A source from the District Relief Operations Command (CDOS) in Vila Real told Lusa that the fire was considered under control as of 21:30 p.m.

At 20:00 p.m., in a statement to reporters, the commander of the Vila Real Relief Operations District (CODIS), Miguel Fonseca, had anticipated that the “situation was much calmer”, that “things went as planned. and that the fire could soon be brought under control.

Throughout the day, various aerial assets and tracked machines assisted operators in the field.

During the night, there will be a repositioning of resources and a "massive presence" of men will be maintained in consolidation, post-coup and surveillance operations".

On Saturday, according to Miguel Fonseca, there will also be a "very strong presence of agents" to prevent reactivations.

According to the municipality, Vila Pouca de Aguiar has lost around 4 hectares of pine forest, bush and agricultural crops in the two major fires that have raged in the municipality in the last two weeks, with a high financial loss for the populations. local.

“With very significant losses. We are talking about a very important area of ​​mature pine forest, with pines over 20 years old and many of these areas with recent interventions, but which were not sufficient, due to the winds we had, to prevent the spread of the fire,” said the mayor of Vila Pouca de Aguiar, Alberto Machado.

According to the website of the National Rescue and Civil Protection Authority (ANEPC), the fire mobilized, at 21:45 p.m., 317 operational and 93 vehicles and nine air assets.

The alert to this fire was given at 17:14 p.m. Wednesday, in Revel, and, in a short time, there was a great mobilization of resources for this event which experienced very rapid progression in the pine forest and even advanced on three foreheads.

Miguel Fonseca said the fight was made difficult by weather conditions, high temperatures during the day and strong winds with constant variations.

“Overnight we found opportunities for consolidation, but there were also wind shifts the last two nights which also made the process difficult,” he said.

This is the second major fire in a week in this county. The fire that broke out on July 17 in Cortinhas, Murça, progressed to Vila Pouca de Aguiar and burned a large area of ​​pines and bushes, more chestnut groves, vineyards and pastures.

DMC/PLI // RBF

Une source du District Relief Operations Command (CDOS) de Vila Real a déclaré à l’agence Lusa que l’incendie était considéré comme maîtrisé à 21h30.

A 20h00, dans une déclaration aux journalistes, le commandant du district des opérations de secours de Vila Real (CODIS), Miguel Fonseca, avait anticipé que la « situation était beaucoup plus calme », ​​que « les choses se sont déroulées comme prévu » et que l’incendie pourrait bientôt maîtrisé.

Tout au long de la journée, divers moyens aériens et machines à chenilles ont aidé les opérateurs sur le terrain.

Dans la nuit, il y aura un repositionnement des moyens et une « présence massive » d’hommes sera maintenue dans des opérations de consolidation, d’après-coup et de surveillance ».

Samedi, selon Miguel Fonseca, il y aura également une « très forte présence d’agents » pour empêcher les réactivations.

Selon la municipalité, Vila Pouca de Aguiar a perdu environ 4 000 hectares de pinède, de brousse et de cultures agricoles dans les deux incendies majeurs qui ont fait rage dans la municipalité au cours des deux dernières semaines, avec une perte financière élevée pour les populations locales.

« Avec des pertes très importantes. Nous parlons d’une zone très importante de forêt de pins matures, avec des pins de plus de 20 ans et beaucoup de ces zones avec des interventions récentes, mais qui n’étaient pas suffisantes, en raison des vents que nous avons eus, pour empêcher la propagation de la incendie », a déclaré le maire de Vila Pouca de Aguiar, Alberto Machado.

Selon le site internet de l’Autorité nationale de secours et de protection civile (ANEPC), le feu a mobilisé, à 21h45, 317 opérationnels et 93 véhicules et neuf moyens aériens.

L’alerte à cet incendie a été donnée à 17h14 mercredi, à Revel, et, en peu de temps, il y a eu une grande mobilisation des moyens pour cet événement qui a connu une progression très rapide dans la pinède et même avancé sur trois fronts.

Miguel Fonseca a déclaré que le combat avait été rendu difficile par les conditions météorologiques, les températures élevées pendant la journée et les vents forts avec des variations constantes.

« Pendant la nuit, nous avons trouvé des opportunités de consolidation, mais il y a aussi eu des variations de vent ces deux dernières nuits, ce qui a également rendu le processus difficile », a-t-il déclaré.

Il s’agit du deuxième incendie majeur en une semaine dans ce comté. L’incendie qui s’est déclaré le 17 juillet à Cortinhas, Murça, a progressé jusqu’à Vila Pouca de Aguiar et a brûlé une vaste zone de pins et de buissons, encore des châtaigneraies, des vignes et des pâturages.

DMC/PLI // RBF