1-1-e1669908198824-png
17665524_wm-8856579-9522099-jpg

Madeira Civil Protection issues recommendations due to heavy rain forecast

The Madeira Regional Civil Protection Service (SRPC) today issued a series of recommendations to the population in the face of forecasts of heavy rainfall in the mountainous areas and the south coast of Madeira, which are under an orange weather warning.

According to the information released, the weather conditions indicated by the Regional Relief Operations Command and the Meteorological Observatory of Funchal will be verified “until the end of the morning of the 7th [quarta-feira]🇧🇷

"Associated with the approach and passage of the cold frontal surface, periods of heavy rain or occasional showers are expected, accompanied by thunderstorms, most likely on the south coast and in the mountainous regions of Madeira Island. , especially late afternoon and Tuesday evening-Friday,” the note read.

The SRPC adds that from late afternoon today and early Wednesday, the wind will be "moderate from the southwest, temporarily strong (30 to 40 kilometers per hour) with gusts of the order of 80 to 90 kilometers per hour in mountainous regions and 70 to 80 kilometers per hour in coastal regions, which are more exposed to south-westerly winds”.

These conditions have led the Portuguese Institute of the Sea and Atmosphere (IPMA) to place the mountainous regions and the south coast of Madeira under orange alert until Wednesday 00:00.

Among the recommendations, the SRPC indicates that travel in areas affected by this type of weather situation and traffic near degraded buildings should be avoided, due to the risk of landslides.

The SRPC also suggests “adopting defensive driving, reducing speed and paying particular attention to the possible formation of water tables”.

Madeira Civil Protection also warns of "the risks represented, with these conditions, by car and on foot, especially in mountainous areas, exposed slopes and coastal areas".

The need to ensure the unclogging of rainwater drainage systems, the removal of aggregates and other objects that can be dragged or create obstacles to the free flow of water, are other recommendations.

For its part, the Town Hall of Funchal has informed that, following the warnings issued by the IPMA, it has decided to cancel all the urban cleaning works scheduled for this afternoon, "the personnel assigned to these functions being redirected to support the cleaning of the gutters and monitoring of the most critical points of the city”.

AMB // VAM

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
17665524_wm-8856579-9522099-jpg

La protection civile de Madère émet des recommandations en raison des prévisions de fortes pluies

Le Service régional de la protection civile de Madère (SRPC) a émis aujourd’hui une série de recommandations à la population face aux prévisions de fortes précipitations dans les zones montagneuses et la côte sud de Madère, qui sont sous avertissement météorologique orange.

Selon les informations diffusées, les conditions météorologiques indiquées par le Commandement régional des opérations de secours et l’Observatoire météorologique de Funchal seront vérifiées « jusqu’à la fin de la matinée du 7. [quarta-feira]🇧🇷

« Associées à l’approche et au passage de la surface frontale froide, des périodes de fortes pluies ou d’averses occasionnelles sont attendues, accompagnées d’orages, plus probablement sur la côte sud et dans les régions montagneuses de l’île de Madère, surtout en fin d’après-midi et Mardi soir.-Vendredi », lit-on dans la note.

La SRPC ajoute qu’à partir de la fin d’après-midi aujourd’hui et tôt mercredi, le vent sera « modéré de sud-ouest, temporairement fort (30 à 40 kilomètres par heure) avec des rafales de l’ordre de 80 à 90 kilomètres par heure dans les régions montagneuses et de 70 à 80 kilomètres par heure dans les régions côtières, plus exposées aux vents du sud-ouest ».

Ces conditions ont conduit l’Institut portugais de la mer et de l’atmosphère (IPMA) à placer les régions montagneuses et la côte sud de Madère sous alerte orange jusqu’à mercredi 00h00.

Parmi les recommandations, la SRPC indique que les déplacements dans les zones affectées par ce type de situation météorologique et la circulation à proximité de bâtiments dégradés sont à éviter, en raison du risque de glissements de terrain.

Le SRPC suggère également « d’adopter une conduite défensive, en réduisant la vitesse et en portant une attention particulière à la formation éventuelle de nappes d’eau ».

La protection civile de Madère met également en garde contre « les risques représentés, avec ces conditions, en voiture et à pied, en particulier dans les zones montagneuses, les pentes exposées et les zones côtières ».

La nécessité de garantir le débouchage des systèmes d’évacuation des eaux pluviales, l’enlèvement des agrégats et autres objets pouvant être entraînés ou créer des obstacles à la libre circulation de l’eau, sont d’autres recommandations.

De son côté, la mairie de Funchal a informé que, suite aux avertissements émis par l’IPMA, elle a décidé d’annuler tous les travaux de nettoyage urbain prévus cet après-midi, « le personnel affecté à ces fonctions étant redirigé pour soutenir le nettoyage des caniveaux et surveillance des points les plus critiques de la ville ».

AMB // VAM

Articles récents