The projects of writer Luísa Costa Gomes, artist Alexandre Farto (Vhils) and director Luís Filipe Rocha are among the ten winners of the competition promoted by the Netflix platform with the ICA, the institute announced today.

The ten winning projects of the support for writing arguments for authors in Portugal, promoted by the Netflix platform with the Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual (ICA) were announced today on the official website of this institution , under the supervision of the Ministry of Culture.

"Paradoxa" (fiction), by Luísa Costa Gomes, "Paredes Brancas, Povo Mundo" (documentary), by Alexandre Farto (Vhils), André Costa, Catarina Crua and Ricardo Oliveira, and "Barranco dos Cegos" (fiction), by Luís Filipe Rocha, are three of the projects supported with six thousand euros.

In addition to these three, they are supported by six thousand euros (“Cleptocracia” (fiction), by João Brandão, and “This is not a kanga” (documentary), by João Nuno Pinto, Fernanda Polacow and Bruno Morais Cabral).

The five remaining winning projects will be supported to the tune of 25 thousand euros: “Finisterra” (fiction), by Guilherme Branquinho and Leone Niel, “My name is Jorge: A redemption story” (documentary), by Sofia Pinto Coelho, “O Chefe Jacob ”(fiction), by Raquel Palermo and João Lacerda Matos,“ Rabo de Peixe ”(fiction), by Augusto Fraga, Marcos Castiel and André Szankowski, and“ Victoria ”(fiction), by Dinis M. Costa.

According to information published by the ICA in June, 1 projects were admitted to this competition, identified at the time with only the title - there were 198 untitled - without identification of the respective author.

The partnership between the ICA and Netflix, announced last April, supports to the tune of 155 thousand euros "the ten best projects" of fiction or documentary series, presented by "screenwriters and authors residing in Portugal".

According to the regulations, there was a preselection by a Portuguese jury, but it was the Netflix platform that selected the projects to be funded, allocating 25 thousand euros to each of the first five and six thousand euros to each of the others.

The jury that shortlisted the projects included Netflix Content Director Verónica Fernández, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation Communication Assistant, Luís Proença, writer Possidónio Cachapa, journalist Isabel Lucas and director Jorge Paixão da Costa.

This financial support was announced at a time when the audiovisual sector was also practically paralyzed due to the covid-19 pandemic, with the postponement or cancellation of filming, which is slowly resuming.

JRS (SS) // TDI

Les projets de l'écrivain Luísa Costa Gomes, de l'artiste Alexandre Farto (Vhils) et du réalisateur Luís Filipe Rocha font partie des dix lauréats du concours promu par la plateforme Netflix avec l'ICA, a annoncé cet institut aujourd'hui.

Les dix projets gagnants du concours de soutien à la rédaction d'arguments pour les auteurs au Portugal, promu par la plateforme Netflix avec l'Instituto do Cinema e do Audiovisual (ICA) ont été annoncés aujourd'hui sur le site officiel de cette institution, sous la tutelle du ministère de la Culture.

«Paradoxa» (fiction), de Luísa Costa Gomes, «Paredes Brancas, Povo Mundo» (documentaire), d'Alexandre Farto (Vhils), André Costa, Catarina Crua et Ricardo Oliveira, et «Barranco dos Cegos» (fiction), par Luís Filipe Rocha, sont trois des projets soutenus avec six mille euros.

En plus de ces trois, ils sont soutenus par six mille euros «Cleptocracia» (fiction), de João Brandão, et «This is not a kanga» (documentaire), de João Nuno Pinto, Fernanda Polacow et Bruno Morais Cabral).

Les cinq projets gagnants restants seront soutenus à hauteur de 25 mille euros: «Finisterra» (fiction), de Guilherme Branquinho et Leone Niel, «My name is Jorge: A redemption story» (documentaire), de Sofia Pinto Coelho, «O Chefe Jacob» (fiction), de Raquel Palermo et João Lacerda Matos, «Rabo de Peixe» (fiction), d'Augusto Fraga, Marcos Castiel et André Szankowski, et «Victoria» (fiction), de Dinis M. Costa.

Selon les informations publiées par l'ICA en juin, 1 198 projets ont été admis à ce concours, identifiés à l'époque avec uniquement le titre – il y en avait 18 sans titre -, sans identification de l'auteur respectif.

Le partenariat entre l'ICA et Netflix, annoncé en avril dernier, soutient à hauteur de 155 milliers d'euros «les dix meilleurs projets» de fiction ou de séries documentaires, présentés par des «scénaristes et auteurs résidant au Portugal».

Selon le règlement, il y a eu une présélection par un jury portugais, mais c'est la plateforme Netflix qui a sélectionné les projets à financer, allouant 25 mille euros à chacun des cinq premiers et six mille euros à chacun des autres.

Le jury qui a présélectionné les projets comprenait la directrice du contenu de Netflix, Verónica Fernández, l'assistante de communication de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Luís Proença, l'écrivain Possidónio Cachapa, la journaliste Isabel Lucas et le réalisateur Jorge Paixão da Costa.

Ce soutien financier a été annoncé à un moment où le secteur audiovisuel était également pratiquement paralysé en raison de la pandémie de covid-19, avec le report ou l'annulation des tournages, qui reprennent lentement.

JRS (SS) // TDI

Le contenu Projets de Luísa Costa Gomes et Vhils parmi les gagnants du concours Netflix / ICA apparaît en premier dans Visão.