“Under the terms of the contract, the regional orchestra has the obligation to present a quarterly report of activities and accounts. It is only after the presentation of this document that the DGARTES is contractually entitled to pay the quarterly alimony", reads a clarification sent to Lusa, indicating that "the Orquestra Regional do Norte has not presented the aforementioned report for the first quarter of the year 2022. ”.

According to the DGARTES, "this is the only reason for the late payment, unlike what happens in the other two regional orchestras - Orquestra Filarmonia das Beiras and Orquestra Clássica do Sul - in which the situations are regularized and the payments made". .

On Tuesday, a source from the managing body of the Orquestra do Norte, based in Amarante, indicated that 34 musicians had salary arrears for April and May.

The executive director of the Associação Norte Cultural, which oversees the orchestra, said the situation was due to cash flow difficulties which were being resolved.

According to José Bastos, the current model of state support, through the Directorate General for the Arts, which he considers "unsuited to reality", provides that the association's treasury will anticipate the payment of the salaries of its workers.

“You have to have the ability to generate income, to be able to anticipate the payment of salaries. Only then are we reimbursed for this amount,” he explained.

He then mentioned that "the conditions are only met now to proceed with the reimbursement request" for the first quarter of the year, which, "in the long term, will make it possible to pay the cash income for the months of April and May. ".

In the clarification of the guardianship sent today to Lusa, it is mentioned that "the management of public funding granted to regional orchestras, which is intended to support their activities and their functioning, is the responsibility of the management of the respective orchestras".

This general direction "hopes that this difficulty will be quickly overcome by the importance that the regional orchestras have in culture in Portugal from a strategic point of view, in the guarantee that they offer in the access of the population to the creation and the enjoyment of quality classical music”.

On the other hand, the director and administration of the Orquestra do Norte and the respective working committee are aware of the continuous support that DGARTES has given to the aforementioned orchestra.

The Norte Cultural Association was founded in 1992, having as founding members the municipal councils of Alijó, Bragança, Vila Real, Guimarães, Vieira do Minho, Póvoa de Lanhoso, Montalegre, Terras de Bouro, Torre de Moncorvo, Caminha, Chaves and Fafa.

The Casa de Mateus Foundation, the Cupertino de Miranda Foundation and some citizens were also among the founders of the association.

APM//LIL

« Aux termes du contrat, l’orchestre régional a l’obligation de présenter un rapport trimestriel d’activités et de comptes. Ce n’est qu’après la présentation de ce document que la DGARTES est contractuellement habilitée à payer la pension alimentaire trimestrielle », lit-on dans une clarification envoyée à Lusa, indiquant que « l’Orquestra Regional do Norte n’a pas présenté le rapport susmentionné pour le premier trimestre de l’année 2022. ”.

Selon la DGARTES, « c’est la seule raison du retard de paiement, contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les deux autres orchestres régionaux – Orquestra Filarmonia das Beiras et Orquestra Clássica do Sul – dans lesquels les situations sont régularisées et les paiements effectués ».

Mardi, une source de l’entité gestionnaire de l’Orquestra do Norte, basée à Amarante, a indiqué que 34 musiciens avaient des arriérés de salaire pour avril et mai.

Le directeur exécutif de l’Associação Norte Cultural, qui supervise l’orchestre, a déclaré que la situation était due à des difficultés de trésorerie qui étaient en train d’être résolues.

Selon José Bastos, le modèle actuel de soutien de l’État, par l’intermédiaire de la Direction générale des arts, qu’il juge « inadapté à la réalité », prévoit que la trésorerie de l’association anticipera le paiement des salaires de ses travailleurs.

« Il faut avoir la capacité de générer des revenus, de pouvoir anticiper le paiement des salaires. Ce n’est qu’alors que nous sommes remboursés de ce montant », a-t-il expliqué.

Il a ensuite évoqué que « les conditions ne sont réunies que maintenant pour procéder à la demande de remboursement » du premier trimestre de l’année, qui, « à terme, permettra de payer les revenus de trésorerie des mois d’avril et de mai ».

Dans la clarification de la tutelle envoyée aujourd’hui à Lusa, il est mentionné que « la gestion des financements publics accordés aux orchestres régionaux, qui sont destinés à soutenir leurs activités et leur fonctionnement, relève de la responsabilité des directions des orchestres respectifs ».

Cette direction générale « espère que cette difficulté sera rapidement surmontée par l’importance que les orchestres régionaux ont dans la culture au Portugal d’un point de vue stratégique, dans la garantie qu’ils offrent dans l’accès de la population à la création et à la jouissance d’une musique classique de qualité » .

D’autre part, le directeur et l’administration de l’Orquestra do Norte et le comité de travail respectif sont conscients du soutien continu que la DGARTES a apporté à l’orchestre susmentionné.

L’Association culturelle Norte a été fondée en 1992, ayant comme membres fondateurs les conseils municipaux d’Alijó, Bragança, Vila Real, Guimarães, Vieira do Minho, Póvoa de Lanhoso, Montalegre, Terras de Bouro, Torre de Moncorvo, Caminha, Chaves et Fafe.

La Fondation Casa de Mateus, la Fondation Cupertino de Miranda et quelques citoyens faisaient également partie des fondateurs de l’association.

APM//LIL