1-1-e1669908198824-png
39940229_wm-4116002-2852608-jpg

Casa da Arquitetura wants to show the “positive diffusion” of Metro do Porto

"Casa da Arquitetura wants, I would say within three years, to be able to organize this great Metro exhibition," the institution's executive director, Nuno Sampaio, told Lusa of Metro's 20 years of commercial operation. . do Porto, which are celebrated on Wednesday, in a year in which the Matosinhos-based institution also celebrates five years of existence.

In 2017, when it was inaugurated, Metro do Porto donated its estate to the Casa da Arquitetura but, despite the intentions announced at the time, the thematic exhibition on the subject has not yet taken place.

In Lusa, Casa da Arquitetura showed part of the collection donated by the company, including a typical shelter, models of vehicles, studies for various bridge crossings, models of the unfinished Valbom (Gondomar) line, among others.

“The collection consists of 82 projects by 12 architects, a total of 29 models, more than 25 digital photographs and more than 000 digital documents (including drawings and text),” an official Casa source said. da Arquitetura in Lusa.

In addition to what was donated by Metro, the House also has material from the architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, architectural coordinator of the project and author of several stations, such as Faria Guimarães, Casa da Música or Campo 24 de Agosto, also exhibited at Luse.

Nuno Sampaio considers that the establishment of the Porto metro in the municipalities of the metropolitan area where it circulates consisted of a process of “positive diffusion” of the same architectural language.

According to the architect, Metro gives "the image of a project that has a uniqueness, the same language, which has the same identity", something made "from the conception and design of a person like the architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, who is pragmatic”.

"The advantage of the Metro do Porto in itself is that it created an architectural language in such a skilled way that it had to contaminate, first, the surroundings of the stations, then the cities themselves used this language," he said.

By way of example, Nuno Sampaio used the moment of arrival at a station, when one realizes “that the public space changes in quality, and changes positively”.

“In the city on the surface, we have a temporal dimension and an interweaving of informal construction by several architects, people who are not architects who for many years have made the city,” he said.

Municipalities were trying to "sew together all these construction interventions, sometimes better or worse, trying to find the best answer, but it's a very multiple answer".

"In terms of Metro do Porto, the problem was so gigantic, to introduce infrastructure like this, that if introduced incorrectly, it could blow up the city," he said.

The metro "not only solved its problem, which was the infrastructure itself, but also qualified the city itself", extending to other municipalities.

The official highlighted "the stations [subterrâneas] in themselves, which are pieces of architecture that, instead of being in height, are in depth", without forgetting "all the treatment of the surrounding surface".

"When points come together, these are points that make sense for the city that is on the surface", adopting "a methodology that does not only build the underground way".

Nuno Sampaio also remembered the words of a “landscaper colleague, in 2007”, affirming that “the need to use a car in a city is a sign of peri-urban”, recognizing, at the time, the shock.

“I used the car a lot and calling my suburban town almost offended me. But the truth is that in Manhattan (New York, USA) no one remembers to take the car into town,” he concluded.

I // JAP

Recent Posts

1-1-e1669908198824-png
39940229_wm-4116002-2852608-jpg

Casa da Arquitetura veut montrer la « diffusion positive » de Metro do Porto

« Casa da Arquitetura veut, je dirais dans un délai de trois ans, pouvoir organiser cette grande exposition Metro », a déclaré le directeur exécutif de l’institution, Nuno Sampaio, à Lusa, à propos des 20 ans d’exploitation commerciale de Metro. do Porto, qui sont célébrés mercredi, dans une année où l’institution basée à Matosinhos célèbre également cinq ans d’existence.

En 2017, lors de son inauguration, Metro do Porto a fait don de son domaine à la Casa da Arquitetura mais, malgré les intentions annoncées à l’époque, l’exposition thématique sur le sujet n’a pas encore eu lieu.

À Lusa, Casa da Arquitetura a montré une partie de la collection donnée par l’entreprise, y compris un abri typique, des modèles de véhicules, des études pour divers passages de ponts, des modèles de la ligne inachevée Valbom (Gondomar), entre autres.

« La collection se compose de 82 projets de 12 architectes, un total de 29 modèles, plus de 25 000 photographies numériques et plus de 5 000 documents numériques (y compris des dessins et du texte) », a déclaré une source officielle de la Casa da Arquitetura à Lusa.

En plus de ce qui a été donné par Metro, la Maison possède également du matériel de l’architecte Eduardo Souto de Moura, coordinateur architectural du projet et auteur de plusieurs stations, telles que Faria Guimarães, Casa da Música ou Campo 24 de Agosto, également exposées à Luse.

Nuno Sampaio considère que l’implantation du métro de Porto dans les communes de l’aire métropolitaine où il circule a consisté en un processus de « diffusion positive » d’un même langage architectural.

Selon l’architecte, Metro donne « l’image d’un projet qui a une unicité, le même langage, qui a la même identité », quelque chose fait « de la conception et de la conception d’une personne comme l’architecte Eduardo Souto de Moura, qui est pragmatique ».

« L’avantage du Metro do Porto en lui-même est qu’il a créé un langage architectural d’une manière si qualifiée qu’il devait contaminer, d’abord, les abords des gares, puis les villes elles-mêmes ont utilisé ce langage », a-t-il souligné.

A titre d’exemple, Nuno Sampaio a utilisé le moment de l’arrivée dans une gare, quand on se rend compte « que l’espace public change de qualité, et change positivement ».

« Dans la ville en surface, nous avons une dimension temporelle et une imbrication d’une construction informelle par plusieurs architectes, des gens qui ne sont pas des architectes qui pendant de nombreuses années ont fait la ville », a-t-il dit.

Les municipalités essayaient de « coudre ensemble toutes ces interventions de construction, parfois meilleures ou pires, en essayant de trouver la meilleure réponse, mais c’est une réponse très multiple ».

« En termes de Metro do Porto, le problème était tellement gigantesque, pour introduire une infrastructure comme celle-ci, que si elle était mal introduite, elle pourrait faire exploser la ville », a-t-il estimé.

Le métro « a non seulement résolu son problème, qui était l’infrastructure elle-même, mais a également qualifié la ville elle-même », s’étendant à d’autres municipalités.

Le responsable a souligné « les stations [subterrâneas] en eux-mêmes, qui sont des pièces d’architecture qui, au lieu d’être en hauteur, sont en profondeur », sans oublier « tout le traitement de la surface environnante ».

« Quand des points se rejoignent, ce sont des points qui font sens pour la ville qui est en surface », adoptant « une méthodologie qui ne construit pas que la voie souterraine ».

Nuno Sampaio s’est aussi souvenu des propos d’un « collègue paysagiste, en 2007 », affirmant que « la nécessité d’utiliser une voiture dans une ville est un signe de périurbain », reconnaissant, à l’époque, le choc.

« J’ai beaucoup utilisé la voiture et qualifier ma ville de banlieue m’a presque offensé. Mais la vérité est qu’à Manhattan (New York, États-Unis) personne ne se souvient de prendre la voiture en ville », a-t-il conclu.

JE // JAP

Articles récents