The National Health Service (SNS) presented a deficit of 1,1 billion euros in 2021, well above the 89 million initially forecast, with revenues increasingly dependent on funds from the state budget.

According to the Public Finance Council (PFC) report on the development of the performance of the SNS in 2021 published today, “the revenues of the SNS are increasingly dependent on funds from the state budget, which accounted for 96% of the total in 2021”.

The document, which considers this situation as one of the main budgetary risks, specifies that the less diversification of the sources of financing of the SNS is in accordance with the provisions of the current fundamental law on health (LBS), but poses "significant challenges sustainability of this public service". , in a context where the growth rate of public health expenditure was higher than that of the economy.

In this sense, the independent body chaired by Nazaré da Costa Cabral argues that the regulation of the LBS constitutes an "opportunity to ensure the predictability (and sustainability) of public health financing, guaranteeing a volume of resources that allows the SNS to fully comply with its mission.

In 2021, SNS spending reached around 12,4 billion euros, the highest value since the start of the series, in 2014, representing 5,9% of the country's gross domestic product and 12,2% of total public expenditure.

"Both revenue and expenditure showed unfavorable deviations from what had been budgeted in 2021, with revenue down by 227,7 million and expenses up by 783,1 million euros", underlines the report.

The CFP points out that the persistence of these discrepancies reflects an “inappropriate budget execution process”, as well as the absence of management mechanisms allowing effective control of revenue and expenditure items.

"It is a structural reality that has worsened in recent years and that makes it impossible to respect the budgetary limits approved by the Assembly of the Republic", warns the report, which also points out that the economic imbalance of the SNS continues to grow. reflect debt to external suppliers, which remains above 1,5 billion euros at the end of 2021.

According to the data published today, the capital injections carried out in the SNS over the past five years amount to 3,3 billion euros, still corresponding to more than 500 million annually, but have "not been able to contribute to the structural reduction of the debt of the SNS”.

This debt, according to the CFP report, only fell by 321,5 million euros between 2017 and 2021.

At the end of 2021, the average payment period for SNS suppliers was 102 days – 169 days in the universe of companies in the state affairs sector integrated into the SNS – and only 20% of SNS entities had a average payment term less than 60 days.

SNS expenditure has increased "very sharply", particularly in the area of ​​personnel expenditure and hospital drugs, the report also mentions, noting that "ensuring the affordability of this growth is a challenge for the SNS and for finances. public themselves.

“Given the structural pressure on spending resulting from an increasingly aging population and from therapeutic innovation itself, it is important to maximize efficiency and predictability in the use of resources”, defends the PSC.

The organization considers it essential "not only to improve the efficiency of the process of planning the resources allocated to the SNS (human, financial, material and others), but essentially to strengthen the mechanisms for monitoring and evaluating the services and teams, in order to increase the autonomy and accountability of all those involved in the care process”.

As for user fees, the independent body adds that revenues have fallen significantly in recent years, totaling 64,8 million euros in 2021.

"In the last year of 2021, user fees accounted for 0,6% of total SNS revenue," the document said, adding that around 60% of SNS users were exempt or exempt from paying fees. user fees at the end of 2021. and that more than 85% of these waivers or exemptions are justified by economic insufficiency, chronic illnesses or age.

The debt towards external suppliers of SRS remained above 1,5 billion euros, showing resistance to a lasting reduction, underlines the CFP, which considers that the two components of the debt towards external suppliers of SRS (due and vincenda) increased slightly in 2021, confirming the structural difficulty in reducing debt in this sector.

CP // HB

Le Service national de santé (SNS) a présenté un déficit de 1,1 milliard d’euros en 2021, bien supérieur aux 89 millions initialement prévus, avec des recettes de plus en plus dépendantes des fonds du budget de l’Etat.

Selon le rapport du Conseil des finances publiques (CFP) sur l’évolution des performances du SNS en 2021 publié aujourd’hui, « les revenus du SNS sont de plus en plus dépendants des fonds du budget de l’État, qui représentaient 96 % du total en 2021 ».

Le document, qui considère cette situation comme l’un des principaux risques budgétaires, précise que la moindre diversification des sources de financement du SNS est conforme aux dispositions de la loi fondamentale actuelle sur la santé (LBS), mais pose « d’importants défis de pérennité à ce service public ». , dans un contexte où le taux de croissance des dépenses publiques de santé a été supérieur à celui de l’économie.

En ce sens, l’organisme indépendant présidé par Nazaré da Costa Cabral soutient que la réglementation du LBS constitue une « opportunité d’assurer la prévisibilité (et la durabilité) du financement public de la santé, garantissant un volume de ressources qui permet au SNS de se conformer pleinement aux sa mission ».

En 2021, les dépenses du SNS ont atteint environ 12,4 milliards d’euros, la valeur la plus élevée depuis le début de la série, en 2014, représentant 5,9 % du produit intérieur brut du pays et 12,2 % des dépenses publiques totales.

« Tant les recettes que les dépenses ont affiché des écarts défavorables par rapport à ce qui avait été budgétisé en 2021, avec des recettes en baisse de 227,7 millions et des dépenses en hausse de 783,1 millions d’euros », souligne le rapport.

Le CFP souligne que la persistance de ces écarts reflète un « processus d’exécution budgétaire inapproprié », ainsi que l’absence de mécanismes de gestion permettant un contrôle efficace des postes de recettes et de dépenses.

« C’est une réalité structurelle qui s’est aggravée ces dernières années et qui rend impossible le respect des limites budgétaires approuvées par l’Assemblée de la République », prévient le rapport, qui souligne également que le déséquilibre économique du SNS continue de se refléter de la dette envers les fournisseurs extérieurs, qui reste supérieure à 1,5 milliard d’euros fin 2021.

Selon les données publiées aujourd’hui, les injections de capitaux réalisées dans la SNS au cours des cinq dernières années s’élèvent à 3,3 milliards d’euros, correspondant toujours à plus de 500 millions annuels, mais n’ont « pas pu contribuer à la réduction structurelle de la dette de la SNS ».

Cette dette, selon le rapport CFP, n’a baissé que de 321,5 millions d’euros entre 2017 et 2021.

A fin 2021, le délai moyen de paiement aux fournisseurs du SNS s’élevait à 102 jours – 169 jours dans l’univers des entreprises du secteur des affaires de l’Etat intégrées au SNS – et seulement 20% des entités du SNS avaient un délai de paiement moyen moins de 60 jours.

Les dépenses du SNS ont augmenté « très fortement », notamment dans le domaine des dépenses de personnel et des médicaments hospitaliers, mentionne également le rapport, notant que « assurer l’accessibilité financière de cette croissance est un défi pour le SNS et pour les finances publiques elles-mêmes ».

« Compte tenu de la pression structurelle sur les dépenses résultant d’une population de plus en plus vieillissante et de l’innovation thérapeutique elle-même, il est important de maximiser l’efficacité et la prévisibilité dans l’utilisation des ressources », défend la CFP.

L’organisation considère qu’il est essentiel « non seulement d’améliorer l’efficacité du processus de planification des ressources allouées au SNS (humaines, financières, matérielles et autres), mais essentiellement de renforcer les mécanismes de contrôle et d’évaluation des services et des équipes, afin de accroître l’autonomie et la responsabilisation de toutes les personnes impliquées dans le processus de soins ».

Quant aux redevances d’utilisation, l’organisme indépendant ajoute que les revenus ont considérablement diminué ces dernières années, totalisant 64,8 millions d’euros en 2021.

« Au cours de la dernière année de 2021, les frais d’utilisation ont représenté 0,6 % des revenus totaux des SNS », indique le document, qui ajoute qu’environ 60 % des utilisateurs de SNS étaient exonérés ou exonérés du paiement des frais d’utilisation à la fin de 2021. et que plus plus de 85% de ces exonérations ou exonérations sont justifiées par une insuffisance économique, des maladies chroniques ou l’âge.

La dette envers les fournisseurs externes de SRS est restée supérieure à 1,5 milliard d’euros, montrant une résistance à une réduction durable, souligne la CFP, qui considère que les deux composantes de la dette envers les fournisseurs externes de SRS (due et vincenda) ont légèrement augmenté en 2021, confirmant la difficulté structurelle à réduction de la dette dans ce secteur.

PC // HB