1-1-e1669908198824-png

Marcelo argues that the Bill of Rights in the digital age does not institute censorship

“It would be serious if the state did censorship, it would even be intolerable, and it would be intolerable if, even if it did not do censorship before, it did censorship after. I would never adopt such a diploma, I have spent my whole life defending press freedom, I would never adopt it, ”said Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

The head of state, who was speaking in response to journalists, halfway through a walk in the municipality of Câmara de Lobos, in Madeira, added: “And I am sure that the parliament, which has the no more Democrats, I would vote almost unanimously for a diploma without noticing that there was censorship there ”.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa underlined that this law comes "following the international positions in the matter, in particular European" and was approved "only with the abstention of the Liberal Initiative", and declared that after the vote in the Parliament there was "an article 6e which raised some doubts".

According to the President of the Republic, "under the terms of article 6, one can think that it is better written or more badly written, that it is more cheerful or less cheerful, but there is no censorship" .

“And, therefore, in my opinion, there is nothing unconstitutional. This is how I promulgated it. I also admit that I felt comforted by the fact that all the parties, practically all, except one deputy, thought that this did not raise any problem of constitutionality nor any serious political problem ”, he reinforced.

The Head of State stressed that he respects those who say that we must “be aware that in the future there is no censorship”.

However, he retorted that what worries him the most "is that newspapers, radio and television are entering an economic and financial crisis and censorship is occurring through economic power", in which "who pays , who buys, who exercises a form of economic and financial intervention can say: things are going more, things are going less, that is causing problems ”.

When asked if he saw this happening today, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa replied: “I don't see it, but if the information is not economically and financially viable, it is very fragile, and this weakness is not good for the freedom of the press ”.

IEL // SF

Recent Posts

« Ce serait grave si l’Etat faisait de la censure, ce serait même intolérable, et il serait intolérable que, même s’il n’a pas fait de censure avant, il fasse la censure après. Je n’adopterais jamais un tel diplôme, j’ai passé toute ma vie à défendre la liberté de la presse, je ne l’adopterais jamais », a déclaré Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa.

Le chef de l’État, qui s’exprimait en réponse aux journalistes, à mi-chemin d’une promenade dans la municipalité de Câmara de Lobos, à Madère, a ajouté : « Et je suis sûr que le parlement, qui compte le plus de démocrates, ne Je voterais pratiquement à l’unanimité pour un diplôme sans remarquer qu’il y avait de la censure là-bas ».

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa a souligné que cette loi vient « suite aux positions internationales en la matière, notamment européennes » et n’a été approuvée « qu’avec l’abstention de l’Initiative libérale », et a déclaré qu’après le vote au Parlement il y avait « un article 6e qui a soulevé quelques doutes ».

Selon le président de la République, « aux termes de l’article 6, on peut penser que c’est mieux écrit ou plus mal écrit, que c’est plus gai ou moins gai, mais il n’y a pas de censure ».

«Et, par conséquent, à mon avis, il n’y a rien d’inconstitutionnel. C’est ainsi que je l’ai promulgué. Je vous avoue aussi que je me suis senti réconforté par le fait que tous les partis, pratiquement tous, sauf un député, pensaient que cela ne soulevait aucun problème de constitutionnalité ni aucun problème politique grave », a-t-il renforcé.

Le chef de l’Etat a souligné qu’il respecte ceux qui disent qu’il faut « être conscient qu’à l’avenir il n’y a pas de censure ».

Cependant, il a rétorqué que ce qui l’inquiète le plus « c’est que les journaux, les radios et les télévisions entrent dans une crise économique et financière et la censure survient par le biais du pouvoir économique », dans lequel « qui paie, qui achète, qui exerce une forme d’intervention économique et financière pouvoir dire : ça va plus, ça va moins, ça pose des problèmes ».

Lorsqu’on lui a demandé s’il voyait cela se produire aujourd’hui, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa a répondu : « Je ne le vois pas, mais si l’information n’est pas économiquement et financièrement viable, elle est très fragile, et cette faiblesse n’est pas bonne pour la liberté de la presse ».

IEL // SF

Le contenu que Marcelo soutient que la Déclaration des droits à l’ère numérique n’établit pas la censure apparaît d’abord dans Visão.