1-1-e1669908198824-png
contemporary-dance-enters-the-homes-of-porto-for

Contemporary dance enters the homes of Porto to fight against loneliness and suffering

Mirka, 87, Deolinda Ribeiro, 100, José Ferreira de Macedo, 90, Jerónimo Santos, 66 and many other elderly people who suffer from various pathologies such as schizophrenia, neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease , strokes, among others, others have been participating for a year in the special project "Tsugi Porto", which combines contemporary dance with the inclusion of third and fourth ages.

The class begins with the class stretching their arms and shoulders to the sound of “Quand elle se lève”, by Ajeet Kaur, an international artist who creates ancestral melodies capable of transporting dancers into spaces of meditation.

Some sit in a wheelchair, others stand, but in the bright room of Lar de Atães (Porto), everyone builds a creative dance with the help of Rafael Alvarez, choreographer and presenter of contemporary dance sessions for seniors .

"Now, let's draw with our hands," asks the choreographer, kneeling in front of centenarian Deolinda Ribeiro, to the sound of the song "The Lines of My Hand," by singer and composer Pierre Lapointe.

The fingers of the hands move in the air and draw imaginary circles and "play the piano" on everyone's face, as if they were writing pieces of life itself. The soft way, sometimes imposing more energy.

"Let's follow the movement of the storm", calls out the choreographer, making certain elderly people raise their arms and wave them as if the wind were stirring tree branches.

Rafael Alvarez asks, in the middle of the dance session, the special dancers to try to make a “small hole” with their foot on the ground and then to lift and stretch their leg in front. “As if we were on the beach,” he explains, suggesting that they clap their hands.

Mirka, a former opera singer who has graced the stages of concert halls around the world, joined the activity because she enjoys dancing and exercising her independence.

“These courses give me years of life,” he sums up.

Next to him is 90-year-old José Macedo. The nonagenarian says that after exercising his muscles for 45 minutes, he feels “cool, because his joints hurt less.

"After making this change [para o lar de idosos] there is not much joy", admits José Macedo, but the activity "is worth a lot", mainly to relieve the pain of those who were once wineries. wine, employees of the Chamber of Porto, Renault and the company that built the Foguete, a fast rail service that linked Lisbon and Porto.

Jerónimo Santos, 66, with an easy smile, says he feels “love in his heart” and “a lot of joy” when he takes a dance class.

“After class, I feel relieved in my body. They give me strength in my legs and arms. It's a joy to do gymnastics for the whole body,” says Jerónimo Santos.

The dance classes are part of the "Tsugi Porto" project, created by Rafael Alvarez, which through dance tries to humanize the relationship with one's own body, but also with the context of life in a home.

"The pleasure of dancing is stimulated, but then there are several results that can be perceived throughout the sessions, such as greater control of autonomy, control of the body", explains the choreographer, pointing out that the idea of ​​the project is also to perceive aging as a “creative process” of reinventing oneself and tracing the path of life.

It is an 'inclusive but not exclusive dance', as the aim is to invite people to 'travel out of this context of home' through their bodies, celebrating the dance and celebrating the experience of life in the present time.

"Now all you have to do is rotate your hands, outward and inward, and stretch again, looking at the ceiling."

Finally, they all dance together in a circle. Some standing. Others, in wheelchairs, reach out, intertwining their hands with Rafael Alvarez.

“You just have to stretch, breathe deeply and feel your breath,” asks the choreographer.

The joy of the users of the Atães house has increased the level of bodily mobility and creativity itself is stimulated, explains Sónia Lopes, technical director of this institution.

“The benefits have been immense. In addition to mobility, the effects on the emotional level have also been very scalable. They have evolved a lot in terms of creativity, movements, gestures. This allows them to travel outside these four walls.

“Tsugi Porto” covers about 90 elderly people from retirement homes and day centers in Porto, most of whom are women, and has been developing inclusive dance for a year in Lar de Atães, Centro de Dia Latino Coelho, Lar Nossa Senhora da Misericórdia, Memory of Me/Delegação Norte Alzheimer Portugal Day Center and Casa de Lordelo — Day Center.

The project is funded by the Belmiro de Azevedo Foundation.

CCM // LIL

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
la-danse-contemporaine-entre-dans-les-foyers-de-porto-pour

La danse contemporaine entre dans les foyers de Porto pour lutter contre la solitude et la souffrance

Mirka, 87 ans, Deolinda Ribeiro, 100 ans, José Ferreira de Macedo, 90 ans, Jerónimo Santos, 66 ans et de nombreuses autres personnes âgées qui souffrent de diverses pathologies telles que la schizophrénie, les maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, parmi d’autres, d’autres participent depuis un an au projet spécial « Tsugi Porto », qui combine la danse contemporaine avec l’inclusion des troisième et quatrième âges.

Le cours commence par la classe qui étire les bras et les épaules au son de « Quand elle se lève », d’Ajeet Kaur, une artiste internationale qui crée des mélodies ancestrales capables de transporter les danseurs dans des espaces de méditation.

Certains sont assis en fauteuil roulant, d’autres se tiennent debout, mais dans la salle lumineuse de Lar de Atães (Porto), chacun construit une danse créative avec l’aide de Rafael Alvarez, chorégraphe et animateur de séances de danse contemporaine pour seniors.

« Maintenant, dessinons avec nos mains », demande la chorégraphe agenouillée devant la centenaire Deolinda Ribeiro, au son de la chanson « Les lignes de ma main », du chanteur et compositeur Pierre Lapointe.

Les doigts des mains bougent dans l’air et dessinent des cercles imaginaires et « jouent du piano » sur le visage de chacun, comme s’ils écrivaient des morceaux de la vie elle-même. La voie douce, imposant parfois plus d’énergie.

« Suivons le mouvement de l’orage », interpelle le chorégraphe, faisant lever les bras à certaines personnes âgées et les agiter comme si le vent agitait des branches d’arbres.

Rafael Alvarez demande, au milieu de la séance de danse, aux danseurs spéciaux d’essayer de faire un « petit trou » avec leur pied au sol puis de lever et d’étirer leur jambe devant. « Comme si on était sur la plage », explique-t-il, suggérant qu’ils tapent dans les mains.

Mirka, une ancienne chanteuse lyrique qui a foulé les scènes des salles de concert du monde entier, s’est jointe à l’activité parce qu’elle aime danser et exercer son indépendance.

« Ces cours me donnent des années de vie », résume-t-il.

À côté de lui se trouve José Macedo, 90 ans. Le nonagénaire raconte qu’après avoir exercé ses muscles pendant 45 minutes, il se sent « cool, car il a moins mal aux articulations.

« Après avoir fait ce changement [para o lar de idosos] il n’y a pas beaucoup de joie », avoue José Macedo, mais l’activité « vaut beaucoup », principalement pour soulager la douleur de ceux qui étaient autrefois des caves à vin, des employés de la Chambre de Porto, de Renault et de l’entreprise qui a construit le Foguete, un rapide service ferroviaire qui unissait Lisbonne et Porto.

Jerónimo Santos, 66 ans, avec un sourire facile, dit qu’il ressent « de l’amour dans son cœur » et « beaucoup de joie » lorsqu’il suit un cours de danse.

« Après les cours, je me sens soulagée dans mon corps. Ils me donnent de la force dans mes jambes et mes bras. C’est un bonheur de faire de la gymnastique pour tout le corps », lance Jerónimo Santos.

Les cours de danse font partie du projet « Tsugi Porto », créé par Rafael Alvarez, qui à travers la danse tente d’humaniser la relation avec son propre corps, mais aussi avec le contexte de la vie dans un foyer.

« Le plaisir de danser est stimulé, mais ensuite il y a plusieurs résultats que l’on peut percevoir tout au long des séances, comme une plus grande maîtrise de l’autonomie, de la maîtrise du corps », explique la chorégraphe, soulignant que l’idée du projet c’est aussi percevoir le vieillissement comme un « processus créatif » de se réinventer et de tracer le chemin de la vie.

C’est une « danse inclusive mais pas exclusive », car l’objectif est d’inviter les gens à « voyager hors de ce contexte de chez-soi » à travers leur corps, en célébrant la danse et en célébrant l’expérience de la vie au temps présent.

« Maintenant, tout ce que vous avez à faire est de faire pivoter vos mains, vers l’extérieur et vers l’intérieur, et de vous étirer à nouveau, en regardant le plafond ».

Enfin, ils dansent tous ensemble en cercle. Certains debout. D’autres, en fauteuil roulant, tendent les bras, entrelaçant leurs mains avec Rafael Alvarez.

« Il suffit de s’étirer, de respirer profondément et de sentir sa respiration », demande le chorégraphe.

La joie des utilisateurs de la maison Atães a augmenté le niveau de mobilité corporelle et la créativité elle-même est stimulée, explique Sónia Lopes, directrice technique de cette institution.

« Les avantages ont été immenses. Outre la mobilité, les effets sur le plan émotionnel ont également été très évolutifs. Ils ont beaucoup évolué en termes de créativité, de mouvements, de gestes. Cela leur permet de voyager en dehors de ces quatre murs.

« Tsugi Porto » couvre environ 90 personnes âgées des maisons de retraite et des centres de jour de Porto, dont la plupart sont des femmes, et développe depuis un an la danse inclusive à Lar de Atães, Centro de Dia Latino Coelho, Lar Nossa Senhora da Misericórdia, Centre de jour Memory of Me/Delegação Norte Alzheimer Portugal et Casa de Lordelo — Centre de jour.

Le projet est financé par la Fondation Belmiro de Azevedo.

CCM//LIL

Articles récents