1-1-e1669908198824-png
20600691_wm-1772208-2485755-jpg

The General Library of the University of Coimbra reveals 32 imaginary places of literature

On the cover of the tables in the reading room rest the boards of the exhibition "A Ilha dos Amores and other imaginary places of Portuguese and Brazilian literature", the result of the investigation that the deputy director of the BGUC carried out to honor the writer Alberto Manguel.

António Maia do Amaral read dozens of novels in search of fictional places that appear in Portuguese and Brazilian books, in an evocation of the "Dictionary of imaginary places", which Manguel edited in 1980.

The idea was born after the confirmation of the presence of the Argentine-Canadian novelist at the closing of the Colloquium of emblematic libraries of humanity, which the BGUC organized at the end of October.

The librarian, passionate about the "Dictionary of imaginary places" - "an extraordinary work, done before the internet - I always remember it - and that's why you had to read, read, read" - decided to honor the writer with the exhibition with which Manguel was received in Coimbra.

"I took lots of novels on vacation," he recalls, and dove in search of places imagined by other authors. "It was a part of pleasure, a little sacrifice and also frustration": first because of the pleasure that reading gives him, then because he had to read "terrible novels" and, again, because that “there are places that I have read and I no longer remember where, hence the frustration,” he explained to the Lusa agency.

With the information he gathered from works ranging from 1572 – “Os Lusíadas”, by Camões – to 2021 – “Hífen”, by Patrícia Portela - he chose 32 countries, cities or houses described in literature Portuguese and Brazilian. For each, he gathers information like that contained in Manguel's dictionary, with physical appearance, political organization, "a very 'scientific' entry", to "describe the place where literature takes place from various points of seen ".

Inaugurated a little over a month ago, the exhibition has generated reactions, both from "people who have been affected" and others who "think that it is a little disturbing and that it will perhaps be be very strange”.

Above all, the librarian hopes that visitors “will recognize some of these places and have fun. And, seeing something that seems interesting to them, they go in search of work. Like the Manguel dictionary, the intention "is that people wake up in the place and then go and see what is happening there, reading the novel", explains António Maia do Amaral, fulfilling the mission of any library.

“It's another way of promoting reading, of intermediation, of serving a product, in this case the book”.

However, he became addicted to the process of discovering imaginary places. " I can not resist. I occasionally ask for more books to read from the library. I already have five more [lugares imaginários], besides these. Eventually they will be able to appear in a publication which is the catalog of this exhibition and which, perhaps, will bring something else”.

“Isla dos Amores and other imaginary places of Portuguese and Brazilian literature” can be visited in the BGUC reading room until December 30.

MLE // SSS

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
20600691_wm-1772208-2485755-jpg

La Bibliothèque générale de l’Université de Coimbra révèle 32 lieux imaginaires de la littérature

Sur la couverture des tables de la salle de lecture reposent les planches de l’exposition « A Ilha dos Amores et autres lieux imaginaires de la littérature portugaise et brésilienne », résultat de l’enquête que le directeur adjoint du BGUC a menée pour honorer l’écrivain Alberto Manguel.

António Maia do Amaral a lu des dizaines de romans à la recherche de lieux fictifs qui apparaissent dans des livres portugais et brésiliens, dans une évocation du « Dictionnaire des lieux imaginaires », que Manguel a édité en 1980.

L’idée est née après la confirmation de la présence de la romancière argentine-canadienne à la clôture du Colloque des bibliothèques emblématiques de l’humanité, que le BGUC a organisé fin octobre.

La bibliothécaire, passionnée par le « Dictionnaire des lieux imaginaires » – « un ouvrage extraordinaire, fait avant internet – je le rappelle toujours – et c’est pourquoi il fallait lire, lire, lire » – a décidé d’honorer l’écrivain avec l’exposition avec laquelle Manguel a été reçu à Coimbra.

« J’ai pris plein de romans en vacances », se souvient-il, et plongé à la recherche de lieux imaginés par d’autres auteurs. « C’était une part de plaisir, un peu de sacrifice et aussi de frustration » : d’abord à cause du plaisir que lui procure la lecture, ensuite parce qu’il a dû lire « des romans terribles » et, encore, parce qu’« il y a des endroits que j’ai lus et Je ne me souviens plus où, d’où la frustration », a-t-il expliqué à l’agence Lusa.

Avec les informations qu’il a recueillies à partir d’œuvres allant de 1572 – « Os Lusíadas », de Camões – à 2021 – « Hífen », de Patrícia Portela -, il a choisi 32 pays, villes ou maisons décrits dans la littérature portugaise et brésilienne. Pour chacune, il rassemble des informations comme celle contenue dans le dictionnaire de Manguel, avec l’apparence physique, l’organisation politique, « une entrée très ‘scientifique’ », pour « décrire le lieu où se déroule la littérature de divers points de vue ».

Inaugurée il y a un peu plus d’un mois, l’exposition a suscité des réactions, tant de « personnes qui ont été touchées », que d’autres qui « pensent que c’est un peu dérangeant et que ce sera peut-être très étrange ».

Avant tout, le bibliothécaire espère que les visiteurs « reconnaîtront certains de ces lieux et s’amuseront. Et, voyant quelque chose qui leur semble intéressant, ils partent à la recherche du travail ». Comme le dictionnaire Manguel, l’intention « est que les gens s’éveillent à l’endroit et ensuite aillent voir ce qui s’y passe, en lisant le roman », explique António Maia do Amaral, remplissant la mission de toute bibliothèque.

« C’est une autre façon de promouvoir la lecture, d’intermédiation, de servir un produit, en l’occurrence le livre ».

Cependant, il est devenu accro au processus de découverte de lieux imaginaires. « Je ne peux pas résister. Je demande de temps en temps plus de livres à lire à la bibliothèque. j’en ai déjà cinq de plus [lugares imaginários], Outre ces. A terme ils pourront figurer dans une publication qui est le catalogue de cette exposition et qui, peut-être, apportera autre chose ».

« Isla dos Amores et autres lieux imaginaires de la littérature portugaise et brésilienne » peut être visitée dans la salle de lecture du BGUC jusqu’au 30 décembre.

MLE // SSS

Articles récents