What is the Portuguese tax regime for French retirees?

Since 2009, European retirees have benefited, by virtue of an agreement between Portugal and their country of origin, from a tax exemption on their income (pensions and dividends) generated outside Portugal. And this for ten years. For this, they must not have resided in Portugal during the last five years and must remain there (as tenant or owner) at least 183 days (consecutive or not) per year. Under these conditions, they benefit from the status of non-habitual resident. At the end of these ten years, a progressive tax regime is put in place. With a maximum rate of 56,5% above 250.000 euros of income.

What is the Portuguese government planning?

Pensions received outside Portugal will no longer be exempt and will be taxed at 10%. In contrast, investor income should continue to be taxed at 20%. "This is not the end of the Portuguese fiscal El Dorado," says Cécile Gonçalves. The country remains attractive with a cost of living 25 to 30% lower than in France. ”

Above all, this measure puts an end to a threat that weighed on the country. “Portugal is freed from a sword of Damocles. Some countries, such as Finland and Sweden, have revised their bilateral tax treaties with Portugal and others, such as France, might have been tempted to do so, ”reveals Cécile Gonçalves.

Are foreigners already installed concerned?

No, only foreigners who settle in Portugal once the government measure has been validated will be concerned. Anyone already residing in Portugal will continue to be exempt. Since the creation of this advantageous tax regime in 2009, it is estimated that around 30.000 foreigners, including 10.000 French, the number of individuals who benefit from the status of non-habitual resident.

Will real estate prices go down?

Lower, no, slow down, yes. Increases of 4% to 5% are expected for 2020 in Portugal and 3% in 2021. According to its detractors, the tax regime for foreigners has resulted in higher prices, especially in Lisbon and Porto, forcing them Portuguese to leave the city center to settle on the outskirts. “Out of 170.000 goods sold per year in Portugal, only 30.000 are acquired by foreigners, or less than a fifth. But it is true that they mainly buy luxury properties located in regions where the land price is among the highest in the country ”, retorts Cécile Gonçalves.

Quel est le régime fiscal du Portugal pour les retraités français ?

Depuis 2009, les retraités européens bénéficient, en vertu d’une convention entre le Portugal et leur pays d’origine, d’une exonération fiscale sur leurs revenus (pensions et dividendes) générés hors du Portugal. Et ce, pour dix ans. Pour cela, ils ne doivent pas avoir résidé au Portugal au cours des cinq dernières années et doivent y demeurer (comme locataire ou propriétaire) au moins 183 jours (consécutifs ou pas) par an. À ces conditions, ils bénéficient du statut de résident non habituel. À l’issue de ces dix ans, un régime progressif d’imposition est mis en place. Avec un taux maximal de 56,5% au-delà de 250.000 euros de revenus.

Que prévoit le gouvernement portugais ?

Les pensions perçues en dehors du Portugal ne seront plus exonérées et seront imposées à hauteur de 10%. En revanche, les revenus des investisseurs devraient continuer d’être taxés à 20%. «Ce n’est pas la fin de l’eldorado fiscal portugais, affirme Cécile Gonçalves. Le pays reste attractif avec un coût de la vie inférieur de 25 à 30% par rapport à la France.»

Surtout, cette mesure met fin à une menace qui pesait sur le pays. «Le Portugal se libère d’une épée de Damoclès. Certains pays, comme la Finlande et la Suède, ont revu leur convention fiscale bilatérale avec le Portugal et d’autres, comme la France, auraient pu être tentés de le faire», dévoile Cécile Gonçalves.

Les étrangers déjà installés sont-ils concernés ?

Non, seuls les étrangers qui s’installent au Portugal une fois la mesure gouvernementale validée seront concernés. Tous ceux qui résident déjà au Portugal continueront d’être exonérés. Depuis la création de ce régime fiscal avantageux en 2009, on estime à environ 30.000 étrangers, dont 10.000 Français, le nombre de particuliers qui bénéficient du statut de résident non habituel.

Les prix de l’immobilier vont-ils baisser ?

Baisser, non, ralentir, oui. Des hausses de 4% à 5% sont attendues pour 2020 au Portugal et de 3% en 2021. Selon ses détracteurs, le régime fiscal pour les étrangers a eu pour conséquence de faire grimper les prix, notamment à Lisbonne et à Porto, obligeant les Portugais à quitter le centre-ville pour s’installer en périphérie. «Sur 170.000 biens vendus par an au Portugal, seulement 30.000 sont acquis par des étrangers, soit moins d’un cinquième. Mais il est vrai qu’ils achètent surtout des biens luxueux situés dans des régions où le prix foncier est parmi les plus élevés du pays», rétorque Cécile Gonçalves.