boarding, you can venture out to try Paddle Surfing and go wave hunting on the West Coast!

Stand up paddle en Algarve

Il ne fait aucun doute que le Stand Up Paddle est le sport à la mode sur la côte de l’Algarve.

Pour ceux d’entre vous qui ne connaissent toujours pas ce nouveau sport, il s’agit d’une planche similaire à celles utilisées en surf mais adaptée pour pouvoir se tenir debout pendant que vous pagayez pour vous déplacer. Il est pratiqué dans certains coins de notre planète depuis longtemps mais il y a de plus en plus d’endroits où vous pouvez pratiquer ce sport. On vous dit tout avec le site PaddleGonflable.pro.

Un peu d’histoire du SUP

Pagayer sur une planche est la plus ancienne forme de surf. Pendant des siècles, seuls les rois des tribus polynésiennes avaient l’habitude de surfer de cette façon. Des personnalités comme Dave Kalama ou Laird Hamilton ont rendu ce type de surf à nouveau populaire et ont montré l’énorme potentiel du Stand Up Paddling ( SUP ) avec ou sans vagues.

Découvrir l’Algarve en Stand Up Paddle

Si vous voulez vivre une aventure inoubliable pendant vos vacances dans le sud du Portugal, vous devriez absolument essayer le Stand Up Paddle en Algarve !

Contrairement aux visites guidées traditionnelles sur terre, visiter l’Algarve en  SUP offre une perspective nouvelle et différente. En flottant au large sur des eaux cristallines, vous découvrirez en effet la magnifique côte sud du Portugal.

Vous pourrez ainsi accéder à des endroits comme les plages urbaines d’Alvor , Armacao da Pera ou les plages et criques naturelles autour de la municipalité de Carvoeiro. Vous pourrez également effectuer cette activité dans d’autres endroits comme les plages de l’ouest de la région appelée Costa Vicentina. Enfin, vous pourrez visiter de nombreux espaces tels que des lagunes, des grottes, des estuaires et longer les falaises et les plages secrètes de l’Algarve. Car en effet, L’ Algarve surprend le voyageur avec le relief accidenté de son littoral. Les nombreuses plages et criques que l’on trouve se frayent un chemin entre d’impressionnantes falaises, formant un paysage spectaculaire plein de monuments naturels. L’un d’eux se trouve à Benagil , un petit endroit ouvert sur la mer, entouré de grottes cachées qui ne peuvent être découvertes qu’à bord de certains types de bateaux et SUP. Le plus populaire se nomme   » El Algar de Benagil « .

Benagil est très proche de quelques villes importantes telles que Portimao (15 kilomètres à l’ouest) ou Albufeira (25 kilomètres à l’est). Il y a plusieurs accès pour se rendre à Benagil . Le plus courant est de prendre le détour dans la ville de Lagoa (14 kilomètres au nord) de la route N-125. Une fois à Lagoa, nous prendrons la route EM-1154 et dans quelques minutes nous serons à destination.

Une fois arrivés à destination, dirigez-vous vers la plage. Juste avant le sable, vous trouverez un petit stand avec des informations pour visiter les grottes. La société en charge s’appelle Taruga Tours et propose deux options: La première est de louer un kayak ou un SUP pour voir les grottes les plus proches, une proposition peu coûteuse. La seconde est de faire un tour en bateau, ce qui permet de visiter une vingtaine de grottes, de naviguer un peu plus loin de la côte et de découvrir l’incroyable relief de ce coin de l’Algarve.

Se former au SUP et se loger sur place

Il existe sur place de nombreuses écoles où vous pourrez suivre des cours de Stand Up Paddle au Portugal et, si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez également séjourner dans l’un de ces camps de surf populaire appelé  « The Kite House », qui situé près du centre de la ville de Lagos et de la plage de Meia Praia . The Kite House est l’endroit idéal pour se déconnecter de la routine et rencontrer de nombreuses autres personnes intéressantes du monde entier.

En plus de pouvoir s’initier au SUP, vous trouverez dans la région des hébergements proche de la mer.Vous vous sentirez chez vous, avec d’autres amateurs de sports nautiques du monde entier. De quoi d’autres avez-vous besoin ?

En eau peu profonde, des instructeurs sympathiques et expérimentés vous montreront les bases et les exercices d’équilibre pour vous aider à obtenir la bonne stabilité en Stand Up Paddle en tant que débutant. Au cours de ces excursions en eaux calmes, vous explorerez non seulement des falaises et des grottes fascinantes montées sur des planches modernes, confortables et stables, mais aussi de belles baies et lagunes protégées du vent. Si vous avez déjà un niveau avancé en stand up paddle, vous pourrez vous aventurer à essayer le Paddle Surf et partir à la chasse aux vagues sur la côte ouest !