1-1-e1669908198824-png
21402138_VISAO-SAUDE-7778860-9752453-JPG

Experts recommend reviewing drug reimbursement system

The study, which involved more than 30 experts from different health fields, resulted in the development of 43 recommendations in areas such as governance, financing, human resources, medicines and other technologies, supply healthcare, population health and environmental sustainability.

In the field of drugs, experts consider that the drug reimbursement system includes "many additions and exceptions, in the form of deliberations, decrees and prescriptions", resulting in a "fragmented system, which does not favor the 'equity of access', an example of which is the expenditure of the Portuguese on medicines.

In addition to recommending a review of the reimbursement system, the experts also suggest improving equitable access to innovative medicines, considering that it is necessary to “move towards a more efficient regulatory framework”.

"Development and access to innovation have proven to be a time-consuming and bureaucratic process and it is necessary to respond to situations of great inequality of access to new medicines in Europe", they point out.

As part of the new pharmaceutical strategy for Europe, to overcome these delays in access, they defend the need for “a stable regulatory structure, but also adaptable, fast, efficient and competitive at the global level”.

"This translates into the adoption of concrete, transparent and measurable measures that result from a partnership between the pharmaceutical industry, the Member States, the institutions of the European Union and, in Portugal, the Portuguese government", suggest- them, highlighting the need for new approaches and payment models to fund new drugs.

They also say that "it is necessary to come to an understanding of the causes of delays and barriers to access, given the economic conditions of the countries", to find "collaborative solutions" which guarantee that patients are treated, in all European countries, with the best therapeutic solutions adapted to your state of health.

Experts also recommend that the adoption of new technologies be based on evidence-based medicine, emphasizing the need to focus on patient groups where gains can be seen and "stop using treatments with reduced efficacy". ".

They suggest encouraging the use of technologies on the basis of recognized cost-effectiveness, abandoning alternatives based exclusively on low prices, which “may not be those that generate the best results”.

For the panel of specialists, it is also necessary to guarantee proximity in terms of access to hospital medicines through home delivery or access to the nearest pharmacy, as is already the case in certain situations.

“During the pandemic, 'Operation Green Light' was presented as a transitional measure that should be continued. This measure has been of great added value for the health user with undeniable gains not only in terms of health, avoiding the interruption of therapy due to the difficulty of accessing it, but in time, it made it possible to save on travel expenses and to avoid absenteeism at work”, they recall.

The recommendations also include promoting Portugal as "a great center of excellence for biomedical innovation and clinical research", noting that clinical trials "allow free access to medicines, allow early access to innovation, the production of essential knowledge for the progress of clinical practice", in addition to contributing to the strengthening of the qualifications of health professionals and the improvement of care.

The work was carried out as part of the Partnership for Health Systems Sustainability and Resilience (PHSSR), a global collaboration established in 2020 by the London School of Economics and Political Science, the World Economic Forum and AstraZeneca.

SW // ZO

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
21402138_visao-saude-7778860-9752453-jpg

Les experts recommandent de revoir le système de remboursement des médicaments

L’étude, qui a impliqué plus de 30 experts de différents domaines de la santé, a abouti à l’élaboration de 43 recommandations dans des domaines tels que la gouvernance, le financement, les ressources humaines, les médicaments et autres technologies, la fourniture de soins de santé, la santé de la population et la durabilité environnementale.

Dans le domaine des médicaments, les experts considèrent que le système de remboursement des médicaments comporte « de nombreux ajouts et exceptions, sous forme de délibérations, d’arrêtés et d’ordonnances », aboutissant à un « système fragmenté, qui ne favorise pas l’équité d’accès » , dont Un exemple est la dépense des Portugais en médicaments.

En plus de recommander une révision du système de remboursement, les experts suggèrent également d’améliorer l’accès équitable aux médicaments innovants, considérant qu’il faut « évoluer vers un cadre réglementaire plus efficace ».

« Le développement et l’accès à l’innovation se sont révélés être un processus chronophage et bureaucratique et il est nécessaire de répondre à des situations de grande inégalité d’accès aux nouveaux médicaments en Europe », rappellent-ils.

Dans le cadre de la nouvelle stratégie pharmaceutique pour l’Europe, pour pallier ces retards d’accès, ils défendent la nécessité d’« une structure réglementaire stable, mais aussi adaptable, rapide, efficace et compétitive au niveau mondial ».

« Cela se traduit par l’adoption de mesures concrètes, transparentes et mesurables qui résultent d’un partenariat entre l’industrie pharmaceutique, les États membres, les institutions de l’Union européenne et, au Portugal, le gouvernement portugais », suggèrent-ils, soulignant la nécessité de de nouvelles approches et de nouveaux modèles de paiement pour financer de nouveaux médicaments.

Ils disent aussi qu' »il faut parvenir à comprendre les causes des retards et des barrières à l’accès, compte tenu des conditions économiques des pays », pour trouver des « solutions collaboratives » qui garantissent que les patients soient traités, dans tous les pays européens, avec les meilleurs des solutions thérapeutiques adaptées à votre état de santé.

Les experts recommandent également que l’adoption de nouvelles technologies soit basée sur une médecine fondée sur des preuves, soulignant qu’il faut se concentrer sur les groupes de patients où des gains peuvent être observés et « cesser d’utiliser des traitements à efficacité réduite ».

Ils suggèrent d’encourager l’utilisation des technologies sur la base d’un rapport coût-efficacité reconnu, en abandonnant les alternatives basées exclusivement sur des prix bas, qui « ne sont peut-être pas celles qui génèrent les meilleurs résultats ».

Pour le panel de spécialistes, il faut aussi garantir la proximité en termes d’accès aux médicaments hospitaliers par la livraison à domicile ou l’accès à la pharmacie la plus proche, comme c’est déjà le cas dans certaines situations.

« Pendant la pandémie, ‘l’opération Feu vert’ a été présentée comme une mesure transitoire qui doit être poursuivie. Cette mesure a été une grande valeur ajoutée pour l’usager de la santé avec des gains indéniables non seulement sur le plan de la santé, évitant l’interruption de la thérapie en raison de la difficulté d’y accéder, mais dans le temps, elle a permis d’économiser sur les frais de déplacement et d’éviter l’absentéisme au travail », rappellent-ils.

Les recommandations incluent également la promotion du Portugal comme « un grand centre d’excellence pour l’innovation biomédicale et la recherche clinique », notant que les essais cliniques « permettent l’accès gratuit aux médicaments, permettent un accès précoce à l’innovation, la production de connaissances essentielles pour le progrès de pratique clinique », en plus de contribuer au renforcement des qualifications des professionnels de santé et à l’amélioration des soins.

Les travaux ont été menés dans le cadre du Partenariat pour la durabilité et la résilience des systèmes de santé (PHSSR), une collaboration mondiale créée en 2020 par la London School of Economics and Political Science, le Forum économique mondial et AstraZeneca.

SO // ZO

Articles récents