1-1-e1669908198824-png

Novo Banco: Supreme rejects request to make Costa Pinto report public

The Supreme Court of Justice (STJ) rejected the request of the parliamentary commission of inquiry to Novo Banco to make public the Costa Pinto report, which assessed Banco de Portugal's conduct in the BES resolution.

According to the judgment of the judges of the STJ, to which Lusa had access, "what is really at stake in this procedure is the lifting of secrecy" of the possible parliamentary commission of inquiry into the losses recorded by Novo Banco and charged to the Resolution Fund and “the manner and conditions under which it may be used” the document.

"However, these are issues beyond the incident of the breach of secrecy" invoked by the commission, believe the judges, since this incident stems, for example, from a refusal to share documents, "and whose sole purpose is to overcome this refusal. ”.

In the court's opinion, this did not happen because “the report was not only made available to deputies” by the Banco de Portugal, “but also because it was voluntarily made available to the deputies”. arrangement ".

Thus, the judges consider the request of the commission of inquiry "rejected, either because the respective legal hypotheses have been verified, or because, in any event, it relates to an object which was excluded from the competence of the STJ ”.

The court observed, however, that despite the fact that the breach of secrecy did not occur, the commission of inquiry was not "prevented from using the document for the purposes of its investigation and in the final report".

At the start of the parliamentary hearings of the commission of inquiry on March 10, President Fernando Negrão (PSD) announced the candidacy for the STJ.

"We will activate the mechanism at our disposal, which is an urgent appeal to the Supreme Court of Justice for the lifting of professional secrecy," said Fernando Negrão during the hearing of João Costa Pinto, author of the report which analyzes the conduct of the Bank of Portugal (BoP) in the BES resolution.

On April 20, the commission of inquiry into Novo Banco opened a "summary investigation" due to the dissemination in the media of the Costa Pinto report, which "was secret", aimed at verifying the breach of confidentiality and identifying its author.

On April 27, the chairman of the Novo Banco commission of inquiry transmitted to the President of the Assembly of the Republic, Ferro Rodrigues, the decision on who will lead the summary investigation into the publication of the Costa Pinto report, claiming to be in the same position as the other members of the committee.

JE / JF // CSJ

Recent Posts

La Cour suprême de justice (STJ) a rejeté la demande de la commission d’enquête parlementaire à Novo Banco de rendre public le rapport Costa Pinto, qui évaluait la conduite de Banco de Portugal dans la résolution de BES.

Selon le jugement des juges du STJ, auquel Lusa a eu accès, « ce qui est vraiment en jeu dans cette procédure, c’est la levée du secret » de l’éventuelle commission d’enquête parlementaire sur les pertes enregistrées par Novo Banco et imputées au Fonds de résolution et « la manière et les conditions dans lesquelles il peut être utilisé » le document.

« Il s’agit cependant d’enjeux au-delà de l’incident de la rupture du secret » invoqué par la commission, estiment les juges, puisque cet incident découle, par exemple, d’un refus de partager des documents, « et qui a pour seul but de surmonter ce refus. ”.

De l’avis du tribunal, cela ne s’est pas produit parce que « le rapport n’a pas seulement été mis à la disposition des députés » par le Banco de Portugal, « mais aussi parce qu’il a été volontairement mis à disposition ».

Ainsi, les juges considèrent la demande de la commission d’enquête « rejetée, soit parce que les hypothèses juridiques respectives ont été vérifiées, soit parce que, en tout état de cause, elle porte sur un objet qui a été soustrait à la compétence du STJ ».

Le tribunal observe cependant que malgré le fait que la violation du secret ne se produise pas, la commission d’enquête n’est pas « empêchée d’utiliser le document aux fins de son enquête et dans le rapport final ».

Au début des auditions parlementaires de la commission d’enquête, le 10 mars, le président Fernando Negrão (PSD) a annoncé la candidature au STJ.

« Nous allons activer le mécanisme dont nous disposons, qui est un appel urgent à la Cour suprême de justice pour la levée du secret professionnel », a déclaré Fernando Negrão lors de l’audition de João Costa Pinto, auteur du rapport qui analyse la conduite de la Banque du Portugal (BdP) dans la résolution BES.

Le 20 avril, la commission d’enquête sur Novo Banco a ouvert une « enquête sommaire » en raison de la diffusion dans les médias du rapport Costa Pinto, qui « était secret », visant à vérifier la violation de la confidentialité et à identifier son auteur.

Le 27 avril, le président de la commission d’enquête de Novo Banco a transmis au président de l’Assemblée de la République, Ferro Rodrigues, la décision sur qui dirigera l’enquête sommaire sur la publication du rapport Costa Pinto, affirmant être dans le même position que les autres députés de la commission.

JE/JF // CSJ