This common position of António Costa and Pedro Sánchez is contained in a joint message that both published on the social network Twitter, after the European Commission approved the Iberian temporary mechanism to limit the price of gas in the production of electricity until 2023.

“The European Commission has approved the Iberian mechanism which sets a cap on the price of gas used for electricity production in Spain and Portugal. A long way for both countries to protect businesses and families from rising prices,” wrote the heads of government of Portugal and Spain.

The EU executive said that under EU state aid rules, a Spanish and Portuguese measure worth 8,4 billion euros had been approved to reduce prices wholesale electricity in the Iberian market by reducing the production costs of fossil fuel power plants.

This is the temporary mechanism in the Iberian Peninsula aimed at limiting the average price of gas in the production of electricity, to around 50 euros per megawatt hour (MWh), which has been requested by Portugal and Spain due of the energy crisis and Ukraine, which has increased the pressure on the energy market.

According to Brussels, the mechanism will be in force until May 31, 2023, representing Portuguese state support of €2,1 billion and Spanish state support of €6,3 billion in payments via direct subsidies to electricity producers in order to finance part of its costs. with fossil fuels, since in the current configuration of the European market it is the price of gas that dictates that of light.

The daily fee will be calculated on the basis of the difference between the market price of natural gas and a ceiling of this amount fixed on average at 48,8 euros/MWh during the 12-month duration of the measure.

In mid-May, Lisbon and Madrid approved, in the Council of Ministers, this temporary emergency mechanism for the Iberian Peninsula, at a time of the energy crisis accentuated by the effects of the war in Ukraine on supply chains , which was requested weeks later in Brussels. .

Previously, at the end of April, the Portuguese and Spanish governments had reached a political agreement with the European Commission for the establishment of a temporary mechanism which will allow the average price of gas to be fixed at 50 euros per MWh.

The institution recognizes, in the information published today, that "the Spanish and Portuguese economies are suffering from a serious disturbance", so that the current situation justifies "temporary emergency measures which reduce the market prices of the 'electricity for businesses and consumers, which do not affect commercial conditions to an extent contrary to the common interest', as approved by the European Council, which recognized the specificity of the Iberian energy market, given the limited interconnections.

PMF (ANE) // JPS

Cette position commune d’António Costa et Pedro Sánchez est contenue dans un message commun que tous deux ont publié sur le réseau social Twitter, après que la Commission européenne a approuvé le mécanisme temporaire ibérique pour limiter le prix du gaz dans la production d’électricité jusqu’en 2023.

« La Commission européenne a approuvé le mécanisme ibérique qui fixe un plafond sur le prix du gaz utilisé pour la production d’électricité en Espagne et au Portugal. Un long chemin parcouru par les deux pays pour protéger les entreprises et les familles de la hausse des prix », ont écrit les chefs de gouvernement du Portugal et de l’Espagne.

L’exécutif communautaire a indiqué qu’en vertu des règles de l’Union européenne en matière d’aides d’État, une mesure espagnole et portugaise d’une valeur de 8,4 milliards d’euros avait été approuvée pour réduire les prix de gros de l’électricité sur le marché ibérique en réduisant les coûts de production des centrales électriques à combustibles fossiles.

Il s’agit du mécanisme temporaire dans la péninsule ibérique visant à limiter le prix moyen du gaz dans la production d’électricité, à environ 50 euros par mégawattheure (MWh), ce qui a été demandé par le Portugal et l’Espagne en raison de la crise énergétique et l’Ukraine, ce qui a accru la pression sur le marché de l’énergie.

Selon Bruxelles, le mécanisme sera en vigueur jusqu’au 31 mai 2023, représentant un soutien de l’État portugais de 2,1 milliards d’euros et un soutien de l’État espagnol de 6,3 milliards d’euros en paiements via des subventions directes aux producteurs d’électricité pour, ainsi, financer une partie de ses coûts. avec les énergies fossiles, puisque dans la configuration actuelle du marché européen c’est le prix du gaz qui dicte celui de la lumière.

La redevance journalière sera calculée sur la base de la différence entre le prix de marché du gaz naturel et un plafond de ce montant fixé en moyenne à 48,8 euros/MWh pendant la durée de 12 mois de la mesure.

Mi-mai, Lisbonne et Madrid ont approuvé, en Conseil des ministres, ce mécanisme d’urgence temporaire pour la péninsule ibérique, à l’heure de la crise énergétique accentuée par les effets de la guerre d’Ukraine sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement, qui a été demandé des semaines plus tard à Bruxelles. .

Auparavant, fin avril, les gouvernements portugais et espagnol étaient parvenus à un accord politique avec la Commission européenne pour la mise en place d’un mécanisme temporaire qui permettra de fixer le prix moyen du gaz à 50 euros par MWh.

L’institution reconnaît, dans les informations publiées aujourd’hui, que « les économies espagnole et portugaise souffrent d’une grave perturbation », de sorte que la situation actuelle justifie « des mesures d’urgence temporaires qui réduisent les prix du marché de l’électricité pour les entreprises et les consommateurs, qui n’affectent pas les conditions commerciales dans une mesure contraire à l’intérêt commun », tel qu’approuvé par le Conseil européen, qui a reconnu la spécificité du marché ibérique de l’énergie, compte tenu des interconnexions limitées.

PMF (ANE) // JPS