Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa was speaking to journalists in Braga, about the note of condolence he published today, in which he says that the greatest tribute that can be paid to the painter is "to assure , through interventions by public and private bodies, that part of Paula Rego's legacy will remain in Portugal".

“Fortunately, in recent times the Gulbenkian Foundation has purchased perhaps Paula Rego's most important works. This was done even at the end of his life, we know today, on the initiative of his son, Nick, and thanks to the understanding of the president of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Dr. Isabel Mota,” said he pointed out.

Then, the Head of State defended that "everything that can be done, complementing what Gulbenkian has already done, even in relation to works that are not the most emblematic, to have in Portugal in the future the testimony to what was a very rich life”. and a projection in the world, must be done".

The President of the Republic specified that “part of the works” of Paula Rego are, “not definitively, in a museum which is her museum in Cascais”, the Casa das Histórias.

“In the future, the state and private entities that can, should bring to Portugal or permanently keep in Portugal the greatest number of works by Paula Rego,” he added.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa made statements to the media following a visit to Maximinos Secondary School, in Braga, where he is for the Portugal Day celebrations, which officially start on Thursday morning.

The June 10 commemoration program will continue in London until June 12, with the participation of the President of the Republic and the Prime Minister, as well as the Portuguese community in the United Kingdom.

Paula Rego died today, aged 87, in London, where she lived.

On January 28 of this year, the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation announced the acquisition of Paula Rego's works "O Anjo", from 1998, and "O Banho Turco", from 1960.

According to a press release published at the time, "with this incorporation, the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation" has consolidated its international position as a private institution with the largest and most important collection of the artist, consisting of 37 works".

Isabel Mota, meanwhile, ceased her functions as president of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, a position currently held by António Feijó, since May 3.

Maria Paula Figueiroa Rego, born in Lisbon on January 26, 1935, in a family of republican and liberal tradition, began to draw from an early age, a talent recognized by the teachers of St. Julian's School, in Carcavelos, and left for the British capital at the age of 17, to study at the Slade School of Fine Art.

She received a grant from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation to research children's stories in 1975, and in London she met her future husband, the English artist Victor Willing, whose Paula Rego exhibited several times at the Casa das Histórias. , in Cascais.

Casa das Histórias, which opened in Cascais in 2009, a project by architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, with an important collection of works by the author, has featured exhibitions of his work and other artists, mainly Portuguese, with whom the painter had affinities.

In recent decades, Paula Rego has addressed political issues, such as the abuse of power, and social issues, such as abortion, among others, in the female universe. Her work was influenced by folk tales and literature, notably the writing of Eça de Queirós, which led her to paint paintings inspired by books such as 'A Relíquia' and 'O Primo Basílio'.

In 2010, she was ordained Official Dame of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Isabella II and received, in Lisbon, the prize for Portuguese personality of the year awarded by the Foreign Press Association in the Portugal.

To encourage young people to draw, the Paula Rego Prize was created in 2016, an annual prize awarded to students of the Faculty of Fine Arts in Lisbon.

Paula Rego received, in 1995, the insignia of Grand Officer of the Military Order of Sant'Iago da Espada, in 2004 the Grand Cross of the Military Order of Sant'Iago da Espada, and in 2011 the doctorate' honoris causa' by the Lisbon, a title he holds from several universities in the United Kingdom, such as Oxford and Roehampton.

In 2019, she received the Medal of Cultural Merit from the Ministry of Culture.

His work is represented in multiple public collections, both nationally and internationally.

In November 2021, Galeria 111, which has represented the painter in Portugal since the beginning of his career, also organized an exhibition in his honor, and the "relationship of friendship and complicity", entitled "Saudades", with 27 works that revisit it. artistic journey from the 1980s to more recent works from the painter's studio in London.

IEL (AG) // JPS

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa s’adressait aux journalistes à Braga, à propos de la note de condoléances qu’il a publiée aujourd’hui, dans laquelle il affirme que le plus grand hommage que l’on puisse rendre au peintre est « d’assurer, par des interventions d’organismes publics et privés, qu’une partie de l’héritage de Paula Rego restera au Portugal ».

« Heureusement, ces derniers temps, la Fondation Gulbenkian a acheté peut-être les œuvres les plus importantes de Paula Rego. Cela a été fait même à la fin de sa vie, nous le savons aujourd’hui, à l’initiative de son fils, Nick, et grâce à la compréhension de la présidente de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, le Dr Isabel Mota », a-t-il souligné.

Ensuite, le chef de l’Etat a défendu que « tout ce qui peut être fait, complétant ce que Gulbenkian a déjà fait, même par rapport à des oeuvres qui ne sont pas des plus emblématiques, pour avoir au Portugal à l’avenir le témoignage de ce qui fut une vie très riche ». et une projection dans le monde, doit se faire ».

Le président de la République a précisé qu' »une partie des oeuvres » de Paula Rego se trouvent, « pas définitivement, dans un musée qui est son musée à Cascais », la Casa das Histórias.

« À l’avenir, l’État et les entités privées qui peuvent, devraient apporter au Portugal ou conserver en permanence au Portugal le plus grand nombre d’œuvres de Paula Rego », a-t-il ajouté.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa a fait des déclarations aux médias à l’issue d’une visite à l’école secondaire Maximinos, à Braga, où il se trouve pour les célébrations de la Journée du Portugal, qui commencent officiellement jeudi matin.

Le programme de commémoration du 10 juin se poursuivra à Londres jusqu’au 12, avec la participation du président de la République et du Premier ministre, ainsi que de la communauté portugaise du Royaume-Uni.

Paula Rego est décédée aujourd’hui, à l’âge de 87 ans, à Londres, où elle vivait.

Le 28 janvier de cette année, la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian a annoncé l’acquisition des œuvres de Paula Rego « O Anjo », de 1998, et « O Banho Turco », de 1960.

Selon un communiqué publié à l’époque, « avec cette incorporation, la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian » a consolidé sa position internationale en tant qu’institution privée avec la plus grande et la plus importante collection de l’artiste, composée de 37 œuvres ».

Isabel Mota, quant à elle, a cessé ses fonctions de présidente de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, poste actuellement occupé par António Feijó, depuis le 3 mai.

Maria Paula Figueiroa Rego, née à Lisbonne le 26 janvier 1935, dans une famille de tradition républicaine et libérale, a commencé à dessiner dès son plus jeune âge, talent reconnu par les professeurs de l’école St. Julian’s School, à Carcavelos, et part pour la capitale britannique à l’âge de 17 ans, étudier à la Slade School of Fine Art.

Elle reçoit une bourse de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian pour faire des recherches sur les contes pour enfants en 1975, et à Londres, elle rencontre son futur mari, l’artiste anglais Victor Willing, dont Paula Rego expose à plusieurs reprises à la Casa das Histórias, à Cascais.

Casa das Histórias, qui a ouvert ses portes à Cascais en 2009, un projet de l’architecte Eduardo Souto de Moura, avec une importante collection d’œuvres de l’auteur, a présenté des expositions de son travail et d’autres artistes, principalement portugais, avec lesquels le peintre avait des affinités.

Au cours des dernières décennies, Paula Rego a abordé des questions politiques, telles que l’abus de pouvoir, et des questions sociales, telles que l’avortement, entre autres, dans l’univers féminin. Son travail a été influencé par les contes populaires et la littérature, notamment l’écriture d’Eça de Queirós, qui l’a amenée à peindre des peintures inspirées de livres tels que « A Relíquia » et « O Primo Basílio ».

En 2010, elle a été ordonnée Dame officielle de l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique par la reine Isabelle II et a reçu, à Lisbonne, le prix de la personnalité portugaise de l’année décerné par l’Association de la presse étrangère au Portugal.

Pour encourager les jeunes à dessiner, le Prix Paula Rego a été créé en 2016, un prix annuel décerné aux étudiants de la Faculté des Beaux-Arts de Lisbonne.

Paula Rego a reçu, en 1995, l’insigne de Grand Officier de l’Ordre Militaire de Sant’Iago da Espada, en 2004 la Grand-Croix de l’Ordre Militaire de Sant’Iago da Espada, et en 2011 le doctorat ‘honoris causa’ par le de Lisbonne, un titre qu’il détient de plusieurs universités au Royaume-Uni, comme Oxford et Roehampton.

En 2019, elle a reçu la Médaille du Mérite Culturel du Ministère de la Culture.

Son travail est représenté dans de multiples collections publiques, tant au niveau national qu’international.

En novembre 2021, Galeria 111, qui représente l’artiste peintre au Portugal depuis le début de sa carrière, a également organisé une exposition en son honneur, et la « relation d’amitié et de complicité », intitulée « Saudades », avec 27 œuvres qui la revisitent. parcours artistique des années 1980 aux œuvres plus récentes depuis l’atelier du peintre à Londres.

IEL (AG) // JPS