1-1-e1669908198824-png

Jerónimo criticizes the “separate measures” for culture and the proposals for OE “dragged

“The government has responded with separate and disjointed measures, full of bureaucracy and complications,” said Jerónimo de Sousa, during a meeting with workers in the culture sector in Lisbon.

The communist leader enumerated the consequences of "the insistence on right-wing politics" which created a "structural crisis" in the culture, made denser by the pandemic: "underfunding, precariousness, low wages, lack of working hours. work, poverty reforms, high unemployment rates and abandoning the profession.

Jerónimo de Sousa added that “even the measures resulting from the current state budget, recorded thanks to the intervention of the PCP, have been delayed and do not yet have the full implementation that must be given”.

In front of nearly 30 workers, among plastic surgeons, promoters, among others, the secretary general of the PCP "pointed the finger" at those who "want to climb the crest of the media wave" at the approach of the crisis to which the sector is confronted, but that they have only contributed to the “normalization of precariousness”.

The measures announced by the government in April in this area are an example of "measures in which there is no real state responsibility and no public service perspective is deepened".

On April 22, at a meeting entirely devoted to culture, the Council of Ministers approved several diplomas for this sector: the status of cultural professionals; the definition of 1% of the value of public works contracts, exceeding 5 million euros, for the inclusion of works of art; the creation of the Portuguese Contemporary Art Network and the post of curator of the National Collection of Contemporary Art; the arts support model and another which creates and regulates the process of access of cinemas and cinemas to a national network.

However, the leader of the PCP noted that the approval of these decree-laws demonstrates, “once again”, the “disarticulation, the one-off (ie non-structural) character and the reinforcement of dependence” vis-à-vis European funds.

"Cultural democracy presupposes fundamental responsibilities for a democratic state, but it can only be built by combining state action with individual and collective participation and creativity," added the communist.

For this reason, Jerónimo de Sousa urged the executive, headed by socialist António Costa, to create "measures to stimulate activity" of culture and the rest, but which guarantee "measures to protect health" , like, for example, "move" vaccination "more quickly, diversifying" its acquisition ".

Recent Posts

«Le gouvernement a répondu par des mesures séparées et décousues, pleines de bureaucratie et de complications», a déclaré Jerónimo de Sousa, lors d’une réunion avec les travailleurs du secteur de la culture, à Lisbonne.

Le leader communiste a énuméré les conséquences de «l’insistance sur la politique de droite» qui a créé une «crise structurelle» dans la culture, densifiée par la pandémie: «sous-financement, précarité, bas salaires, absence d’heures de travail, réformes de la pauvreté, taux de chômage élevés et abandonner la profession.

Jerónimo de Sousa a ajouté que « même les mesures résultant du budget actuel de l’Etat, enregistrées grâce à l’intervention du PCP, ont été traînées et n’ont pas encore la pleine mise en œuvre qui doit être donnée ».

Devant près de 30 ouvriers, parmi les plasticiens, les promoteurs, entre autres, le secrétaire général du PCP a «pointé du doigt» ceux qui «veulent monter la crête de la vague médiatique» à l’approche de la crise à laquelle le secteur est confronté, mais qu’ils n’ont contribué qu’à la «normalisation de la précarité».

Les mesures annoncées par le gouvernement en avril dans ce domaine sont un exemple de «mesures dans lesquelles il n’y a pas de réelle responsabilité de l’Etat et aucune perspective de service public n’est approfondie».

Le 22 avril, lors d’une réunion entièrement consacrée à la culture, le Conseil des ministres a approuvé plusieurs diplômes pour ce secteur: le statut des professionnels de la culture; la définition de 1% de la valeur des marchés de travaux publics, supérieure à 5 millions d’euros, pour l’inclusion des œuvres d’art; la création du Réseau portugais d’art contemporain et le poste de conservateur de la Collection nationale d’art contemporain; le modèle de soutien aux arts et un autre qui crée et régule le processus d’accès des cinémas et des cinémas à un réseau national.

Cependant, le leader du PCP a noté que l’approbation de ces décrets-lois démontre, «encore une fois», la «désarticulation, le caractère ponctuel (c’est-à-dire non structurel) et le renforcement de la dépendance» vis-à-vis des fonds européens.

« La démocratie culturelle présuppose des responsabilités fondamentales pour un État démocratique, mais elle ne peut se construire qu’en combinant l’action de l’État avec la participation et la créativité individuelles et collectives », a ajouté le communiste.

Pour cette raison, Jerónimo de Sousa a exhorté l’exécutif, dirigé par le socialiste António Costa, à créer des «mesures pour stimuler l’activité» de la culture et du reste, mais qui garantissent des «mesures de protection de la santé», comme, par exemple, «déplacer «vaccination» plus rapidement, diversifiant «son acquisition».