visit-portima-algarve-portugal-beaches-cliff-portugal-tourism

The city of Portimão is located in Faro (Algarve) and has a large structure for tourists. Its tourist center is just 2 km from the sea.

In addition to living from tourism, the city is an important fishing point. Portimão borders on the south with the Atlantic Ocean. It thus has the title of third port at the national level which receives the greatest number of passengers, who arrive by cruise ships.

The city center

The small town, despite being the second most populous in the Algarve, is only appreciated when summer arrives. The streets in the center are all in typical Portuguese stone with some patterns and figures.

Among the tourist spots in the center are the Jesuit Convent, the Portimão Town Hall building, the Church of Nossa Senhora da Conceição and the Portimão Museum, which has archaeological collections and underwater finds.

Beaches of Portimão

The Praia da Rocha is the main tourist attraction in the city. Its large rocks, whose shapes attract attention. These designs are formed by the erosion of the force of the sea and the wind. This beach, besides being famous, is one of the most beautiful in Portugal!

praia-da-rocha-portimao-turisme-portugal
Rocha beach in Portimão

Another recommended and beautiful beach is the Alemão beach. Its water is in shades of green and turquoise blue and very calm. Praia dos Três Castelos is another paradisiacal beach and to get there you have to go down the belvedere of the same name.

visit-portima-algarve-portugal-beaches-portugal-tourism (2)
Beaches in Portimão

All the beaches have good services, such as parking, restaurants, toilets, lifeguarding and in some of them you can even hire sun loungers.

visit-portima-algarve-portugal-beaches-portugal-tourism
Beaches in Portimão

Boat ride

If your visit to the Algarve is during the summer, be sure to take a boat trip and admire the caves and cliffs in the area. There are also trips to see dolphins that leave from Portimão Marina.

visit-portimao-algarve-portugal-beaches-boat-portugal-tourism
Boat ride

Sports in Portimão

The city is imbued with sport, not just one way, but several. It is in Portimão that the Mundialito de Beach Soccer takes place, known nationally. In addition to the Portuguese stage of the European Beach Soccer League.

Besides football, Portimão is also known for water sports such as surfing and kitesurfing. The Formula 1 motorboat championship also takes place in the city.

A break to eat

You are going to find many restaurants located by the sea that serve delicious seafood dishes considered a local specialty.

visit-portima-algarve-portugal-restaurantes-seafood-portugal-tourism
Seafood dish

 

How to get there ?

Portimão is very well served by different types of transport. Faro International Airport is 63 km away, there is an airfield in the city, a train station, a port for cruises, a marina and buses with national and international connections. Lisbon is almost 300 km from Portimão, which is also easily done by car.

visiter-portima-algarve-portugal-plages-falaise-portugal-tourisme

La ville de Portimão se situe à Faro (Algarve) et dispose d’une grande structure pour les touristes. Son centre touristique est à seulement 2 km de la mer.

En plus de vivre du tourisme, la ville est un important point de pêche. Portimão fait frontière au sud avec l’océan Atlantique. Il a ainsi le titre de troisième port au niveau national qui reçoit le plus grand nombre de passagers, qui arrivent par bateaux de croisière.

Le centre-ville

La petite ville, bien qu’elle soit la deuxième plus peuplée de l’Algarve, n’est appréciée que lorsque l’été arrive. Les rues du centre sont toutes en pierre portugaise typique avec quelques motifs et figures.

Parmi les points touristiques du centre, on peut citer le couvent des Jésuites, le bâtiment de la mairie de Portimão, l’église de Nossa Senhora da Conceição et le musée de Portimão, qui compte des collections archéologiques et des découvertes sous-marines.

Plages de Portimão

La Praia da Rocha est la principale attraction touristique de la ville. Ses gros rochers, dont les formes attirent l’attention. Ces dessins se forment par l’érosion de la force de la mer et du vent. Cette plage, en plus d’être célèbre, est l’une des plus belles du Portugal !

praia-da-rocha-portimao-turisme-portugal
Plage da Rocha à Portimão

Une autre plage recommandée et magnifique est la plage do Alemão. Son eau est dans les tons de vert et de bleu turquoise et très calme. Praia dos Três Castelos est une autre plage paradisiaque et pour y accéder il faut descendre le belvédère du même nom.

visiter-portima-algarve-portugal-plages-portugal-tourisme (2)
Des plages à Portimão

Toutes les plages disposent de bons services, comme un parking, des restaurants, des toilettes, une surveillance et dans certaines d’entre elles, vous pouvez même louer des chaises longues.

visiter-portima-algarve-portugal-plages-portugal-tourisme
Des plages à Portimão

Promenade en bateau

Si votre visite en Algarve a lieu pendant l’été, ne manquez pas de faire une excursion en bateau et d’admirer les grottes et les falaises de la région. Il y a aussi des excursions pour voir les dauphins qui partent de la Marina de Portimão.

visiter-portimao-algarve-portugal-plages-bateau-portugal-tourisme
Promenade en bateau

Sports à Portimão

La ville s’imprègne du sport, non pas d’une seule modalité, mais de plusieurs. C’est à Portimão que se déroule le Mundialito de Beach Soccer, connu au niveau national. En plus de l’étape portugaise de la Ligue européenne de Beach Soccer.

Outre le football, Portimão est également connu pour les sports nautiques tels que le surf et le kitesurf. Le championnat de formule 1 en motonautique se déroule également dans la ville.

Une pause pour manger

Vous allez trouver de nombreux restaurants situés au bord de la mer qui servent de délicieux plats de fruits de mer considérés comme une spécialité locale.

visiter-portima-algarve-portugal-restaurantes-fruits-de-mer-portugal-tourisme
Plat de fruit de mer

 

Comment s’y rendre ?

Portimão est très bien desservie par différents types de transport. L’aéroport international de Faro est à 63 km, il y a un aérodrome dans la ville, une gare ferroviaire, un port pour les croisières, une marina et des bus avec des liaisons nationales et internationales. Lisbonne est à près de 300 km de Portimão, ce qui se fait aussi facilement en voiture.