1-1-e1669908198824-png

Economy Minister wants digital package approved in Portugal and in force 'as soon as possible'

The Minister of the Economy today defended that it is "very important that Europe can act quickly and have a regulation approved and put into force as soon as possible", referring to the "law on digital services" and the “law on digital markets”.

"What we think, especially with regard to the digital package, is that it is very important that Europe can act quickly and have a regulation approved and put into force as soon as possible", said Pedro Siza. Vieira.

The Minister of State for the Economy and the Digital Transition met with Portuguese journalists in Brussels on the eve of the Competitiveness Council, which meets in person on Thursday, in Brussels, and has on the agenda a set of legislative proposals on the digital market, presented by the European Commission in December and entitled “Digital Services Act” (DSA) and “Digital Markets Act” (DMA).

Recognizing that both packages address' different aspects of how digital markets work '- bearing in mind that DMA refers to' how digital platforms relate to market operators' and that DSA deals with 'issues content and the way in which people, citizens and platforms act according to the content they make available ”-, Siza Vieira underlined that it is” important “that” the two projects can take place at the same time. time ", both in the Council of the EU and in the European Parliament.

"It is very important that there is a legal regulation of these aspects: these digital markets have seen a very significant growth in recent years - especially in the last decade - with rules that are not adapted to the new characteristics. of these markets, ”he said.

According to the Minister of the Economy, the approval of both the DMA and the DSA will also allow Europe to "take the initiative to have regulations that are well tested, robust and in line with European values". which will allow it to establish a "Global Standard that other countries" and "other economic spaces" can follow.

“We have already achieved this with the General Data Protection Regulation, we believe that there are also conditions here to do so. Therefore, from the point of view of the Presidency, the most important thing is to take care to move forward and to create the conditions so that, in the months to come, these diplomas can come into force and establish themselves as a reference for the functioning of the digital markets. », He stressed.

Asked about the response of major platforms to the introduction of new laws, Siza Vieira admitted that "it is virtually inevitable" that regulations will have an impact on a "business model that has developed in the absence of rules" .

However, the Minister underlined that there is a "very big regulatory advantage" which is due to the fact that, through the DMA and the DSA, "the conditions are created" for the emergence of a "digital single market" " .

“We couldn't offer our consumers and our businesses the benefits of a market of 450 million consumers if we had 27 different regulations. And, therefore, it is very important and gives us a great advantage to have a European regulation which, moreover, has the potential to become a regulation of greater scope ”, he underlined.

In addition, he said, the rules in question will also introduce "predictability and confidence", establishing an "agreed frame of reference over a period of very open and relatively long discussion", which will "secure decisions. »In general and small businesses.

“Until we stabilize the legal framework applicable to digital markets, which have acquired a very decisive importance in global economies in recent years, we will always be uncertain of what will happen - a court decision, a political decision. - which has an impact which may be unfavorable ”, he stressed.

Siza Vieira thus informed that, during the Competitiveness Council, the Portuguese Presidency will present a “progress report which identifies the critical points” of the regulations and which comes after “extensive interaction with the Member States”.

"And we believe that we will be able, after the discussion tomorrow [quinta-feira], to present a compromise proposal and a compromise text which will allow us to make a lot of progress in these processes", he underlined.

Between Thursday and Friday, a Competitiveness Council takes place in Brussels, chaired by Pedro Siza Vieira on behalf of the Portuguese Presidency of the EU and focusing, on the first day, on the progress of the European Commission's proposals for new laws on digital services and digital markets.

On that day, EU ministers responsible for internal market and industry will debate legislative proposals - which aim to make everything “offline” also “online” - in order to provide political guidance for negotiation.

They will also analyze the EU's new industrial strategy and the European tourism sector, deeply affected by the pandemic.

On the second day, the Council will be devoted to the field of research and innovation and will bring together the Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Manuel Heitor.

Recent Posts

Le ministre de l’Économie a défendu aujourd’hui qu’il est « très important que l’Europe puisse agir rapidement et faire approuver et mettre en vigueur un règlement dès que possible », faisant référence à la « loi sur les services numériques » et à la « loi sur les marchés numériques ».

« Ce que nous pensons, notamment en ce qui concerne le paquet numérique, c’est qu’il est très important que l’Europe puisse agir rapidement et faire approuver et mettre en vigueur un règlement le plus tôt possible », a souligné Pedro Siza Vieira.

Le ministre d’État à l’Économie et à la Transition numérique s’est entretenu avec des journalistes portugais à Bruxelles à la veille du Conseil Compétitivité, qui se réunit en personne jeudi, à Bruxelles, et a à l’ordre du jour un ensemble de propositions de lois sur le marché numérique, présenté par la Commission européenne en décembre et intitulée «Digital Services Act» (DSA) et «Digital Markets Act» (DMA).

Reconnaissant que les deux paquets abordent «différents aspects du fonctionnement des marchés numériques» – en gardant à l’esprit que DMA se réfère à «la manière dont les plates-formes numériques se rapportent aux opérateurs du marché» et que DSA traite «les problèmes de contenu et la manière dont les personnes, les citoyens et les les plateformes agissent en fonction du contenu qu’elles mettent à disposition « -, Siza Vieira a souligné qu’il est » important « que » les deux projets puissent avoir lieu en même temps « , tant au Conseil de l’UE qu’au Parlement européen.

« Il est très important qu’il y ait une réglementation légale de ces aspects: ces marchés numériques ont connu une croissance très significative ces dernières années – en particulier au cours de la dernière décennie – avec des règles qui ne sont pas adaptées aux nouvelles caractéristiques de ces marchés », a-t-il affirmé.

Selon le ministre de l’Économie, l’approbation à la fois de la DMA et de la DSA permettra également à l’Europe de «prendre l’initiative d’avoir une réglementation bien testée, robuste et conforme aux valeurs européennes», ce qui lui permettra d’établir un «Norme mondiale que d’autres pays» et «d’autres espaces économiques» peuvent suivre.

«Nous y sommes déjà parvenus avec le règlement général sur la protection des données, nous pensons qu’il y a aussi des conditions ici pour le faire. Par conséquent, du point de vue de la présidence, le plus important est de veiller à avancer et de créer les conditions pour que, dans les mois à venir, ces diplômes puissent entrer en vigueur et s’imposer comme une référence pour le fonctionnement des marchés numériques. », A-t-il souligné.

Interrogée sur la réponse des grandes plateformes à l’introduction de nouvelles lois, Siza Vieira a reconnu qu ‘«il est pratiquement inévitable» que les réglementations aient un impact sur un «modèle économique qui s’est développé en l’absence de règles».

Cependant, le ministre a souligné qu’il existe un «très grand avantage réglementaire» qui tient au fait que, à travers le DMA et le DSA, «les conditions sont créées» pour l’émergence d’un «marché unique numérique» ».

«Nous ne pourrions pas offrir à nos consommateurs et à nos entreprises les avantages d’un marché de 450 millions de consommateurs si nous avions 27 réglementations différentes. Et, par conséquent, il est très important et nous donne un grand avantage d’avoir un règlement européen qui, de plus, a le potentiel de devenir un règlement de plus grande portée », a-t-il souligné.

En outre, a-t-il déclaré, les règles en question introduiront également «prévisibilité et confiance», en établissant un «cadre de référence convenu sur une période de discussion très ouverte et relativement longue», ce qui permettra de «sécuriser les décisions» en général et petites entreprises.

«Tant que nous n’aurons pas stabilisé le cadre juridique applicable aux marchés numériques, qui ont acquis une importance très décisive dans les économies mondiales ces dernières années, nous serons toujours incertains de ce qui va se passer – une décision judiciaire, une décision politique – qui a un impact qui peut être défavorable », a-t-il souligné.

Siza Vieira a ainsi informé que, lors du Conseil Compétitivité, la présidence portugaise présentera un «rapport d’étape qui identifie les points critiques» de la réglementation et qui intervient après une «grande interaction avec les États membres».

«Et nous pensons que nous serons en mesure, après la discussion de demain [quinta-feira], de présenter une proposition de compromis et un texte de compromis qui nous permettront de beaucoup progresser dans ces processus », a-t-il souligné.

Entre jeudi et vendredi, un Conseil Compétitivité a lieu à Bruxelles, présidé par Pedro Siza Vieira au nom de la présidence portugaise de l’UE et axé, le premier jour, sur les progrès des propositions de la Commission européenne concernant les nouvelles lois sur les services numériques et des marchés numériques.

Ce jour-là, les ministres européens responsables du marché intérieur et de l’industrie débattront de propositions législatives – qui visent à rendre tout ce qui est «hors ligne» aussi «en ligne» – afin de fournir des orientations politiques pour la négociation.

Ils analyseront également la nouvelle stratégie industrielle de l’UE et le secteur du tourisme européen, profondément touché par la pandémie.

Le deuxième jour, le Conseil sera consacré au domaine de la recherche et de l’innovation et réunira le ministre de la Science, de la Technologie et de l’Enseignement supérieur, Manuel Heitor.