1-1-e1669908198824-png
visit-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-portugal-tourism

Madeira Island: discover one of the most beautiful destinations in Portugal!

Capital of Madeira Island, Funchal is a city worth a visit! Its regional beauty and its warm inhabitants who like to welcome tourists will seduce you!

In addition to visiting an area that offers one of the most incredible views in Europe, you can contemplate the landscape and the sunrise from the Miradouro da Ponta do Rosto. One of the compulsory stopping places for those visiting this island.

Anyone who arrives in Funchal quickly falls in love with the local nature and its gardens. The Palheiro Gardens are among the most famous due to their location in the hills. But also because of the great variety of plants.

visit-ilha-da-madeira-portugal-tourism
Nice view of the island

How to get there ?

There is no land link between Madeira Island and the mainland. The most common way to get there is by taking a direct flight from Lisbon to the city of Funchal, where Madeira's Cristiano Ronaldo Airport is located.

The flight from the Portuguese capital lasts only 1 hours, with several options of schedules per day.

Many tourists who visit Madeira also disembark on the island by boat, as it hosts a large number of cruises throughout the year.

What to do in Madeira Island?

This island is a very rich universe! Spectacular scenery provides travelers with pleasure at every turn in the road. The choice of how to enjoy it will depend on the degree of excitement and adventure desired by each.

Walk along a levada or vereda

Madeira is famous for its trails that cross the entire island and allow you to see the exuberant nature of the region up close. There are over 2 kilometers of trails that can be traveled on foot or by bicycle. We can include some that line the canals through which water flows all over the island, called "levadas".

Some levadas are more famous and attract hundreds of tourists every day. Others are intended for pioneers who already know the region deeply.

pico-ruivo-pico-do-arieiro-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-portugal
La Vereda do Pico do Areeiro and Pico Ruivo

The common paths (which are not on the banks of the canals) are called "veredas". They lead to spectacular landscapes, such as the summit of Pico Ruivo and Ponta de São Lourenço. Both levadas and veredas offer wonderful experiences.

If you prefer to take trails leading to higher peaks or more spectacular scenery, veredas are more recommended. The most famous of these is the combination of the Vereda do Pico do Areeiro and the Pico Ruivo. It goes through a path that connects the two highest peaks of Madeira.

Another suggestion is the Ponta de São Lourenço trail. There is an 8 km path along the seafront and at the eastern end of the island.

Visit the Ponta de São Lourenço

The Ponta de São Lourenço nature reserve is one of the most spectacular landscapes on the island. Even on the plane, you will get a glimpse of the spectacular landscape that forms with the rocks entering the sea. As you stroll along the Ponta de São Lourenço, you will be able to see the southern and northern coasts of Madeira, as well as the island of Porto Santo and the Desertas Islands.

ponta-de-sao-lorenço-ilha-da-madeira-portugal
The Ponta de São Lorenço

Another way to see Ponta de São Lourenço is by taking sea excursions. There are many whale and dolphin watching routes that pass through the area. In summer, it is even possible to stop the boat on the outskirts of the peninsula to swim. You can get there by motorboat, catamaran, yacht, and even caravels that replicate ancient ships.

Go to the beaches of Madeira

The Madeira archipelago offers several beaches on different islands and the volcanic formation of the region gives it very special characteristics. The landscape is usually surrounded by mountains or beautiful cliffs.

visit-ilha-da-madeira-portugal-tourism 2
Beaches surrounded by mountains

The white sand we are used to is not the most common thing there. On the island of Madeira there are beaches with large rounded stones, others with very dark sand and some with yellow sand.

Among the most popular beaches on Madeira Island, good choices are Praia Formosa. It is located in Funchal and whose "sand" consists of round stones. The Praia da Calheta and the Praia de Machico, both with artificial sand. The beach of Anjos, with its stone sand and in front of the charming village of Ponta do Sol. And the Prainha, next to ponta de São Lourenço and with dark sand.

Take a walk in the cable cars

Cable cars are also a good option! In addition to the wonderful view they offer, they make for a pleasant walk.

visit-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-teleferico-portugal-tourism
The cable car

The most popular is the Monte cable car, which takes you from the center of Funchal to the parish of Monte. The journey takes 15-20 minutes, and from the top you can see the whole of Madeira's largest city.

Another route that offers a nice walk is the Fajã do Padres cable car. The steep descent follows the side of the cliff for 300 m and arrives practically at the seaside.

Dolphin and Whale Watching Tour

Madeira Island is in an area rich in marine life and attracts large numbers of dolphins and whales. Almost 30 species are observed in these waters.

If you are a nature lover, do not miss one of the whale and dolphin watching tours. Whales and dolphins can be seen all year round.

Stroll through the center of Funchal

Invest in walking tours so you don't miss a thing. Many streets are reserved for pedestrians, which makes the walk even more pleasant. The historic houses are beautiful and the Portuguese cobblestones complement the local charm.

You will come across beautiful buildings. Among them, the Fortress of São Tiago, the Lavradores Market, the Cathedral of Nossa Senhora, the Palace of São Lourenço and the Municipal Theater Baltazar Dias. Be sure to stop by gardens such as the Parque de Santa Clara and the Jardim municipal do Funchal.

visit-ilha-da-madeira-Forte de São Tiago-Funchal-portugal-tourism
São Tiago Fortress

Along the way, along the waterfront, visit the CR7 museum! Have a beer or mulled wine with a view of the sea. Enjoy the boats, ships and sailboats as the sun sets.

Then take a cable car up to Monte, where you can visit the Church of Nossa Senhora do Monte.

It is also worth taking another cable car to get to the Madeira Botanical Garden and continue the tour. The center of Funchal offers several days of sightseeing and the pleasure is to rest.

Recent Posts

visiter-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-portugal-tourisme

Capitale de l’île de Madère, Funchal est une ville qui mérite une visite ! Sa beauté régionale et ses habitants chaleureux qui aiment accueillir les touristes vous séduiront !

En plus de visiter une région qui offre l’une des vues les plus incroyables d’Europe, vous pourrez contempler le paysage et le lever du soleil depuis le Miradouro da Ponta do Rosto. Un des lieux d’arrêt obligatoire pour ceux qui visitent cette île.

Quiconque arrive à Funchal tombe rapidement amoureux de la nature locale et de ses jardins. Les jardins de Palheiro sont parmi les plus célèbres en raison de leur situation dans les collines. Mais aussi en raison de la grande variété de plantes.

visiter-ilha-da-madeira-portugal-tourisme
Belle vue de l’île

Comment s’y rendre ?

Il n’existe aucune liaison terrestre entre l’île de Madère et le continent. La façon la plus courante de s’y rendre est de prendre un vol direct de Lisbonne à la ville de Funchal, où se trouve l’aéroport Cristiano Ronaldo de Madère.

Le vol depuis la capitale portugaise ne dure que 1h30, avec plusieurs options d’horaires par jour.

De nombreux touristes qui visitent Madère débarquent également sur l’île par bateau, car elle accueille un grand nombre de croisières tout au long de l’année.

Quoi faire dans l’île de Madère ?

Cette île est un univers très riche ! Des paysages spectaculaires offrent aux voyageurs un plaisir à chaque tournant de la route. Le choix de la manière d’en profiter dépendra du degré d’excitation et d’aventure souhaité par chacun.

Marcher le long d’une levada ou d’une vereda

Madère est célèbre pour ses sentiers qui traversent toute l’île et vous permettent de voir de près la nature exubérante de la région. Il existe plus de 2 000 kilomètres de sentiers que l’on peut parcourir à pied ou à vélo. Nous pouvons en inclure certains qui bordent les canaux par lesquels l’eau coule sur toute l’île, appelés « levadas ».

Certains levadas sont plus célèbres et attirent des centaines de touristes chaque jour. D’autres sont destinés aux pionniers qui connaissent déjà profondément la région.

pico-ruivo-pico-do-arieiro-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-portugal
La Vereda do Pico do Areeiro et du Pico Ruivo

Les sentiers communs (qui ne sont pas sur les rives des canaux) sont appelés « veredas ». Elles mènent à des paysages spectaculaires, comme le sommet du Pico Ruivo et la Ponta de São Lourenço. Les levadas et les veredas offrent tous deux de merveilleuses expériences.

Si vous préférez emprunter des sentiers menant à des sommets plus élevés ou à des paysages plus spectaculaires, les veredas sont plus recommandées. La plus célèbre d’entre elles est la combinaison de la Vereda do Pico do Areeiro et du Pico Ruivo. Il passe par un chemin qui relie les deux plus hauts sommets de Madère.

Une autre suggestion est le sentier Ponta de São Lourenço. Il y a un chemin de 8 km le long du front de mer et à l’extrémité orientale de l’île.

Visiter la Ponta de São Lourenço

La réserve naturelle de Ponta de São Lourenço, est l’un des paysages les plus spectaculaires de l’île. Même dans l’avion, vous aurez un aperçu du paysage spectaculaire qui se forme avec les rochers qui entrent dans la mer. En vous promenant le long de la Ponta de São Lourenço, vous pourrez voir les côtes sud et nord de Madère, ainsi que l’île de Porto Santo et les îles Desertas.

ponta-de-sao-lorenço-ilha-da-madeira-portugal
La Ponta de São Lorenço

Une autre façon de voir Ponta de São Lourenço est de faire des excursions en mer. De nombreux itinéraires d’observation des baleines et des dauphins passent par la région. En été, il est même possible d’arrêter le bateau aux abords de la péninsule pour se baigner. Vous pouvez vous y rendre en bateau à moteur, en catamaran, en yacht et même en caravelles qui reproduisent les navires anciens.

Allez sur les plages de Madère

L’archipel de Madère offre plusieurs plages sur différentes îles et la formation volcanique de la région lui confère des caractéristiques très particulières. Le paysage est généralement entouré de montagnes ou de belles falaises.

visiter-ilha-da-madeira-portugal-tourisme 2
Des plages entourées par des montagnes

Le sable blanc auquel nous sommes habitués n’est pas la chose la plus courante là-bas. Sur l’île de Madère, il y a des plages avec de grosses pierres arrondies, d’autres avec du sable très foncé et quelques-unes avec du sable jaune.

Parmi les plages les plus populaires de l’île de Madère, de bons choix sont Praia Formosa. Elle se situe à Funchal et dont le « sable » se constitue de pierres rondes. La Praia da Calheta et la Praia de Machico, toutes deux avec du sable artificiel. La plage des Anjos, avec son sable de pierre et en face du charmant village de Ponta do Sol. Et la Prainha, à côté de ponta de São Lourenço et avec du sable foncé.

Promenez-vous dans les téléphériques

Les téléphériques sont également une bonne option ! En plus de la vue magnifique qu’ils offrent, ils constituent une promenade agréable.

visiter-ilha-da-madeira-funchal-teleferico-portugal-tourisme
Le téléphérique

Le plus populaire est le téléphérique de Monte, qui vous emmène du centre de Funchal à la paroisse de Monte. Le trajet dure 15 à 20 minutes et, du sommet, vous pourrez voir l’ensemble de la plus grande ville de Madère.

Le téléphérique de Fajã do Padres est un autre itinéraire qui offre une belle promenade. La descente abrupte suit sur 300 m le flanc de la falaise et arrive pratiquement au bord de la mer.

Excursion d’observation des dauphins et des baleines

L’île de Madère se trouve dans une région riche en vie marine et attire un grand nombre de dauphins et de baleines. Près de 30 espèces sont observées dans ces eaux.

Si vous êtes un amoureux de la nature, ne manquez pas l’une des excursions d’observation des baleines et des dauphins. Les baleines et les dauphins peuvent être observés tout au long de l’année.

Promenez-vous dans le centre de Funchal

Investissez dans des visites à pied afin de ne manquer aucun détail. De nombreuses rues sont réservées aux piétons, ce qui rend la promenade encore plus agréable. Les maisons historiques sont magnifiques et les pavés portugais complètent le charme local.

Vous rencontrerez de beaux bâtiments. Parmi eux, la forteresse de São Tiago, le marché Lavradores, la cathédrale de Nossa Senhora, le palais de São Lourenço et le théâtre municipal Baltazar Dias. Ne manquez pas de vous arrêter dans des jardins tels que le parque de Santa Clara et le Jardim municipal do Funchal.

visiter-ilha-da-madeira-Forte de São Tiago-Funchal-portugal-tourisme
La forteresse de São Tiago

En chemin, le long du front de mer, visitez le musée CR7 ! Prenez une bière ou un vin chaud avec une vue sur la mer. Profitez des bateaux, des navires et des voiliers au coucher du soleil.

Ensuite, prenez un téléphérique pour monter à Monte, où vous pourrez visiter l’église de Nossa Senhora do Monte.

Il est également intéressant de prendre un autre téléphérique pour se rendre au Jardin botanique de Madère et continuer la visite. Le centre de Funchal offre plusieurs jours de visites et le plaisir est de se reposer.