1-1-e1669908198824-png

Covid-19: Brussels "very confident" that the PRR gives a strong impetus to the recovery of Portugal

The European Commission is "very confident" that the Portuguese recovery and resilience plan (PRR) will make "a strong contribution" to the recovery of the country's economy, particularly affected by the impact of the covid-19 crisis on international tourism sector.

During a press conference in Brussels, to present the "spring package" of the European Semester for the coordination of economic policies, the European Commissioner for the Economy, Paolo Gentiloni, asked about Portugal's high public debt, aggravated by the pandemic, stressed that there are member states who suffer from "specific difficulties", but expressed confidence in a solid recovery, strengthening in 2022, supported by the Recovery Fund.

Starting by noting that “Portugal was the first country to present the Recovery and Resilience Plan”, which, he stressed, constitutes “a very good example of cooperation” between the Government and the Brussels services, Gentiloni He indicated that it is necessary to have He specifies that "the challenges to revive the economy are also linked to certain specific difficulties, such as international tourism for example".

"This is one of the reasons why we have a stronger growth forecast for 2022 than for 2021. It will be gradual, but we are quite confident that the Recovery and Resilience Plan will make a strong contribution to this relaunch of the Portuguese economy ”, opined.

Portugal has officially handed over to Brussels its national plan, which provides for projects amounting to 16,6 billion euros, of which 13,9 billion euros relate to non-repayable grants, and which is still underway. review by the community executive.

The government hopes that the Portuguese PRR will be part of the first group of plans to be approved by the Commission and adopted by the Ecofin Council during the Portuguese Presidency, ie until the end of this month.

The impacts of the pandemic crisis on debt and tourism have today led the European Commission to keep Portugal in the group of member states for which it deems justified an in-depth analysis of macroeconomic imbalances, also highlighting the high level of bad debts. .

By adopting today the second part of the "spring package" of the European Semester for the coordination of economic and budgetary policies, still in a period of deep economic crisis caused by the covid-19 pandemic, the community executive approved the report of the Commission. alert mechanism, which identifies the Member States that Brussels considers should be particularly monitored, maintaining Portugal in this list of 12 countries.

“Portugal is experiencing imbalances. The vulnerabilities are linked to large 'stocks' of net external liabilities, private and public debt and still high bad debts, in a context of weak productivity growth, ”the European Commission said in the document.

The institution adds that "the public debt increased substantially in 2020 due to the recession and the support measures put in place to cushion the impact of the crisis", even if it forecasts that it "will decrease moderately this year and next year with the reduction of budget deficits ”.

Brussels also underlined “the significant impact of the covid-19 crisis on tourism, including in the near future” in Portugal, the institution noting that “the current account has turned into a deficit caused by the impact […] On tourism ”.

By adopting fiscal policy recommendations today, the European Commission confirmed that the rules of fiscal discipline enshrined in the Stability and Growth Pact will remain temporarily suspended in 2022, to allow member states to cope with the effects of the crisis. covid-19, a decision which should now be validated by the Council of EU finance ministers (Ecofin), currently under the Portuguese presidency, by the end of June.

CCA (ANE) // MSF

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png

Table des matières

Covid-19 : Bruxelles « très confiante » que le PRR donne une forte impulsion à la reprise du Portugal

La Commission européenne est « très confiante » que le plan portugais de relance et de résilience (PRR) apportera « une forte contribution » à la relance de l’économie du pays, particulièrement touchée par l’impact de la crise du covid-19 sur le tourisme international secteur.

Lors d’une conférence de presse à Bruxelles, pour présenter le « paquet de printemps » du semestre européen de coordination des politiques économiques, le commissaire européen à l’économie, Paolo Gentiloni, interrogé sur la dette publique élevée du Portugal, aggravée par la pandémie, a souligné qu’il existe des États -des adhérents qui souffrent de « difficultés spécifiques », mais ont exprimé leur confiance dans une reprise solide, se renforçant en 2022, soutenue par le Fonds de relance.

Commençant par relever que « le Portugal a été le premier pays à présenter le Plan de relance et de résilience », qui, a-t-il souligné, constitue « un très bon exemple de coopération » entre le Gouvernement et les services bruxellois, Gentiloni a indiqué qu’il est nécessaire d’avoir Il précise que « les défis pour relancer l’économie sont aussi liés à certaines difficultés spécifiques, comme le tourisme international par exemple ».

« C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles nous avons une prévision de croissance plus forte pour 2022 que pour 2021. Elle sera progressive, mais nous sommes assez confiants que le Plan de relance et de résilience apportera une forte contribution à cette relance de l’économie portugaise », opiné.

Le Portugal a officiellement remis à Bruxelles son plan national, qui prévoit des projets d’un montant de 16,6 milliards d’euros, dont 13,9 milliards d’euros concernent des subventions non remboursables, et qui est toujours en cours d’examen par l’exécutif communautaire.

Le gouvernement espère que le PRR portugais fera partie du premier groupe de plans à être approuvés par la Commission et adoptés par le Conseil Ecofin pendant la présidence portugaise, c’est-à-dire jusqu’à la fin de ce mois.

Les impacts de la crise pandémique sur la dette et le tourisme ont conduit aujourd’hui la Commission européenne à maintenir le Portugal dans le groupe des États membres pour lesquels elle juge justifiée une analyse approfondie des déséquilibres macroéconomiques, soulignant également le niveau élevé de créances douteuses.

En adoptant aujourd’hui la deuxième partie du « paquet de printemps » du semestre européen de coordination des politiques économiques et budgétaires, toujours en période de crise économique profonde provoquée par la pandémie de covid-19, l’exécutif communautaire a approuvé le rapport du mécanisme d’alerte, qui recense les États membres que Bruxelles estime devoir être particulièrement surveillés, maintenant le Portugal dans cette liste de 12 pays.

« Le Portugal connaît des déséquilibres. Les vulnérabilités sont liées à d’importants ‘stocks’ de passifs extérieurs nets, de dette privée et publique et de créances irrécouvrables toujours élevées, dans un contexte de faible croissance de la productivité », indique la Commission européenne dans le document.

L’institution ajoute que « la dette publique a augmenté substantiellement en 2020 en raison de la récession et des mesures de soutien mises en place pour amortir l’impact de la crise », même si elle prévoit qu’elle « diminuera modérément cette année et l’année prochaine avec la réduction des déficits budgétaires ».

Bruxelles a également souligné « l’impact important de la crise du covid-19 sur le tourisme, y compris dans un avenir proche » au Portugal, l’institution notant que « le compte courant s’est transformé en déficit entraîné par l’impact […] sur le tourisme ».

En adoptant aujourd’hui des recommandations de politique budgétaire, la Commission européenne a confirmé que les règles de discipline budgétaire inscrites dans le pacte de stabilité et de croissance resteront temporairement suspendues en 2022, pour permettre aux États membres de faire face aux effets de la crise du covid-19, une décision qui devrait désormais être validée par le Conseil des ministres des finances de l’UE (Ecofin), actuellement sous présidence portugaise, d’ici la fin juin.

ACC (ANE) // MSF

Articles récents