1-1-e1669908198824-png
the-competitiveness-forum-predicts-a-recession-or-a-

The Competitiveness Forum predicts a recession or "very modest growth" of the Portuguese economy in 2023

🇧🇷[…] the truth is that the fourth quarter presents a certain ambiguity, which will probably disappear in the following quarter”, reads the November economic note from the Forum for Competitiveness, published today, according to which “the 'somewhat surprising development in private consumption' in the third quarter – which accelerated from 0,7% to 1,1% on-chain, despite rising prices and sharply falling wages in real terms – “suggests, to on the one hand, that the savings rate drops and, on the other hand, that it will not be sustainable”.

According to the Forum, “so-called 'soft' indicators, such as confidence, have deteriorated, with only an apparent recovery in November”.

"The few 'hard' indicators are almost all down, with the notable exception of light passenger vehicle sales, noting that private consumption has shown surprising resilience, with consumption of durable goods accelerating by 1,9. 2,1% to XNUMX% in chain, from the second to the third quarter, ”he adds.

In addition to these data, the Forum points to "additional information on the family aid package, delivered in October, which will have distributed around 730 million euros to active people and around 1 billion to retirees" and which may contradict, "in part , the “general slowdown effect” expected for the fourth quarter.

“It seems that most pensioners have realized that this is an advance on next year's increase, in addition to realizing that their pensions will suffer losses, so there is a probability that part of what they receive be saved so that they can meet next year's expenses,” he says.

“All this – he believes – makes the evolution of the fourth quarter uncertain, even if it is almost certain that a deterioration will follow in the following quarters”.

For 2023, the Forum for Competitiveness stresses that "a further fall in real wages is probable, as the rise in nominal wages cannot keep up with the rise in prices", considering that "this fall, associated with an equally probable fall in the employment, should contribute to a major moderation in private consumption, which has shown surprising and unsustainable dynamism”.

“Investment prospects can only be negative, given the expected development of demand, rising interest rates and credit spreads,” he argues.

Regarding exports, the Forum indicates that they are “very conditioned by the weakened external environment and the fact that the recovery of tourism is complete, losing this additional element of growth”.

“In summary, the year 2023 is surrounded by great uncertainty, which can result either in a recession of the Portuguese economy or in very modest growth,” he concludes.

In the current context of sharply rising prices and rising interest rates, the Competitiveness Forum also warns that "delays in the execution of the PRR [Plano de Recuperação e Resiliência] should be particularly damaging", stressing that "the funds are fixed in nominal terms, so the later they are executed, the less investment they will finance”.

Led by businessman Pedro Ferraz da Costa, the Forum for Competitiveness sees itself as “an institution active in promoting increased competitiveness in Portugal, through incentives for the development of productivity in companies”.

PD // EA

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
le-forum-pour-la-competitivite-prevoit-une-recession-ou-une

Le Forum pour la compétitivité prévoit une récession ou une « croissance très modeste » de l’économie portugaise en 2023

🇧🇷[…] la vérité est que le quatrième trimestre présente une certaine ambiguïté, qui disparaîtra probablement au trimestre suivant », lit-on dans la note de conjoncture de novembre du Forum pour la compétitivité, publiée aujourd’hui, selon laquelle « l’évolution quelque peu surprenante de la consommation privée » au troisième trimestre – qui a accéléré de 0,7 % à 1,1 % en chaîne, malgré la hausse des prix et la forte baisse des salaires en termes réels – « suggère, d’une part, que le taux d’épargne baisse et, d’autre part, que ce ne sera pas durable ».

Selon le Forum, « les indicateurs dits ‘soft’, comme la confiance, se sont détériorés, avec seulement une reprise apparente en novembre ».

« Les quelques indicateurs « durs » sont presque tous en baisse, à l’exception notable des ventes de véhicules particuliers légers, notant que la consommation privée a fait preuve d’une résilience surprenante, avec une consommation de biens durables qui accélère de 1,9 % à 2,1 % en chaîne, du deuxième au troisième quart-temps », ajoute-t-il.

Outre ces données, le Forum pointe « des informations complémentaires sur le paquet d’aides aux familles, livré en octobre, qui aura distribué environ 730 millions d’euros aux actifs et environ 1 milliard aux retraités » et qui peuvent contredire, « en partie » , l’« effet de ralentissement général » prévu pour le quatrième trimestre.

« Il semble que la plupart des retraités se soient rendus compte qu’il s’agit d’une avance sur l’augmentation de l’année prochaine, en plus de prendre conscience que leurs pensions subiront des pertes, il y a donc une probabilité qu’une partie de ce qu’ils recevront soit épargnée pour pouvoir faire face à les dépenses de l’année prochaine », dit-il.

« Tout cela – estime-t-il – rend l’évolution du quatrième trimestre incertaine, même s’il est presque certain qu’une détérioration suivra dans les trimestres suivants ».

Pour 2023, le Forum pour la compétitivité souligne qu' »une nouvelle baisse des salaires réels est probable, la hausse des salaires nominaux ne pouvant suivre la hausse des prix », considérant que « cette baisse, associée à une baisse également probable baisse de l’emploi, devrait contribuer à une grande modération de la consommation privée, qui a fait preuve d’un dynamisme surprenant et insoutenable ».

« Les perspectives d’investissement ne peuvent être que négatives, compte tenu de l’évolution attendue de la demande, de la hausse des taux d’intérêt et des spreads de crédit », soutient-il.

Concernant les exportations, le Forum indique qu’elles sont « très conditionnées par l’environnement extérieur fragilisé et le fait que la reprise du tourisme est complète, perdant cet élément supplémentaire de croissance ».

« En résumé, l’année 2023 est entourée d’une grande incertitude, qui peut se traduire soit par une récession de l’économie portugaise, soit par une croissance très modeste », conclut-il.

Dans le contexte actuel de forte hausse des prix et de hausse des taux d’intérêt, le Forum Compétitivité prévient également que « les retards dans l’exécution du PRR [Plano de Recuperação e Resiliência] devrait être particulièrement dommageable », soulignant que « les fonds sont fixés en termes nominaux, donc plus ils sont exécutés tard, moins ils financeront d’investissements ».

Dirigé par l’homme d’affaires Pedro Ferraz da Costa, le Forum pour la compétitivité se considère comme « une institution active dans la promotion d’une compétitivité accrue au Portugal, à travers des incitations au développement de la productivité dans les entreprises ».

PD // EA

Articles récents