1-1-e1669908198824-png
29750626_wm-9426047-5191478-jpg

Euthanasia specialty vote scheduled for today after three postponements

The debate and vote in the Committee on Constitutional Affairs, Rights, Freedoms and Guarantees of the text, which is based on bills from the PS, the Liberal Initiative, the BE and the PAN, have already been postponed. three times.

The first time was through a potestative (i.e. mandatory) request from Chega. The second time it was the PS who requested the postponement and last week the vote was postponed again after a request by Chega was approved in committee.

If the final text has a "green light" in the specialty this Wednesday, it moves on to the final global vote in plenary, which should take place on Friday. If approved, the diploma goes to Belém Palace. The President of the Republic may promulgate or veto the parliamentary decree or refer it to the Constitutional Court for verification of its conformity with the fundamental law.

Alt text was “closed” in mid-October in the MAID Task Force.

In the version that goes to the votes, the diploma establishes that "non-punishable medically assisted death" occurs "by decision of the person, the oldest, whose will is current and reiterated, serious, free and enlightened, in a situation of suffering ". of great intensity, with permanent injury of extreme gravity or serious and incurable disease, when practiced or assisted by health professionals”.

This time, compared to the last decree, the replacement text removes the requirement of “fatal disease”.

The final text now sets a minimum period of two months from the start of the procedure for its outcome, the provision of psychological support also being mandatory.

In the previous legislature, the decriminalization, under certain conditions, of medical assistance in dying, modifying the Penal Code, won a large majority in parliament, but was the target of two vetoes by the President of the Republic: the first time after the Constitutional Court failed, following a request for inspection by Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

Secondly, on November 26, the President rejected the diploma with a political veto, pointing out that throughout the new text different expressions were used to define the type of illnesses required and defending that the legislator had to choose between the "only serious illness”, “serious and incurable illness” and “incurable and fatal illness”.

This week, the PSD tabled a draft resolution proposing a referendum on the decriminalization of euthanasia. The PS, the PCP and the PAN have already positioned themselves against this initiative and Chega defended that the proposal of the Social Democrats "is unconstitutional", saying that the fundamental law prohibits that a definitively rejected referendum project can be presented again. in the same legislative session.

Chega presented a draft resolution for the holding of a referendum on euthanasia, which was rejected on June 9, that is to say still during the current legislative session.

In the afternoon, at 14:30 p.m., after the meeting of the Constitutional Affairs Committee, the conference of parliamentary leaders will meet extraordinarily to discuss the PSD draft resolution, a parliamentary source told Lusa.

ARL (SMA/PMF/FM/JF) // JPS

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
29750626_wm-9426047-5191478-jpg

Vote spécialité euthanasie prévu aujourd’hui après trois reports

Le débat et le vote en commission des affaires constitutionnelles, des droits, des libertés et des garanties du texte, qui s’appuie sur des projets de loi du PS, de l’Initiative libérale, du BE et du PAN, ont déjà été reportés à trois reprises.

La première fois, c’était par le biais d’une demande potestative (c’est-à-dire obligatoire) de Chega. La deuxième fois, c’est le PS qui a demandé le report et la semaine dernière, le vote a de nouveau été reporté après qu’une demande de Chega ait été approuvée en commission.

Si le texte final a un « feu vert » dans la spécialité ce mercredi, il passe au vote global final en plénière, qui devrait avoir lieu vendredi. S’il est approuvé, le diplôme va au Palais de Belém. Le président de la République peut promulguer ou opposer son veto au décret parlementaire ou le renvoyer à la Cour constitutionnelle pour vérification de sa conformité à la loi fondamentale.

Le texte de remplacement a été « fermé » à la mi-octobre dans le groupe de travail sur l’aide médicale à mourir.

Dans la version qui va aux votations, le diplôme établit que la « mort médicalement assistée non punissable » survient « par décision de la personne, la plus âgée, dont la volonté est actuelle et réitérée, sérieuse, libre et éclairée, en situation de souffrance ». de grande intensité, avec blessure définitive d’une extrême gravité ou maladie grave et incurable, lorsqu’elle est pratiquée ou assistée par des professionnels de la santé ».

Cette fois, par rapport au dernier décret, le texte de remplacement supprime l’exigence de « maladie mortelle ».

Le texte définitif fixe désormais un délai minimum de deux mois à compter du début de la procédure pour son aboutissement, la mise à disposition d’un soutien psychologique étant également obligatoire.

Dans la précédente législature, la dépénalisation, sous certaines conditions, de l’aide médicale à mourir, modifiant le Code pénal, a recueilli une large majorité au parlement, mais a été la cible de deux veto du président de la République : la première fois après la Cour constitutionnelle échoué, suite à une demande d’inspection de Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

Dans un second temps, le 26 novembre, le Président a rejeté le diplôme par un veto politique, soulignant que tout au long du nouveau texte différentes expressions étaient utilisées pour définir le type de maladies requises et défendant que le législateur devait choisir entre la « seule maladie grave », « maladie grave et incurable » et « maladie incurable et mortelle ».

Cette semaine, le PSD a déposé un projet de résolution qui propose un référendum sur la dépénalisation de l’euthanasie. Le PS, le PCP et le PAN se sont déjà positionnés contre cette initiative et Chega a défendu que la proposition des sociaux-démocrates « est inconstitutionnelle », affirmant que la loi fondamentale interdit qu’un projet de référendum définitivement rejeté puisse être présenté à nouveau dans la même session législative.

Chega a présenté un projet de résolution pour la tenue d’un référendum sur l’euthanasie, qui a été rejeté le 9 juin, c’est-à-dire toujours pendant la session législative en cours.

Dans l’après-midi, à 14h30, après la réunion de la commission des affaires constitutionnelles, la conférence des leaders parlementaires se réunira extraordinairement pour discuter du projet de résolution du PSD, a indiqué une source parlementaire à Lusa.

ARL (SMA/PMF/FM/JF) // JPS

Articles récents