1-1-e1669908198824-png
15753639_VISAO-SAUDE-7742227-9133598-JPG

Experts recommend better patient referral to reduce wait times

In a set of more than 40 recommendations prepared by more than 30 experts from various health fields, the document, which Lusa had access to, indicates that in addition to reducing wait times, the development of protocols and mechanisms referrals would improve care delivery and patient satisfaction.

Experts also point out that previous surveys have shown that GPs and family doctors “do not always feel confident about which tests to order their patients before referring them to specialist hospital appointments”.

“The same survey also showed that medical specialists consider that the patients they receive do not always bring the necessary tests for a first appointment,” they add.

The work was carried out as part of the Partnership for Health Systems Sustainability and Resilience (PHSSR), a global collaboration established in 2020 by the London School of Economics and Political Science, the World Economic Forum and AstraZeneca.

In Portugal, the diagnosis of the sustainability and resilience of the health system was coordinated by Mónica Oliveira, of the Instituto Superior Técnico, and Aida Isabel Tavares, of the Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão, of the University of Lisbon.

The 43 recommendations are divided into several areas: governance, financing, human resources, drugs and other health technologies, prevention and health care, population health and environmental sustainability.

Speaking to Lusa, Mónica Oliveira underlined, in the area of ​​governance, the message of the need to “promote the autonomy and responsibility of the administrations of health establishments, so that they can make decisions and not depend too much on other interlocutors in the health system".

In the field of governance, the experts insist on the end of captures in the field of Health by the Ministry of Finance, considering that "they affect the autonomy and management capacity of hospital administrations".

At this level, they argue that the state should place more trust in public managers, with a “responsibility that flows from it”.

They also say that it is necessary to "form a structure that pilots the integration of the supply of care provided at the different levels and by the different sectors (public, private and social)", noting that the Board of Directors of the SNS – recently created – only coordinates the public service response.

"There are private and social sector entities that provide health care, some of which are contracted / contracted with the SNS", underline the experts, defending the need for "supervision at the highest level", to achieve a “more efficiently, avoiding gaps”. and duplication”.

Speaking to Lusa, the study coordinator underlined the importance of continuity in the delivery of health care, emphasizing the need for coordination: "we have systems that sometimes complement each other, but sometimes compete”.

“It was very clear that there needs to be planning to understand the role of the public, private and social sectors,” he added.

At this level, the expert group – which involves specialists such as the former Minister of Health Adalberto Campos Fernandes, Maria do Céu Machado, who was High Commissioner for Health and led Infarmed between 2017 and 2019, the former Director General of Health Constantino Sakellarides, the President of the Central Administration of the Health System (ACSS), Vitor Herdeiro, among others – also recommends better intersectoral articulation between health and social security to ensure the continuity of care.

"The definition of a care pathway that considers the person as a whole, with their health needs and social support, appears to be an essential objective for improving the quality of life of health users and their caregivers, with undeniable health gains,” they suggest. .

End political appointments of leaders of care providers, appoint only on the basis of competence, promote partnerships and collaborations in the delivery of care between the public, private and social sectors and separate the roles of the state from financing, delivery, regulation and control, are other recommendations.

The work coordinator underlined the “very strong support of a very large panel of experts”, made up of specialists from the industrial, private, social and public sectors, covering a wide political and ideological spectrum.

SW // ZO

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
15753639_visao-saude-7742227-9133598-jpg

Les experts recommandent une meilleure référence des patients pour réduire les temps d’attente

Dans un ensemble de plus de 40 recommandations préparées par plus de 30 experts de divers domaines de la santé, le document, auquel Lusa a eu accès, indique qu’en plus de réduire les temps d’attente, le développement de protocoles et de mécanismes d’orientation des patients améliorerait la prestation des soins et la satisfaction des patients.

Les experts soulignent également que des enquêtes antérieures ont montré que les médecins généralistes et de famille « ne se sentent pas toujours en confiance sur les tests à prescrire à leurs patients avant de les orienter vers des rendez-vous hospitaliers spécialisés ».

« La même enquête a également montré que les médecins spécialistes considèrent que les patients qu’ils reçoivent n’apportent pas toujours les tests nécessaires pour un premier rendez-vous », ajoutent-ils.

Les travaux ont été menés dans le cadre du Partenariat pour la durabilité et la résilience des systèmes de santé (PHSSR), une collaboration mondiale créée en 2020 par la London School of Economics and Political Science, le Forum économique mondial et AstraZeneca.

Au Portugal, le diagnostic de la durabilité et de la résilience du système de santé a été coordonné par Mónica Oliveira, de l’Instituto Superior Técnico, et Aida Isabel Tavares, de l’Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão, de l’Université de Lisbonne.

Les 43 recommandations sont réparties en plusieurs domaines : gouvernance, financement, ressources humaines, médicaments et autres technologies de la santé, prévention et soins de santé, santé de la population et durabilité environnementale.

S’adressant à Lusa, Mónica Oliveira a souligné, dans le domaine de la gouvernance, le message de la nécessité de «promouvoir l’autonomie et la responsabilité des administrations des établissements de santé, afin qu’elles puissent prendre des décisions et ne pas trop dépendre d’autres interlocuteurs dans le système de santé ».

Dans le domaine de la gouvernance, les experts insistent sur la fin des captations dans le domaine de la Santé par le ministère des Finances, estimant qu' »elles affectent l’autonomie et la capacité de gestion des administrations hospitalières ».

À ce niveau, ils soutiennent que l’État devrait faire davantage confiance aux gestionnaires publics, avec une « responsabilité qui en découle ».

Ils disent aussi qu’il faut « former une structure qui pilote l’intégration de l’offre de soins dispensée aux différents niveaux et par les différents secteurs (public, privé et social) », notant que le Conseil d’administration du SNS – récemment créé – assure uniquement la coordination de la réponse de service public.

« Il existe des entités du secteur privé et social qui fournissent des soins de santé, dont certaines sont conventionnées/conventionnées avec le SNS », soulignent les experts, défendant la nécessité d’une « supervision au plus haut niveau », pour parvenir à un « plus efficacement, en évitant les lacunes ». et double emploi ».

S’adressant à Lusa, le coordinateur de l’étude a souligné l’importance de la continuité dans la prestation des soins de santé, insistant sur la nécessité d’une coordination : « nous avons des systèmes qui parfois se complètent, mais parfois se font concurrence ».

« Il était très clair qu’il doit y avoir une planification pour comprendre le rôle des secteurs public, privé et social », a-t-il ajouté.

A ce niveau, le groupe d’experts – qui implique des spécialistes tels que l’ancien ministre de la Santé Adalberto Campos Fernandes, Maria do Céu Machado, qui a été haut-commissaire à la Santé et a dirigé Infarmed entre 2017 et 2019, l’ancien directeur général de la Santé Constantino Sakellarides , le président de l’Administration centrale du système de santé (ACSS), Vitor Herdeiro, entre autres – recommande également une meilleure articulation intersectorielle entre la santé et la sécurité sociale pour assurer la continuité des soins.

« La définition d’un parcours de soins qui considère la personne dans sa globalité, avec ses besoins de santé et son accompagnement social, apparaît comme un objectif essentiel pour améliorer la qualité de vie des usagers de la santé et de leurs aidants, avec des gains de santé indéniables », suggèrent-ils. .

Mettre fin aux nominations politiques des dirigeants des prestataires de soins, ne nommer qu’en fonction de la compétence, promouvoir les partenariats et les collaborations dans la prestation de soins entre les secteurs public, privé et social et séparer les rôles de l’État de financement, de prestation, de régulation et de contrôle, sont d’autres recommandations.

Le coordinateur des travaux a souligné la « très forte adhésion d’un très large panel d’experts », composé de spécialistes des secteurs industriel, privé, social et public, couvrant un large spectre politique et idéologique.

SO // ZO

Articles récents