1-1-e1669908198824-png

Table of contents

Filmmaker Gus Van Sant makes his musical debut in Portugal, which will shoot until 2022

“Andy” is presented Thursday at the Teatro Nacional D. Maria II, in Lisbon, as part of the Bienal de Artes Contemporâneas (BoCA), and is the result of the first experience of Gus Van Sant, 69, in the setting stage and in the performing arts.

“I had been working on a project on Warhol for a while, but I hadn't really decided what it would look like when John Romão [diretor artístico da bienal] suggested we do this. The musical was born because we realized it could be okay, ”Gus Van Sant told reporters at the end of one of the show's rehearsals.

In “Andy”, Gus Van Sant signs the text, the staging, the music and the lyrics for a cast of nine young Portuguese actors, under the musical direction of Paulo Furtado (The legendary tiger man).

The plastic artist represented in the show "is a very strange character who does not quite correspond to the image we have of Andy Warhol", explains Gus Van Sant, but the intention was "to try to bring together the best moments of his life "" to explain the rise of the art world in the 1960s ".

In one of the rehearsals, the actors symbolically represent the moment when Andrew Warhola transforms into the charismatic and influential 'pop art' name Andy Warhol, using a wig, from one of the iconographic images of the artist, and the famous representation of the Campbell's Soup Can.

In the role of Andy Warhol, actor Diogo Fernandes, at the head of a cast which also includes Martim Martins, Lucas Dutra, Valdemar Brito, Helena Caldeira, Carolina Amaral, Miguel Amorim, João Gouveia and Francisco Monteiro.

They are all young actors aged 17 to 23, who embody figures with whom Andy Warhol has lived and crossed paths, such as the writer Truman Capote, the poet and photographer Gerard Malanga, the singer Nico and the gallery owner Leo Castelli.

"I am very inexperienced, I am in the first year of Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema", begins by entrusting the actor Diogo Fernandes, 23, who plays Andy Warhol, to the Lusa agency.

About this theatrical experience with Gus Van Sant, Diogo Fernandes praised the “great freedom” to work with the actors: “He had his vision, but that gives us great freedom of work and accepts our proposals and it is a symbiosis and a very healthy author. job ".

Gus Van Sant even considered doing the musical in Portuguese, but opted for English, as “Andy” will have an international career from October until the end of 2022.

“The actors in the play are very experienced, although they are very young, from 17 to 23 years old. I was surprised that they are so good (…) and speak very good English, ”said the director.

From the dates already confirmed, it is known that after Lisbon, the musical will be presented from October 7 to 10 at the Roma Europa festival, in Italy, on the 16 at the Teatro das Figuras, in Faro, and in November it will be premiered. in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, and Antwerp, Belgium.

In 2022, it will be in Valladolid, Spain, and Reims, Toulouse and Paris, in France.

“This moment will be a milestone in our lives. We are all in a very fresh and very green career phase. And the fact that we work in our own country - I think it's always the most beautiful - and that an American director like Gus Van Sant comes to Portugal and works with a Portuguese cast, doesn't seem true. It doesn't look like it! Exclaimed Diogo Fernandes.

The third edition of BoCA - Bienal de Artes Contemporâneas kicked off on September 3 in various cultural spaces in Lisbon, Almada and Faro, with presentations by artists from different fields such as Grada Kilomba, Capicua, Luís Lázaro Matos and Agnieszka Polska.

The biennial, which brings together the visual arts, “performance”, the performing arts and music, runs until October 17.

SS // MA

Recent Posts

« Andy » est présenté jeudi au Teatro Nacional D. Maria II, à Lisbonne, dans le cadre de la Bienal de Artes Contemporâneas (BoCA), et est le résultat de la première expérience de Gus Van Sant, 69 ans, dans la mise en scène et dans les arts du spectacle.

« J’avais travaillé pendant un certain temps sur un projet sur Warhol, mais je n’avais pas vraiment décidé à quoi cela ressemblerait lorsque John Romão [diretor artístico da bienal] suggéré que nous fassions cela. La comédie musicale est née parce que nous avons réalisé que ça pouvait aller », a déclaré Gus Van Sant aux journalistes à la fin de l’une des répétitions du spectacle.

Dans « Andy », Gus Van Sant signe le texte, la mise en scène, la musique et les paroles pour un casting de neuf jeunes comédiens portugais, sous la direction musicale de Paulo Furtado (L’homme-tigre légendaire).

Le plasticien représenté dans le spectacle « est un personnage très étrange qui ne correspond pas tout à fait à l’image que l’on se fait d’Andy Warhol », explique Gus Van Sant, mais l’intention était « d’essayer de rassembler les meilleurs moments de sa vie » « pour expliquer l’essor du monde de l’art dans les années 1960 ».

Dans l’une des répétitions, les acteurs représentent symboliquement le moment où Andrew Warhola se transforme en le nom charismatique et influent du ‘pop art’ Andy Warhol, à l’aide d’une perruque, d’une des images iconographiques de l’artiste, et de la célèbre représentation de la boîte de soupe Campbell’s.

Dans le rôle d’Andy Warhol, l’acteur Diogo Fernandes, à la tête d’un casting qui comprend également Martim Martins, Lucas Dutra, Valdemar Brito, Helena Caldeira, Carolina Amaral, Miguel Amorim, João Gouveia et Francisco Monteiro.

Ce sont tous de jeunes comédiens âgés de 17 à 23 ans, qui incarnent des figures avec lesquelles Andy Warhol a vécu et croisé, comme l’écrivain Truman Capote, le poète et photographe Gerard Malanga, le chanteur Nico et le galeriste Leo Castelli.

« Je suis très inexpérimenté, je suis en première année d’Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema », commence par confier l’acteur Diogo Fernandes, 23 ans, qui incarne Andy Warhol, à l’agence Lusa.

A propos de cette expérience théâtrale avec Gus Van Sant, Diogo Fernandes a salué la « grande liberté » de travailler avec les acteurs : « Il avait sa vision, mais cela nous donne une grande liberté de travail et accepte nos propositions et c’est une symbiose et un auteur très sain. travail ».

Gus Van Sant a même envisagé de faire la comédie musicale en portugais, mais a opté pour l’anglais, car « Andy » aura une carrière internationale d’octobre à fin 2022.

« Les acteurs de la pièce sont très expérimentés, bien qu’ils soient très jeunes, de 17 à 23 ans. J’ai été surpris qu’ils soient si bons (…) et parlent très bien anglais », a déclaré le réalisateur.

D’après les dates déjà confirmées, on sait qu’après Lisbonne, la comédie musicale sera présentée du 7 au 10 octobre au festival Roma Europa, en Italie, le 16 au Teatro das Figuras, à Faro, et en novembre, elle sera créée à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas, et à Anvers, en Belgique.

En 2022, ce sera à Valladolid, en Espagne, et à Reims, Toulouse et Paris, en France.

« Ce moment sera une étape importante dans nos vies. Nous sommes tous dans une phase de carrière très fraîche et très verte. Et le fait que nous travaillions dans notre propre pays — je pense que c’est toujours le plus beau — et qu’un réalisateur américain comme Gus Van Sant vienne au Portugal et travaille avec un casting portugais, ne semble pas vrai. Ça n’en a pas l’air ! », s’est exclamé Diogo Fernandes.

La troisième édition de BoCA – Bienal de Artes Contemporâneas a débuté le 3 septembre dans divers espaces culturels de Lisbonne, Almada et Faro, avec des présentations d’artistes de différents domaines tels que Grada Kilomba, Capicua, Luís Lázaro Matos et Agnieszka Polska.

La biennale, qui fait dialoguer les arts visuels, la « performance », les arts du spectacle et la musique, se déroule jusqu’au 17 octobre.

SS // MAG

Le contenu Le cinéaste Gus Van Sant fait ses débuts musicaux au Portugal, qui tournera jusqu’en 2022 apparaît d’abord dans Visão.